Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

DAVID B. and KAREN M. HOLM, 
)



)



Petitioners,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 02-1776 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


David B. and Karen M. Holm are not liable for Missouri sales tax or a title penalty on their purchase of a motor vehicle in this state.  

Procedure


On November 19, 2002, the Holms appealed the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing Missouri sales tax, local sales tax, and a title penalty on their purchase of a motor vehicle in Missouri.  


This Commission convened a hearing on the complaint on May 1, 2003.  David presented the Holms’ case.  Associate Counsel James Spradlin represented the Director.  The matter became ready for our decision on September 22, 2003, the last date for filing a written argument. 

Findings of Fact

1. On February 20, 2002, the Holms purchased a 1999 Ford truck for $18,900 from Machens Ford in Columbia, Missouri.  Karen had lived in Maryland since she was young, and 

Maryland was their permanent home at the time of the purchase.  At the time they purchased the vehicle, Karen was doing an 11-month externship at the veterinary school in Columbia.  David was in medical school.  David was in Missouri for about two months, then was out of the state for approximately three months, and then returned to Missouri.  The paperwork on the purchase showed the Holms’ address as 2195 McGuire Lane in Columbia, Missouri.  On advice from the dealer, they did not register the vehicle or pay sales tax in Missouri because they knew they would be returning to Maryland.  The dealer transferred the license plate from their old vehicle to the new vehicle.  The Holms went back to Maryland in August 2002.  The Holms titled the vehicle and paid sales tax in Maryland on October 25, 2002.  

2. On November 7, 2002, the Director issued a final decision assessing the Holms $798.53 in state sales tax, $567.00 in local sales tax, and a title penalty of $100 on their purchase of the vehicle.  

Conclusions of Law


This Commission has jurisdiction over appeals from the Director’s final decisions.  Section 621.050.1.
  The Holms have the burden to prove that they are not liable for the amounts that the Director assessed.  Sections 136.300.1 and 621.050.2.  Our duty in a tax case is not merely to review the Director’s decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer’s lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).  We may do whatever the law permits the Director to do.  State Bd. of Regis'n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., W.D. 1974).

I.  Tax


Section 144.020.1(1) imposes the Missouri sales tax “[u]pon every retail sale in this state of tangible personal property[.]”  As to motor vehicles, § 144.070.1 provides:  


At the time the owner of any new or used motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile, trailer, boat, or outboard motor as otherwise provided by law, he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price exclusive of any charge incident to the extension of credit paid by or charged to the applicant in the acquisition of the motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor, or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law in addition to the registration fees now or hereafter required according to law, and the director of revenue shall not issue a certificate of title for any new or used motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor subject to sales tax as provided in the Missouri sales tax law until the tax levied for the sale of the same under sections 144.010 to 144.510 has been paid as herein provided or is registered under the provisions of subsection 5 of this section.
The Director argues that:  

Petitioners purchased the motor vehicle in question in Missouri and they also had an address in Missouri at the time of the purchase.  These two facts meet the requirements of Missouri statute imposing tax on the purchase of motor vehicles.  

(Resp. Brief, at 1).  We do not find the statutes so crystal clear.  Section 144.069 provides:  

All sales of motor vehicles, trailers, boats and outboard motors shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, and all leases of over sixty-day duration of motor vehicles, trailers, boats and outboard motors subject to sales taxes under this chapter shall be deemed to be consummated unless the vehicle, trailer, boat or motor has been registered and sales taxes have been paid prior to the consummation of the lease agreement at the address of the lessee thereof on the date the lease is consummated, and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision 

shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.
Section 32.087, RSMo Supp. 2002, likewise provides:  


12(2). For the purposes of any local sales tax imposed by an ordinance or order under the local sales tax law, all sales of motor vehicles, trailers, boats, and outboard motors shall be deemed to be consummated at the residence of the purchaser and not at the place of business of the retailer, or the place of business from which the retailer's agent or employee works.

*   *   *


13.  Local sales taxes imposed pursuant to the local sales tax law on the purchase and sale of motor vehicles, trailers, boats, and outboard motors shall not be collected and remitted by the seller, but shall be collected by the director of revenue at the time application is made for a certificate of title, if the address of the applicant is within a taxing entity imposing a local sales tax under the local sales tax law.

Section 144.069 begins with language describing when a sale shall be deemed to be consummated at the owner’s address.  Therefore, at first blush, the statute may appear to state that for purposes of determining which state’s tax applies, the sale is deemed to be consummated at the purchaser’s address.  However, the statute continues by providing that all sales taxes levied by political subdivisions shall be collected on that basis; the statute does not refer to the state sales tax.  Sections 144.020 and 144.070 impose the state sales tax, and § 32.087.6, RSMo Supp. 2002, requires the Director to collect local sales tax on behalf of political subdivisions.  Section 32.087.12(2) and .13, RSMo Supp. 2002, specifically apply only to local sales tax.  All consistent statutes relating to the same subject are in pari materia; thus, they are construed together and are presumed to be intended to be read consistently and harmoniously.  In re C.A.D., 995 S.W.2d 21, 29 (Mo. App., W.D. 1999).  


Therefore, in Thompson v. Director of Revenue, No. 02-1875 RV (Mo. Admin. Hearing Comm’n Aug. 19, 2003), we concluded that the purpose and effect of § 144.069, in conjunction 

with § 32.087.12(2) and .13, RSMo Supp. 2002, is to determine which local sales tax rate applies to a sale in Missouri.  These statutes govern the situation when a resident of one political subdivision purchases a vehicle in another political subdivision and thus clearly provide what local sales tax applies to such a situation.  The Missouri sales tax does not apply to transactions in interstate commerce, § 144.030.1, and the language of § 144.069 does not show that it was intended as an exception to that rule.
  


Under § 144.070.1, a vehicle owner pays sales tax upon making application to the Director for an official certificate of title and registration of the vehicle.  Section 301.190 provides:  


1.  No certificate of registration of any motor vehicle or trailer, or number plate therefor, shall be issued by the director of revenue unless the applicant therefor shall make application for and be granted a certificate of ownership of such motor vehicle or trailer, or shall present satisfactory evidence that such certificate has been previously issued to the applicant for such motor vehicle or trailer.  Application shall be made within thirty days after the applicant acquires the motor vehicle or trailer upon a blank form furnished by the director of revenue and shall contain the applicant’s identification number, a full description of the motor vehicle or trailer, the vehicle identification number, and the mileage registered on the odometer at the time of transfer of ownership, as required by section 407.536, RSMo, together with a statement of the applicant’s source of title and of any liens or encumbrances on the motor vehicle or trailer, provided that for good cause shown the director of revenue may extend the period of time for making such application.

*   *   *


5.  The fee for each original certificate so issued shall be eight dollars and fifty cents, in addition to the fee for registration of such motor vehicle or trailer.  If application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant, a delinquency penalty fee of twenty-five dollars for the first thirty days of delinquency and twenty-five dollars for each thirty days of delinquency thereafter, not to exceed a total of one 

hundred dollars, shall be imposed, but such penalty may be waived by the director for a good cause shown.  If the director of revenue learns that any person has failed to obtain a certificate within thirty days after acquiring a motor vehicle or trailer or has sold a vehicle without obtaining a certificate, he shall cancel the registration of all vehicles registered in the name of the person, either as sole owner or as a co-owner, and shall notify the person that the 

cancellation will remain in force until the person pays the delinquency penalty fee provided in this section, together with all fees, charges and payments which he should have paid in connection with the certificate of ownership and registration of the vehicle.  The certificate shall be good for the life of the motor vehicle or trailer so long as the same is owned or held by the original holder of the certificate and shall not have to be renewed annually.

*   *   *


7.  It is unlawful for any person to operate in this state a motor vehicle or trailer required to be registered under the provisions of the law unless a certificate of ownership has been issued as herein provided.


Section 301.190 does not make clear who must register a vehicle in Missouri, but it would be absurd to require all Illinois residents, for example, to title and register their vehicles in Missouri; such a requirement would be invalid.  Implicit in § 301.190 is a requirement that the owner be one who is subject to the laws of Missouri.  The Holms are not, and have not been, Missouri residents.  They purchased a vehicle here while Karen was completing a temporary externship.  They licensed the vehicle and paid tax in their home state.  The Director points to no authority, and we find none, requiring a non-resident of Missouri to license a vehicle and pay sales tax here.  We by no means condone the Holms’ delay in titling and paying sales tax on the vehicle in their home state.  However, they eventually did so.  If they paid sales tax in Missouri, they would not receive a credit for the sales tax paid to Maryland.  Section 144.450(2) allows a credit against Missouri use tax when the owner has purchased a vehicle and paid sales tax in 

another state, but we have found no law allowing credit for another state’s taxes against Missouri sales tax.
  


We find no legal requirement for the Holms to have titled and registered their vehicle in Missouri.  They are not liable for the sales tax or title penalty.  

Summary


The Holms are not liable for sales tax or a title penalty on their purchase of the vehicle. 


SO ORDERED on November 14, 2003.



________________________________



CHRISTOPHER GRAHAM 



Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.  


	�If it did, neighboring states could have contrary or inconsistent provisions. 


	�Because the Holms purchased their vehicle in Missouri, it was not subject to the use tax, which “is designed to tax out-of-state purchases of tangible personal property by Missouri residents who use the property within the state.”  Dyno Nobel, Inc. v. Director of Revenue, 75 S.W.3d 240, 243 (Mo. banc 2002).
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