Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

STEVEN HERREN,

)




)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No.  99-0092 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 


On January 4, 1999, Steven Herren filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  Herren argues that he owes no tax because he rescinded the sale.  On July 1, 1999, we convened a hearing on the petition.  Herren presented his case.  Senior Counsel James Hoagland represented the Director.  The last written argument was due on November 2, 1999.

Findings of Fact

1. On or about May 2, 1998, Herren purchased a 1995 Oldsmobile Aurora, Vehicle Identification No. 1G3GR62C4S4103142.  The purchase price was $16,000.  Herren signed the certificate of title for the vehicle, signed a special permits application (temporary tag), and signed an installment contract with Nissan Motor Acceptance Corporation (NMAC) for the purchase of the vehicle.

2. Herren left two post-dated checks for the purchase of the Oldsmobile.  One check was in the amount of $300 and the other in the amount of $850.  

3. Herren discovered problems with the brakes after he purchased the Oldsmobile.  Herren took the vehicle back to the dealer and attempted to rescind the sale.  The dealer did not accept Herren’s offer to rescind the sale. 

4. The dealer did not return Herren’s down payment.  Herren unilaterally stopped payment on the checks.

5. NMAC did not consider the sale rescinded.  NMAC repossessed the Oldsmobile and sold it at auction.  Herren paid NMAC $2,700 to settle his obligations under the installment contract.    

6. Herren did not submit an application for Missouri title and license to the Director and has not paid tax on the purchase of the Oldsmobile.  

7. On December 10, 1998, the Director assessed $676 in state sales tax, $440 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty against Herren.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Herren’s petition.  Section 621.050.1, RSMo 1994.
  Herren has the burden of proof.  Section 621.050.2, RSMo 1994.  We do not merely review the Director’s decision, but we find the facts and make the decision by applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990). 


The Director argues that Herren owes sales tax under section 144.070.1, which provides:


At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue 

for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence 

satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local sales tax: 


All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.


Section 301.190.5 provides a penalty of $25 per 30 days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]” 


Herren argues that he attempted to rescind the sale and that he should not have to pay tax on a vehicle that he returned.  Section 144.071, RSMo 1994, may provide him a refund of the taxes due if there is a rescission and if he meets the other conditions of the statute.  That statute states:  


1.  In all cases where the purchaser of a motor vehicle . . . rescinds the sale of that motor vehicle . . . and receives a refund of the purchase price and returns the motor vehicle . . . to the seller within sixty calendar days from the date of the sale, the sales or use tax paid to the department of revenue shall be refunded to the purchaser upon proper application to the director of revenue.

(Emphasis added.)


Rescission of a sale has a special meaning for motor vehicles.  It requires Herren to transfer title back to the dealer.  Herbert v. Harl, 757 S.W.2d 585, 590 (Mo. banc 1988).  Both 

parties must agree to rescission of the contract.  Associated Dry Goods Corp. v. Wittels, 

449 S.W.2d 878, 880 (Mo. App., St.L. 1970).  However, under section 301.210.1, Herren cannot transfer title to anyone without signing over his own title certificate.  Under section 301.190, 

Herren cannot get his own title certificate without paying the sales tax due.  Thus, Herren cannot rescind the transaction until he has paid the sales tax.
  Section 144.071.4, RSMo 1994, gives him a year after payment of the tax to file a claim for refund.


Herren did not satisfy the requirements of section 144.071, RSMo 1994.  Although he attempted to return the vehicle, the dealer did not agree to rescind the sale.  The dealer did not return the purchase price, and Herren did not transfer title back to the dealer.  A rescission of the sale did not occur.


We have no power to decide whether Herren is entitled to a refund under section 144.071.1, RSMo 1994, because he failed to pay the tax and file a claim for refund with the Director.  A petitioner may not file a refund claim for the first time with this Commission.  

St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co. v. State Tax Comm’n, 713 S.W.2d 830 (Mo. banc 1986).  Section 144.070 requires Herren to pay the tax, and section 144.071.1, RSMo 1994, permits a refund only according to its terms.  This Commission can only do what the law requires the Director to do.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990). 


Although we sympathize with Herren, the law does not provide an exception as Herren requests.  Therefore, we conclude that Herren owes $676 in state sales tax, $440 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty. 


SO ORDERED on November 19, 1999.




________________________________




WILLARD C. REINE




Commissioner
�Statutory references are to the 1998 Supplement to the 1994 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.


�Section 144.071, RSMo 1994, ensures the collection of tax on each transaction by barring all further transactions until the tax is paid.
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