Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

SAMMY E. SHEPHERD,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 02-1276 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION


Sammy E. Shepherd is liable for $333.78 in state sales tax and $217.25 in local sales tax on the purchase of a motor vehicle.

Procedure


On August 19, 2002, Shepherd filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  On February 6, 2003, this Commission convened a hearing.  Shepherd presented his case.  Stacy D. Tomlin represented the Director.  The matter became ready for our decision when our reporter filed the transcript on March 6, 2003.  

Findings of Fact

1.  On November 26, 2001, Shepherd purchased a 1992 Dodge Stealth from Gregg’s Auto Sales (the seller) in Poplar Bluff.  

Shepherd paid a down payment and signed a promissory note and security agreement with First Midwest Bank (the bank) stating that he would make payments on the balance due.  


2.  On the first day that Shepherd owned the Dodge, it broke down.  The seller took the vehicle to a repair shop, where it remained for about 45 days.  Shepherd made a payment on the loan for the vehicle while it was in the repair shop.


3.  When Shepherd received the vehicle from the repair shop, he drove it to Jonesboro, Arkansas, where the clutch failed.  


4.  The seller refused to pay for the repair of the clutch.  Shepherd refused to make any more payments on the vehicle until the car was repaired.  


5.  The seller refused to rescind the sale and refused to return Shepherd’s payments.  The vehicle was repossessed in late February or early March of 2002.


6.  On or about August 8, 2002, the Director assessed $333.78 in state sales tax, $217.25 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty against Shepherd.  

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Shepherd’s petition.  Section 621.050.1.
  Shepherd has the burden of proof on the petition.  Sections 621.050.2 and 136.300. 


The Director argues that Shepherd owes tax under § 144.070.1, which provides: 


At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile, . . . he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle, . . . or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local tax:

All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.


Shepherd asks for leniency on the sales tax because he was not able to drive the vehicle much and because the seller gave him a bad deal.  If Shepherd and the seller had rescinded the sale within 60 calendar days of the sale, Shepherd would be entitled to a refund of any sales tax paid on the vehicle.  Section 144.071.1 provides:


In all cases where the purchaser of a motor vehicle . . . rescinds the sale of that motor vehicle . . . and receives a refund of the purchase price and returns the motor vehicle . . . to the seller within sixty calendar days from the date of the sale, the sales or use tax paid to the department of revenue shall be refunded to the purchaser upon proper application to the director of revenue.

That section requires paying the tax to the Director, returning the vehicle and receiving the sale price back within 60 days, and filing a claim for refund with the Director.  However, no rescission occurred, and no decision of the Director denying such a refund claim is before us.  Shepherd did not return the vehicle within 60 days of the purchase, and the seller did not return the purchase price to Shepherd.


Although we sympathize with Shepherd, the law does not provide an exception as he has requested for the sales tax liability, nor does it provide any authority for us to make an exception.  Neither the Director nor this Commission has any power to change the law.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).  Shepherd is liable for sales tax as assessed by the Director.  


Section 301.190.5 provides for a penalty of $25 per 30 days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the 

applicant[.]”  Section 301.190.5 provides that the penalty may be waived “for a good cause shown.”  Shepherd established that he was unable to drive the vehicle because it was undergoing various repairs.  He refused to make more payments until the seller completed the repairs.  He has shown good cause for waiving the penalty.

Conclusion


We conclude that Shepherd is liable for $333.78 in state sales tax and $217.25 in local sales tax.  He is not liable for a title penalty.  


SO ORDERED on April 2, 2003.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.
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