Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

NOWATTA S. WAGONER,
)


)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No.  05-0078 RV



)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION


Nowatta S. Wagoner owes $342.38 in state and local sales tax on her purchase of a 1998 Toyota from Blackwell-Baldwin Dodge and Plymouth Company in Dexter, Missouri, on May 24, 2004.  
Procedure


On January 18, 2005, Wagoner filed a petition appealing an assessment of sales tax on the purchase of a motor vehicle.  We held a telephone hearing on June 2, 2005.  Donald Rhodes represented Wagoner.  Ronald C. Clements represented the Director.  The last brief was due on August 19, 2005.
Findings of Fact

1.
Wagoner resides in Bloomfield, Missouri.
2.
Wagoner bought a used 1998 Toyota from Blackwell-Baldwin Dodge and Plymouth Company (“the Seller”) in Dexter, Missouri, on May 24, 2004.  
3.
Wagoner paid the net purchase price of $5,500 with the assistance of a loan of $5,032.50 from First State Bank and Trust Company, Inc. (“the Bank”).  The Bank filed a notice of lien with the Department of Revenue.
4.
The Seller assigned the Toyota’s title to Wagoner.  Wagoner drove the car home and used it.
5.
Wagoner’s application for title was refused because she did not have a vehicle inspection certificate.  Wagoner believed that the Seller was supposed to have inspected the vehicle.  Five days after buying the Toyota, Wagoner returned it to the Seller because she could not get them to inspect it.  Wagoner told the Seller to keep the car.
6.
The Seller kept the Toyota, but did not return any of the purchase price to Wagoner.
7.
On July 27, 2004, the Bank repossessed the Toyota.  On August 16, 2004, the Bank applied for a repossession title.  The Department of Revenue issued a repossession title to the Bank on September 7, 2004.
8.
Wagoner did not pay sales tax on her purchase of the Toyota because she was never issued a title.
9.
On January 6, 2005, the Director issued an assessment of unpaid sales tax and motor vehicle delinquency penalty fee to Wagoner as follows:

State Sales Tax Due

         $
232.38

Local Sales Tax


110.00

Title Penalty



200.00
Title application fee


    8.50

Processing fee



    2.50

Total Due



553.38

10.
On June 27, 2005, the Director withdrew the portion of the assessment reflecting a title penalty of $200.00, title application fee of $8.50, and processing fee of $2.50.  The balance remaining on the assessment is the total of the state and local sales tax:  $342.38.

Conclusions of Law


Section 621.050.1
 gives us jurisdiction of Wagoner’s appeal.  Wagoner has the burden of proving that she does not owe the assessment.  Section 621.050.2.


Sections 144.020.1(1), RSMo Supp. 2004, imposes a state sales tax of four percent on the purchase of a motor vehicle.  Section 144.069 allows the municipality where the buyer lives to impose a local sales tax on the purchase of a motor vehicle.  The purchase occurred when the Seller assigned title to Wagoner.  Wagoner does not contend that the dealer never assigned the title to her.  Even though Wagoner could not recall if she had the title that the Seller assigned to her when she left the dealership, she thought she had all the documents she needed to apply for the title, except for the inspection certificate.  (Tr. at 10.)  We conclude that the Seller assigned the title to Wagoner.  Wagoner paid the Seller for the car and took possession of it.  Therefore, the sale took place by which Wagoner incurred liability for the sales tax.  
Section 144.070.1 requires the buyer of a motor vehicle to pay sales tax on the purchase when the buyer makes application for the title.  Wagoner did not pay the sales tax because her application for title was rejected for lack of an inspection certificate.  


Wagoner contends that she does not owe sales tax because her return of the Toyota to the Seller rescinded the purchase.  Section 144.071.1 requires the Director to refund any sales tax to a buyer of a motor vehicle if the buyer “rescinds the sale of that motor vehicle . . . and receives a refund of the purchase price and returns the motor vehicle . . . to the seller within sixty calendar days from the date of the sale[.]”  To benefit from this statute, Wagoner must prove that she: 
1) rescinded the sale, 2) received a refund of the purchase price, and 3) returned the Toyota to the Seller within 60 days of May 26, 2004.

Even though Wagoner returned the Toyota to the Seller within the 60 days, she failed to prove that she rescinded the sale because she never showed that she assigned the title back to the Seller.  The sale of a used motor vehicle is not rescinded until the buyer assigns the title back to the seller.  Section 301.210; Herbert v. Harl, 757 S.W.2d 585, 590 (Mo. banc 1988).  Also, Wagoner testified that the Seller never refunded any of what she paid for the Toyota.  (Tr. at 10.)  Therefore, Wagoner has failed to show that her return of the Toyota to the Seller relieves her of liability for sales tax.

The Director states in her post-hearing brief that she withdraws the $200.00 title penalty, the $8.50 title application fee, and the $2.50 processing fee, leaving only the state and local sales tax owed by Wagoner.
Summary


Wagoner owes $342.38 in state and local sales tax on her purchase of the Toyota because she bought it from the Seller and did not pay sales tax.  Section 144.071 does not relieve her of sales tax liability because she did not rescind the sale by reassigning the title to the Seller and did not receive a refund of the sale price.

SO ORDERED on August 26, 2005.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY 


Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.





PAGE  
4

