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)
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DECISION


We grant the motion filed by the Missouri Ethics Commission (“Ethics”) to dismiss this case because we have no jurisdiction to hear it.

Procedure


On October 4, 2004, Elizabeth A. Harmon-Vaughan filed a complaint appealing Ethics’ decision assessing her a late filing fee.  On November 1, 2004, Ethics filed an answer and motion to dismiss.  By order dated December 7, 2004, we denied the motion.  On December 14, 2004, Ethics filed a motion to reconsider.  We gave Vaughan until December 27, 2004, to respond to the motion, but she did not respond.  We grant the motion to reconsider and find the following facts.

Findings of Fact
1. Ethics assessed a late fee of $440 against Vaughan for her failure to timely file a personal financial disclosure statement.  Ethics informed Vaughan of this assessment by letter dated June 18, 2004.

2. By letter dated July 23, 2004, Vaughan admitted that she had received Ethics’ 

June 18, 2004, letter assessing a late fee.

3. Vaughan received actual notice of the late fee on or before July 23, 2004.

4. On October 4, 2004, Vaughan filed a complaint with this Commission by regular mail.

5. October 4, 2004, is more than 14 days after July 23, 2004.

Conclusions of Law 


We have jurisdiction to hear this type of complaint.  Section 105.963.4.
   Ethics argues that we lack jurisdiction to hear Vaughan’s appeal because she filed her complaint too late. We have no jurisdiction to hear a petition filed out of time.  Community Fed. Sav. & Loan Assoc. v. Director of Revenue, 752 S.W.2d 794, 799 (Mo. banc), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 893 (1988).  If we have no jurisdiction to hear the petition, we cannot reach the merits of the case and can only exercise our inherent power to dismiss.  J. DEVINE, MISSOURI CIVIL PLEADING AND PRACTICE, 

§ 24-5 (1986).


Section 105.963 sets the time deadline for filing complaints:


4.  Any person assessed a late filing fee may seek review of such assessment or the amount of late filing fees assessed, at the person’s option, by filing a petition within fourteen days after receiving actual notice of assessment with the administrative hearing commission, or without exhausting the person’s administrative remedies may seek review of such issues with the circuit court of Cole County.

Section 621.205 states:


1.  For the purpose of determining whether documents are filed within the time allowed by law, documents transmitted to the administrative hearing commission by registered mail or certified mail shall be deemed filed with the administrative hearing commission as of the date shown on the United States post office records of such registration or certification and mailing.  If the document is sent by any method other than registered mail or certified mail, the administrative hearing commission shall deem it to be filed on the date the administrative hearing commission receives it.


Because Vaughan filed her complaint beyond the statutory time limit, we have no jurisdiction over this case and must grant Ethics’ motion to dismiss.

Summary


We dismiss this case and cancel the hearing.


SO ORDERED on January 24, 2005.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP



Commissioner

	�Statutory references, unless otherwise noted, are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.
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