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State of Missouri
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Petitioner,
)




)
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)

No. 99- 3122 EC




)

MISSOURI ETHICS COMMISSION,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On September 21, 1999, the Missouri Ethics Commission (Ethics) assessed Theodore A. Pruess a late filing fee of $1,010 for the untimely filing of a financial interest statement (statement).  On October 5, 1999, Pruess filed a petition seeking this Commission’s determination that he does not owe the late filing fee.

On January 31, 2000, Ethics filed a motion for summary determination with supporting affidavits.  We will grant the motion if Ethics establishes facts that (a) Pruess does not dispute and (b) entitle Ethics to a favorable decision.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp, 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).

Pruess did not file a response to the motion.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed as Ethics has established them.

Findings of Fact

1. On April 20, 1999, the Governor appointed Pruess to be a member of the Seismic Safety Commission.  On May 6, 1999, the Senate met in open session and confirmed the appointment of Pruess.  

2. By June 7, 1999, Ethics had received no statement from Pruess.  On July 29, 1999, and on September 10, 1999, Ethics mailed Pruess notices that it had received no statement.   

3. On September 16, 1999, Ethics received the statement from Pruess.  It did not bear a postmark of June 7, 1999, or earlier.  On September 21, 1999, Ethics assessed a late filing fee of $1,010.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the petition.  Section 105.963.4.
  We must do whatever the law requires Ethics to do.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 

(Mo. banc 1990).  Ethics has the burden of proof.  Heidebur v. Parker, 505 S.W.2d 440, 444 (Mo. App., St.L.D. 1974).


Section 44.227.2 provides that the Seismic Safety Commission “shall consist of . . . fifteen members appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate[.]”  Pruess was appointed by the Governor on April 20, 1999, and the Senate confirmed the appointment in open session on May 6, 1999.  The appointment became effective on May 6, 1999, pursuant to Section 51 of Article IV of the Missouri Constitution, which states in pertinent part:

The authority to act of any person whose appointment requires the advice and consent of the senate shall commence, if the senate is in session, upon receiving the advice and consent of the senate. . . .


Pruess is required to file a statement pursuant to section 105.483, which requires:

Each of the following persons shall be required to file a financial interest statement: 

*   *   *

(10) The members, the chief executive officer and the chief purchasing officer of each board or commission which enters into or approves contracts for the expenditure of state funds[.]

The Seismic Safety Commission has authority to “[c]ontract for or employ, subject to appropriations made for that purpose, any professional and research services required by the commission[.]”  Section 44.229(3), RSMo 1994.


Section 105.487 provides the period for which Pruess was required to file:

The financial interest statements shall be filed at the following times, but no person is required to file more than one financial interest statement in any calendar year: 

*   *   *


(2) Each person appointed to office . . . shall file the statement within thirty days of such appointment . . . ;

*   *   *

(4) The deadline for filing any statement required by sections 105.483 to 105.492 shall be 5:00 p.m. of the last day designated for filing the statement.  When the last day of filing falls on a Saturday or Sunday or on an official state holiday, the deadline for filing is extended to 5:00 p.m. on the next day which is not a Saturday or Sunday or official holiday.  Any statement required within a specified time shall be deemed to be timely filed if it is postmarked not later than midnight of the day previous to the last day designated for filing the statement. 

(Emphasis added.)  The appointment was effective on May 6, 1999, and 30 days later was Saturday, June 5, 1999.  The next day that was not a Saturday or Sunday or official holiday was Monday, June 7, 1999.  Therefore, the statement was due on June 7, 1999.  A document is 

“filed” on the day that the proper official receives it.  Holmes v. Navajo Freight Lines, Inc., 

488 S.W.2d 311, 313-14 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1972).  Ethics did not receive it until September 16, 1999.  The postmark exception does not apply.  The statement was 101 days late.


Section 105.963.3 requires the assessment of a fee for late filing:

3.  The executive director shall assess every person required to file a financial interest statement pursuant to sections 105.483 to 105.492 failing to file such a financial interest statement with the commission a late filing fee of ten dollars for each day after such statement is due to the commission.  The executive director shall mail a notice, by certified mail, to any person who fails to file such statement informing the individual required to file of such failure and the fees provided by this section. . . .  

(Emphasis added.)  


Pruess asserts in his petition that the position is a voluntary one, with no remuneration except for mileage and meals.  He indicates that his failure to file the statement was a mere oversight and that he filed the form before actually assuming any duties on the Seismic Safety Commission.  However, the statutes required Pruess to file a statement within 30 days of when his appointment was effective, and the statutes now require a fee for its late filing.  The statutes do not give this Commission or Ethics the discretion to waive the fee for any reason.  


We grant Ethics’ motion for summary determination.  Because the statement was 101 days late, Pruess is liable for a late filing fee of $1,010.


SO ORDERED on March 3, 2000.




_______________________________




WILLARD C. REINE




Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1999 Supplement to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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