Before the
Administrative Hearing Commission
State of Missouri

ROBERT LURIE and LURIE’S HOME )
SUPPLY CENTER, )
Petitioners, ;
VS. ; No. 14-0413 RV
DIRECTOR OF REVENUE, ;
Respondent. ;
DECISION

We grant the Director of Revenue’s motion for decision on the pleadings.
Procedure
On April 1, 2014, Robert Lurie and Lurie’s Home Supply Center (“Lurie”) filed a
complaint seeking a refund of fees paid for license plates and tabs. The Director of Revenue
(“Director”) filed an answer and motion for decision on the pleadings on April 25, 2014. We
notified Lurie that he could respond to the Director’s motion on or before May 12, 2014, but he
did not respond.
Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.446(4) * provides:
A decision on the pleadings is a decision without hearing based
solely on the complaint and the answer. The commission may

grant a motion for decision on the pleadings if a party’s pleading,
taken as true, entitles another party to a favorable decision.

L All references to the CSR are to the Missouri Code of State Regulations as current with amendments
included in the Missouri Register through the most recent update.



Facts Taken as True for Purposes of Ruling on the Motion

Based upon the complaint, which we take as true for purposes of ruling on the motion for
decision on the pleadings, we find the following facts:

1. On November 8, 2013, Lurie purchased license tab fees for a 1995 Ford “Probe”
motor vehicle that he owned. He paid $24.25 for the tabs, $3.50 for an agent fee, and a $5.00
late renewal fee, for a total of $32.75.

2. Lurie sold the motor vehicle on the same day.

3. Lurie applied for a refund of the unused portion of the plates and tags.

4. By letter dated March 21, 2014, the Director issued a final decision denying Lurie’s
refund request.

Conclusions of Law

This Commission has jurisdiction over appeals from the Director’s final decisions.
Section 621.050.1, RSMo 2000.2 Lurie has the burden to prove that he is entitled to a refund.
Section 621.050.2. Our duty is not merely to review the Director's decision, but to independently
apply existing law to the facts and render the ultimate administrative decision. J.C. Nichols Co.
v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).

A refund is a limited waiver of sovereign immunity and is not allowed unless expressly
permitted by statute. Community Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d
883, 885 (Mo. banc 1990). “When a state consents to be sued, it may be proceeded against only
in the manner and to the extent provided by the statute; and the state may prescribe the procedure
to be followed and such other terms and conditions as it sees fit.” State ex rel. Brady Motorfrate,

Inc. v. State Tax Comm’n, 517 S.W.2d 133, 137 (Mo. 1974).

2 Statutory references are to RSMo Supp. 2013, unless otherwise noted.
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Missouri statutes provide for refunds or credits against unused license plates and tabs
from motor vehicles only in limited circumstances. Section 301.121, for example, provides for a
refund of certain amounts paid when a license plate is surrendered, but only for commercial
vehicles registered in excess of 54,000 pounds. By contrast, § 301.140.7, which applies to other
motor vehicles, provides:
Upon the transfer of ownership of any currently registered motor
vehicle wherein the owner cannot transfer the license plates due to
a change of vehicle category, the owner may surrender the
license plates issued to the motor vehicle and receive credit for
any unused portion of the original registration fee against the
registration fee of another motor vehicle. Such credit shall be
granted based upon the date the license plates are surrendered. No
refunds shall be made on the unused portion of any license
plates surrendered for such credit.

(Emphasis added).

Section 301.140.7 allows a credit for the unused portion of the original registration fee
against the registration fee of another motor vehicle upon transfer of ownership of a vehicle
when the owner cannot transfer the license plates due to a change of vehicle category. Based
upon the facts before us, Lurie is not eligible for a credit under this subsection at this time, and
this subsection expressly does not allow a refund for the unused portion of plates and tabs. Nor
does § 301.140.3, which allows a reduced transfer fee when license plates are transferred from a
motor vehicle that will no longer be operated to a newly purchased motor vehicle by the owner
of such vehicles, apply to Lurie.

Lurie states in his complaint that he would not have purchased the tabs, but the vehicle
purchaser changed his mind and unexpectedly decided to go through with the purchase. As this
occurred on the same day that he purchased the tabs, he never used them, and he believes he has

complied with all the requirements for a refund. Lurie did submit the proper forms to claim a

refund, but the law does not allow one under these circumstances. Neither the Director nor this



Commission may change the law. Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc
1985). When we consider the general principles of law governing refunds, and examine the
pertinent statutes, we find no law authorizing a refund to Lurie under these circumstances.®> We
conclude that none exists. Therefore, we must deny Lurie’s request for a refund.
Summary
Lurie is not entitled to a refund of the fees he paid for the license plates and tabs.

SO ORDERED on August 27, 2014.

\s\ Karen A. Winn
KAREN A. WINN
Commissioner

¥ We note that we have included a considerably more detailed rationale in our decision than did the Director
in his motion. We again caution the Director that a dispositive motion should inform both this Commission and the
opposing party of the facts, law, and reasoning on which the Director relies to advocate his position.
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