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)
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)

No. 07-0068 RV



)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE, 
)



)
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)

DECISION 


Kenneth Smith is liable for Missouri sales tax, title penalty and fees on his purchase of a 2006 Chrysler 300C (“the vehicle”).  
Procedure


Smith filed a complaint on January 16, 2007, challenging the Director of Revenue’s (“the Director”) assessment of sales tax on his purchase of the vehicle.   

This Commission convened a hearing on the complaint on April 17, 2008.  Smith represented himself.  Senior Counsel Gary L. Barnhart represented the Director.  The matter became ready for our decision on July 18, 2008, when the Director filed the last written argument.

Findings of Fact

1. Smith purchased the vehicle from Weinberg Dodge in Grandview, Missouri, on March 1, 2006, for $31,500.
    
2. As purchaser of the vehicle, Smith signed an assignment of the certificate of title from Weinberg Dodge.  The purchase price was not filled in on the back of the certificate of title that was assigned to him.  
3. Smith lives in Grandview, Missouri, and also lived there at the time of the vehicle purchase.  Smith drives the vehicle.  
4. Smith did not apply for Missouri title to the vehicle.  
5. Smith did not pay Missouri sales tax on his purchase of the vehicle.  
6. On November 9, 2006, the Director issued an assessment to Smith as follows:  

State sales tax           $1,330.96

Local sales tax          $1,023.82

Title penalty             $   200.00

Title application fee $       8.50

Processing fee          $       2.50

Total                         $2,565.78

Conclusions of Law


This Commission has jurisdiction over appeals from the Director’s assessments.
  Our duty is not merely to review the Director's decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer's lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.
  Smith has the burden to prove that he is not liable for the amounts that the Director assessed.
  

Smith contends that the Director’s assessment was “fraudulent.”  Fraud is "an intentional perversion of truth to induce another, in reliance on it, to part with some valuable thing belonging to him."
  Smith offered no evidence of fraudulent actions by the Director.  We find 
nothing fraudulent about the Director’s assessment, and we make an independent determination that Smith is liable for the amounts that the Director assessed.   

Section 144.020.1 imposes a sales tax upon all sellers for the privilege of engaging in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail in this state.  On most sales transactions, the Director receives sales tax remitted by sellers, who collect the sales tax from the purchasers.
  Section 144.020.1(8) provides that the purchase or use of motor vehicles shall be taxed as provided in §§ 144.070 and 144.440.  Section 144.070 imposes on vehicle purchasers the obligation to pay sales tax upon registering the vehicle in Missouri:  
At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . . , 

he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . ., and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law.

Section 301.130 sets forth requirements for the vehicle registration and license:  


1.  The director of revenue, upon receipt of a proper application for registration, required fees and any other information which may be required by law, shall issue to the applicant a certificate of registration in such manner and form as the director of revenue may prescribe and a set of license plates, or other evidence of registration, as provided herein. . . .

*   *   * 


7.  No motor vehicle or trailer shall be operated on any highway of this state unless it shall have displayed thereon the license plate or set of license plates issued by the director of revenue and authorized by section 301.140. . . .

Section 301.190, RSMo Supp. 2007, sets forth requirements for the certificate of ownership:


1.  No certificate of registration of any motor vehicle . . . shall be issued by the director of revenue unless the applicant therefor shall make application for and be granted a certificate of ownership of such motor vehicle or trailer, or shall present satisfactory evidence that such certificate has been previously issued to the applicant for such motor vehicle or trailer. . . .

*   *   *


5.  The fee for each original certificate so issued shall be eight dollars and fifty cents, in addition to the fee for registration of such motor vehicle or trailer.  If application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant, a delinquency penalty fee of twenty-five dollars for the first thirty days of delinquency and twenty-five dollars for each thirty days of delinquency thereafter, not to exceed a total of one hundred dollars before November 1, 2003, and not to exceed a total of two hundred dollars on or after November 1, 2003, shall be 

imposed, but such penalty may be waived by the director for good cause shown. . . .  


Section 301.130.1 governs applications for a certificate of registration and license plates for vehicles.  Section 301.130.7 provides that no motor vehicle shall be operated on any highway of this state unless it shall have displayed thereon the license plate issued by the Director.  Section 301.271 allows an exception for non-residents.  Section 301.190.1, RSMo Supp. 2007, provides that no certificate of registration shall be issued unless the applicant makes application for and is granted a certificate of ownership, or presents satisfactory evidence that a certificate of ownership has previously been issued.  Section 144.070 makes payment of the Missouri sales tax simultaneous with the application for certificate of title and for registration of the vehicle.  

Therefore, the statutes require that Missouri residents who purchase and drive their vehicles in this state must register, apply for title, and pay tax on their vehicles in Missouri.
   


Smith purchased the vehicle from a dealer in Missouri, and he does not dispute that he is a Missouri resident.  Therefore, he had a duty to title and register the vehicle in Missouri and to pay sales tax on the purchase.  Smith has not shown good cause for failing to title and register the vehicle in Missouri.  


Smith argues that the transaction was not consummated because the purchase price was not filled in on the back of the certificate of title that was assigned to him.  The sale was completed when the vehicle was transferred to Smith for valuable consideration and the certificate of title was assigned to him.
  The fact that the purchase price was not filled in does not void the transaction.  

 
Smith argues that he has no “remedy at law to pay the debt” because silver is the only legal tender.
  The Missouri Court of Appeals, Western District, has held that silver is not the exclusive form of legal tender in this state.
    
Summary


Smith is liable for sales tax, title penalty and fees as the Director assessed.  

SO ORDERED on September 9, 2008.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP  



Commissioner
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