Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

GARY D. AND JANET L. KOTTMAN, 
)


)



Petitioners,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 05-1251 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


Gary D. and Janet L. Kottman are not entitled to a refund of sales tax paid on their purchase of a motor vehicle.  

Procedure


On August 8, 2005, the Kottmans appealed the Director of Revenue’s denial of a claim for a refund of sales tax paid on a motor vehicle.  


On October 28, 2005, the Director filed a motion for summary determination.  We gave the Kottmans until November 21, 2005, to respond, but they did not respond.  


Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(B) provides that we may decide this case in any party’s favor without a hearing if any party establishes facts that (a) no party disputes and 

(b) entitle any party to a favorable decision.  

Findings of Fact

1. On January 2, 2005, the Kottmans purchased a 1998 Harley Davidson motorcycle for $7,800.  The Kottmans paid state and local sales tax on the purchase. 

2. On July 2, 2005, the Kottmans sold a 1981 Chevy Camaro for $6,500.  

3. July 2, 2005 is 181 days after January 2, 2005.  
4. On July 8, 2005, the Kottmans submitted a request to the Director for a refund of sales tax based on their purchase of a replacement vehicle.  

5. On July 22, 2005, the Director issued a final decision denying the refund claim, stating that the Kottmans’ vehicle purchase and vehicle sale were more than 180 days apart. 

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the Kottmans’ petition.  Section 621.050.1.
  The Kottmans have the burden to prove that the law entitles them to a refund.  Section 621.050.2.  


Section 144.025.1, RSMo Supp. 2004, provides:

[W]here any article on which sales or use tax has been paid, credited, or otherwise satisfied or which was exempted or excluded from sales or use tax is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on the purchase price of the article being sold, the [sales] tax imposed by sections 144.020 and 144.440 shall be computed only on that portion of the purchase price which exceeds the actual allowance made for the article traded in or exchanged, if there is a bill of sale or other record showing the actual allowance made fro the article traded in or exchanged . . . .  This section shall also apply to motor vehicles . . . sold by the owner . . . if the seller purchases or contracts to purchase a subsequent motor vehicle . . . within one hundred eighty days before or after the date of the sale of the original article[.]

(Emphasis added).  


The Kottmans argue that they purchased the Harley on a Sunday and sold the Camaro on a Saturday.  However, the sale of the Camaro and the purchase of the Harley were 181 days apart.  The 180th day fell on Friday, July 1, 2005.  Because that day was not a Sunday, the law does not extend the statutory period for a replacement vehicle beyond the 180th day.  Section 1.040.  Neither the Director nor this Commission has any power to change the law or make an exception, even for one day.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).  

The Kottmans did not sell the Camaro within 180 days after purchasing the Harley.   Therefore, the law does not entitle them to a refund.  We cancel the hearing.  

SO ORDERED on November 28, 2005.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP  


Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri unless otherwise noted.  
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