Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

EILEEN STEKLOFF,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 01-0683 CS




)

STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY,
)




)



Respondent.
)

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW


Eileen Stekloff filed a complaint on May 1, 2001, challenging the State Board of Cosmetology’s April 16, 2001, decision denying her application for licensure as a cosmetologist by reciprocity.   


This Commission convened a hearing on the complaint on August 28, 2001.  Stekloff represented herself.  Assistant Attorney General Craig H. Jacobs represented the Board.  


The matter became ready for our decision on September 28, 2001, when our reporter filed the transcript.  

Findings of Fact

1. Stekloff is licensed as a cosmetologist by the State of New York.  She has been a salon owner for 15 years, and has attended educational seminars to keep current.  

2. Stekloff applied to the Board for licensure as a cosmetologist by reciprocity.  Stekloff passed an open book state law test required of reciprocity applicants.
  The Board denied her application on April 16, 2001.   

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Stekloff’s complaint.  Section 621.045.
  Stekloff has the burden to show that she is entitled to a license by reciprocity.  Section 621.120; Francois v. State Bd. of Regis’n for the Healing Arts, 880 S.W.2d 601, 603 (Mo. App., E.D. 1994).  


Cosmetology licenses are issued through reciprocity as set forth in section 329.130, which provides in part:

The state board of cosmetology shall dispense with examinations of an applicant, as provided in this chapter, and shall grant licenses under the respective sections upon the payment of the required fees, provided that the applicant has complied with the requirements of another state, territory of the United States, or, District of Columbia wherein the requirements for licensure are substantially equal to those in force in this state at the time application for the license is filed and upon due proof that the applicant at time of making application holds a current license in the other state, territory of the United States, or District of Columbia, and upon the  payment of [the required fee.]

(Emphasis added.)  The Board’s Regulation 4 CSR 90-7.010(1)(A) provides:

(1) Licensure by Reciprocity.


(A) A person who is the holder of a current license in another state which has training and examination requirements that are substantially equal to or greater than those in Missouri, at the time of application, shall be issued a Missouri certificate of registration (license) without an examination upon making application to the board. . . .

(Emphasis added.)  


New York’s licensure requirements are not substantially equal to Missouri’s.  Missouri requires provides that the course of study for a cosmetologist shall be no less than 1,500 hours, or for students in a public vocational/technical school, no less than 1,220 hours.  Section 329.040.3(3).  1,030 out of the 1,500 hours are in prescribed subjects, and the remaining 470 hours are to be determined by the school.  Section 329.040.4.  New York requires a course of study of 1,000 hours.  N.Y. COMP. CODES R. & REGS tit. 19, section 162.4.  Missouri requires a minimum of 160 hours of classroom training before a student may perform any acts of cosmetology.  Section 329.040.2(3).  We find no such requirement in the New York laws.  N.Y. General Business Law section 406 (Consol. 2001).  Missouri requires that applicants be of good moral character and have completed the tenth grade.  Section 329.050.1.  Stekloff argues that New York requires high school graduation, but we find no such requirement in the New York laws.  N.Y. General Business Law section 406 (Consol. 2001).  Further, New York allows cosmetologists who were practicing at the time of the adoption of the cosmetologist licensing laws to be “grandfathered” in without meeting the educational and testing requirements.  N.Y. General Business Law section 406(2)(d) (Consol. 2001).  We find no such provision in the Missouri laws.   


We do not doubt Stekloff’s experience and ability, and we understand that she believes she should be given credit for that.  However, this Commission does not have any authority to depart from the terms of the laws.  Section 329.130 requires that in order to gain a license by reciprocity, the requirements for licensure in the other state must be substantially equal to those in effect in Missouri at the time the application for licensure is filed.  New York’s licensure requirements are not substantially equal to Missouri’s in a number of important particulars that 

we have discussed.  Although Stekloff may not gain licensure by reciprocity, she may work with the Board to attain licensure by examination.  Section 329.050.2.


We deny Stekloff’s application for licensure by reciprocity.      

SO ORDERED on October 19, 2001.



________________________________



KAREN A. WINN



Commissioner

	�Regulation 4 CSR 90-7.010(1)(A).


�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.


	�Our decision should not be construed as stating that New York does not have substantially the same curriculum requirements as Missouri.  Section 329.050.2.  The core curriculum requirements appear to be substantially similar.  Section 329.040.4; N.Y. COMP. CODES R. & REGS tit. 19, section 162.4.  
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