Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

DENNIS G. SARGENT,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 00-0579 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On February 28, 2000, Dennis G. Sargent filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s (Director) final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.

On May 12, 2000, the Director filed a motion for summary determination of the petition.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Sargent does not dispute and (b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).


The Director cites the request for admissions that he served on Sargent on April 3, 2000.  Under Supreme Court Rule 59.01, the failure to answer a request for admissions establishes the matters in the request conclusively.  The party making the request is entitled to rely upon the facts 

asserted in the request, and no further proof in required.  Killian Constr. Co. v. Tri-City Constr. Co., 693 S.W.2d 819, 827 (Mo. App., W.D. 1985).  Such a deemed admission can establish any fact or any application of law to fact.  Linde v. Kilbourne, 543 S.W.2d 543, 545-46 (Mo. App., W.D. 1976).  That rule applies to all parties, including those acting pro se.  Research Hosp. v. Williams, 651 S.W.2d 667, 669 (Mo. App., W.D. 1983).  Section 536.073, RSMo Supp. 1999,
 and our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.420(1) apply that rule to this case. 


We gave Sargent until May 30, 2000, to file a response to the motion, but he did not respond.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed. 

Findings of Fact

1.  Sargent purchased a 1995 Dodge, Vehicle Identification No. 1B7FL26G2SW941211.  Sargent’s address on the date he purchased the vehicle was P.O. Box 371, 21751 Nimble Lane, Purcell, Missouri, 64857.

2. Sargent has not paid tax on that purchase.  Sargent owes $401.27 in state sales tax, $258.81 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.  Sargent had no good cause for failing to pay the sales tax on the 1995 Dodge within 30 days of the date of purchase.  

3. On February 10, 2000, the Director assessed the amounts in Finding 2 against Sargent.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Sargent’s petition.  Section 621.050.1.  We do not merely review the Director’s decision, but we find the facts and make an independent decision by 

applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  We must do what the law requires the Director to do.  Id. at 20-21.


Sargent has the burden of proof on the petition.  Section 621.050.2.  As the defending party, the Director shows his right to a favorable decision on a claim by establishing facts that negate any element of that claim.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp., 854 S.W.2d at 381.  


The Director argues that Sargent owes tax under section 144.070.1, RSMo Supp. 1999, which provides: 

At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069, RSMo Supp. 1999, sets forth the applicable local tax:

All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Section 301.190.5, RSMo Supp. 1999, provides a penalty of $25 per thirty days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”


Sargent’s admissions require us to impose the tax and penalty.  We do not decide whether Sargent is entitled to a refund of the tax under section 144.071.  That statute requires paying the tax to the Director, returning the vehicle and receiving the sale price back within 60 days, and 

filing a claim for refund with the Director.  No decision of the Director denying such a refund claim is before us.   


Therefore, we grant the Director’s motion and enter our decision in the Director’s favor.  We conclude that Sargent owes $401.27 in state sales tax, $258.81 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty. 


SO ORDERED on June 16, 2000.



________________________________



KAREN A. WINN



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1994 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.





�Sargent indicated in the petition that he acquired the vehicle in 1999.  The Director did not establish the date of purchase.
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