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DECISION


Amy Christine Whiat is subject to discipline for failing to meet her continuing education (CE) requirements for her real estate broker’s license and for making a false representation on her license renewal application.

Procedure


On September 12, 2003, the Missouri Real Estate Commission (MREC) filed a complaint alleging that there is cause for discipline.  On September 30, 2003, Whiat was served with a copy of the complaint.  On January 9, 2004, the MREC filed a motion for summary determination.  On January 27, 2004, Whiat filed a letter that she had sent to the MREC, and she attached her responses to the request for admissions.  By order dated February 13, 2004, we denied the MREC’s motion, finding that material facts were at issue concerning Whiat’s claim that she 

should have a waiver because of her health and her assertions in her responses to the request for admissions that she was not guilty of fraud or deceit in obtaining the renewal of her license.


On February 25, 2004, we held a hearing on the matter.  Assistant Attorney General Shelly A. Kintzel represented the MREC.  Although notified of the time and place of the hearing, neither Whiat nor anyone representing her appeared.  The matter became ready for our decision on March 25, 2004, the date the transcript was filed.

Findings of Fact

1. Whiat is licensed by the MREC as a real estate salesperson.  Her license is, and was at all relevant times, current and active.

2. On September 29, 2002, Whiat sent to the MREC a license renewal application for the period October 1, 2002, to September 30, 2004.  On this application, Whiat indicated that she had met her CE requirements.  She marked “yes” in response to the following statement:

I have met the appropriate continuing education requirements as outlined in Section 339.040.7 and 4 CSR 250-10.010 of the Missouri Real Estate Commission statutes and regulations.  All courses were approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission and completed prior to submission of this renewal application and expiration of my license.  I have retained records documenting completion of these hours.  OR I have personally received a written waiver from the Missouri Real Estate Commission for this renewal period.  I further certify that upon request, I can and will provide these records to the Missouri Real Estate Commission.  DO NOT SEND CERTIFICATES WITH THIS RENEWAL. (Refer to enclosure for more details.)

3. When she mailed the application, Whiat was in the process of taking a CE course and completed it at 3:00 a.m. on October 1, 2002.  The company offering the CE credit refused to allow the 3-hour credit because the course was completed after midnight.

4. Whiat had not asked for and had not obtained a waiver of the CE requirement.

5. The MREC granted Whiat’s application for renewal based on her verification that she had met her CE requirements.

6. By letter dated November 22, 2002, the MREC notified Whiat that she had 60 days from the date of the letter to pass a one-time sitting of the salesperson examination.  The letter gave Whiat until January 22, 2003, to provide examination documentation.  The letter states in part:

Also, for the 2004 and 2006 renewal periods, you will be required to submit evidence of continuing education completion with those respective renewal applications before your renewal will be processed.

7. Whiat failed to respond in writing to this letter and failed to provide any documentation that she had passed the real estate salesperson examination.

Conclusions of Law 


We have jurisdiction to hear this case.  Section 621.045.
  The MREC has the burden of proving that Whiat has committed an act for which the law allows discipline.  Missouri Real Estate Comm’n v. Berger, 764 S.W.2d 706, 711 (Mo. App., E.D. 1989).  The MREC argues that Whiat is subject to discipline under § 339.100, which provides:


2.  The [MREC] may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing commission as provided by law when the [MREC] believes there is a probability that a licensee has performed or attempted to perform any of the following acts:

*   *   *


(10) Obtaining a certificate or registration of authority, permit or license for himself or anyone else by false or fraudulent representation, fraud or deceit;

*   *   *


(14) Violation of, or attempting to violate, directly or indirectly, or assisting or enabling any person to violate, any provision of sections 339.010 to 339.180, or of any lawful rule adopted pursuant to sections 339.010 to 339.180;


(15) Committing any act which would otherwise be grounds for the commission to refuse to issue a license under section 339.040[.]

(Emphasis added.)

Fraud, Deceit


Fraud is an intentional perversion of truth to induce another, in reliance on it, to part with some valuable thing belonging to him/her.  State ex rel. Williams v. Purl, 128 S.W. 196, 201 (Mo. 1910).  Deceit is “1:  the act or practice of deceiving : DECEPTION   2:  an attempt or device to deceive : TRICK   3:  the quality of being deceitful[.]”  MERRIAM-WEBSTER'S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY 298 (10th ed. 1993).  Deception is the act of causing someone to accept as true what is not true.  Id.  False means “1. Untrue. 2. Deceitful; lying . . . What is false can be so by intent, by accident, or by mistake.”  BLACK’S LAW DICTIONARY 618 (7th ed. 1999).


Whiat affirmed in her renewal application that she had met her CE requirements.  The MREC adduced no other evidence that Whiat committed fraud or deceit.  In her responses to the request for admissions, Whiat affirmatively denied that she had committed fraud or deceit.  She states that she knew she was taking the course and did not receive the credit merely because she waited until the last minute and completed it too late.  Whiat provided the MREC with proof of the nine hours she had completed and received credit for.


We may infer fraudulent intent from the circumstances of the case.  Essex v. Getty Oil Co., 661 S.W.2d 544, 551 (Mo. App., W.D. 1983).  In this case, however, we decline to make that inference.  Whiat believed that she would complete the required CE credits by the due date.  She continued to believe that she had completed the hours until the CE provider refused to give her the credits.  As noted above, a person can make a false statement by mistake.  However, Whiat did make a false representation on her renewal application.


We find that Whiat is subject to discipline under § 339.100.2(10).

Violation of Rules


The MREC cites its Regulation 4 CSR 250-10.010(1), which states:

Each real estate licensee who holds an active license shall complete during the two (2)-year license period prior to renewal, as a condition precedent to license renewal, a minimum of twelve (12) hours of real estate instruction approved for continuing education credit by the Missouri Real Estate Commission.  An active license is any license issued by the [MREC] except those which have been placed on inactive status by a broker or salesperson, pursuant to 4 CSR 250-4.040(3) and 4 CSR 250-4.050(6).  Failure to provide the [MREC] evidence of course completion as set forth shall constitute grounds for not renewing a license.  For purposes of 4 CSR 250-10, an hour is defined as sixty (60) minutes, at least fifty (50) minutes of which shall be devoted to actual classroom instruction and no more than ten (10) minutes of which shall be devoted to a recess.  No credit will be allowed for fractional hours.

and Regulation 4 CSR 250-8.170(1), which states:

Failure of a licensee to respond in writing, within thirty (30) days from the date of the [MREC’s] written request or inquiry, mailed to the licensee’s address currently registered with the [MREC], will be sufficient grounds for taking disciplinary action against that licensee.


Whiat failed to obtain her required CE hours and failed to respond to the MREC’s November 22, 2002, request for information.  The letter specifically gave Whiat more than 30 

days to respond, and we would not find cause for discipline if she had responded during the time frame set by the MREC.  However, she failed to respond.  The MREC letter also instructed Whiat to send in proof of her CE hours with her renewal applications, and she did not do so.


Whiat is subject to discipline under § 339.100.2(14) for violating the MREC’s regulations.

Grounds to Refuse License


The MREC cites § 339.040, which set forth the requirements for licensure:


1.  Licenses shall be granted only to persons who present . . . satisfactory proof to the [MREC] that they:


(1) Are persons of good moral character; and


(2) Bear a good reputation for honesty, integrity, and fair dealing; and


(3) Are competent to transact the business of a broker or salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interest of the public.

The MREC argues that because Whiat failed to comply with the CE requirements and renewed her license based on a false representation, that she lacks a good reputation for honesty, integrity and fair dealing and that she is not competent to transact the business of a broker to safeguard the interest of the public.  The MREC offers no proof of Whiat’s character, and she affirmatively denies the allegations in her responses to the request for admissions.


We find no cause to discipline Whiat under § 339.100.2(15).

Waiver


Whiat offers no proof that would support waiving the CE requirement under 4 CSR 250-10.010(6).

Summary


Whiat is subject to discipline under § 339.100.2(10) and (14).  She is not subject to discipline under § 339.100.2(15).


SO ORDERED on May 20, 2004.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP



Commissioner

	�Pt’r Ex. 2.


	�Janet Carder, Executive Director for the MREC, testified that a licensee should request the waiver before sending the renewal application because the application requires the licensee to attest to completing the hours or already having the waiver.





	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.
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