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)

JEFFREY W. WYATT,
)




)
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)

DECISION


Jeffrey W. Wyatt is subject to discipline because he committed the criminal offenses of driving while intoxicated, unlawful use of a weapon, and speeding.  The evidence does not show that Wyatt committed the criminal offense of assault in the third degree (assault of a law enforcement officer).  
Procedure


On April 13, 2006, the Director of the Department of Public Safety (“the Director”) filed a complaint seeking to discipline Wyatt’s peace officer license.  Wyatt was served with a copy of the complaint and our notice of complaint/notice of hearing by certified mail on April 22, 2006.  On September 13, 2006, we held a hearing.  Assistant Attorney General Theodore A. Bruce represented the Director.  Neither Wyatt nor anyone representing him appeared.  Wyatt’s written argument was due on December 15, 2006.  
Findings of Fact


1.
Wyatt is licensed as a peace officer.  
2.
On October 13, 2005, John Swartz, an officer with the Clinton, Missouri, police department, clocked Wyatt with a radar gun.  Wyatt was driving 70 mph in a 35 mph zone.  Wyatt was also an officer with the Clinton, Missouri, police department and had been employed there for approximately eight years.  
3.
Swartz had known Wyatt for approximately twelve years.  Swartz knew where Wyatt lived and followed him half a block to his home.  Wyatt got out of his car, and Swartz observed that his eyes were glassy and his breath smelled like alcohol.  Wyatt was very agitated.  Based on his training as a police officer, Swartz believed that Wyatt was intoxicated.  Swartz was aware that Wyatt was having some personal problems.  Wyatt went up to Swartz’s vehicle and said that Swartz would have to kill him because his wife was probably leaving him.  Wyatt pointed a revolver at Swartz and stated that if Swartz did not kill him, he would kill Swartz.  Wyatt said that he would shoot Swartz’s bullet-proof vest so that Swartz would have to shoot back and kill him.  Having known Wyatt for years, Swartz did not believe that Wyatt would really shoot him.  As they continued to talk, Wyatt put the revolver away, but continued to state that Swartz would have to kill him.  Swartz retrieved the revolver from Wyatt.  The revolver was Wyatt’s personal weapon and was not the property of the police department.  Swartz did not arrest Wyatt for his conduct, but reported the incident to their supervisors.  
Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear this complaint.
  The Director has the burden of proving that Wyatt has committed an act for which the law allows discipline.


The Director argues that there is cause for discipline under § 590.080, which states:


1.  The director shall have cause to discipline any peace officer licensee who:

*   *   *


(2) Has committed any criminal offense, whether or not a criminal charge has been filed[.]

The Director argues that Wyatt committed the criminal offenses of driving while intoxicated, unlawful use of a weapon, speeding, and assault of a law enforcement officer. 
I.  Driving While Intoxicated; Unlawful Use of Weapon

Section 577.010, RSMo 2000, provides:


1.  A person commits the crime of “driving while intoxicated” if he operates a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated or drugged condition. 


2.  Driving while intoxicated is for the first offense, a class B misdemeanor.  No person convicted of or pleading guilty to the offense of driving while intoxicated shall be granted a suspended imposition of sentence for such offense, unless such person shall be placed on probation for a minimum of two years.

Section 571.030.1 provides: 

1.  A person commits the crime of unlawful use of weapons if he or she knowingly:
*   *   *


(5) Possesses or discharges a firearm or projectile weapon while intoxicated[.] 

Section 577.037.3, RSMo 2000, allows for the introduction of competent evidence, other than chemical test results, bearing upon the question of whether the person was intoxicated.  The Missouri Court of Appeals has held: 
Whether a defendant is intoxicated may be proven by any witness who had a reasonable opportunity to observe him.  [I]ntoxication is a “‘physical condition usually evidenced by unsteadiness on the 
feet, slurring of speech, lack of body coordination and an impairment of motor reflexes.’”[
]

Swartz testified that Wyatt’s eyes were glassy and that he was very agitated.  Based on Swartz’s training as a police officer, he believed that Wyatt was intoxicated.  In State v. Adams, 163 S.W.3d 35, 37 (Mo. App., S.D. 2005), the court held that a blood alcohol test is not necessary to establish the offense of driving while intoxicated.  The court stated that it is sufficient for a police officer to testify that in his opinion the defendant was intoxicated. 

We find that Wyatt drove and possessed a firearm while intoxicated.  Therefore, he committed the criminal offenses of driving while intoxicated and unlawful use of a weapon.  
II.  Speeding

Section 304.010 provides: 

2.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, the uniform maximum speed limits are and no vehicle shall be operated in excess of the speed limits established pursuant to this section:

(1) Upon the rural interstates and freeways of this state, seventy miles per hour;

(2) Upon the rural expressways of this state, sixty-five miles per hour;

(3) Upon the interstate highways, freeways or expressways within the urbanized areas of this state, sixty miles per hour;

(4) All other roads and highways in this state not located in an urbanized area and not provided for in subdivisions (1) to (3) of this subsection, sixty miles per hour;

(5) All other roads provided for in subdivision (4) of this subsection shall not include any state two-lane road which is identified by letter.  Such lettered roads shall not exceed fifty-five miles per hour unless set at a higher speed as established by the department of transportation, except that no speed limit shall be set higher than sixty miles per hour;

(6) For the purposes of enforcing the speed limit laws of this state, it is a rebuttable presumption that the posted speed limit is the legal speed limit.

3.  On any state road or highway where the speed limit is not set pursuant to a local ordinance, the highways and transportation commission may set a speed limit higher or lower than the uniform maximum speed limit provided in subsection 2 of this section, if a higher or lower speed limit is recommended by the department of transportation.  The department of public safety, where it believes for safety reasons, or to expedite the flow of traffic a higher or lower speed limit is warranted, may request the department of transportation to raise or lower such speed limit, except that no speed limit shall be set higher than seventy miles per hour.

4.  Notwithstanding the provisions of section 304.120 or any other provision of law to the contrary, cities, towns and villages may regulate the speed of vehicles on state roads and highways within such cities’, towns’ or villages’ corporate limits by ordinance with the approval of the state highways and transportation commission. Any reduction of speed in cities, towns or villages shall be designed to expedite the flow of traffic on such state roads and highways to the extent consistent with public safety. . . .  

5.  The county commission of any county of the second, third or fourth classification may set the speed limit or the weight limit or both the speed limit and the weight limit on roads or bridges on any county, township or road district road in the county and, with the approval of the state highways and transportation commission, on any state road or highway not within the limits of any incorporated city, town or village, lower than the uniform maximum speed limit as provided in subsection 2 of this section where the condition of the road or the nature of the area requires a lower speed.  The maximum speed limit set by the county commission of any county of the second, third, or fourth classification for any road under the commission’s jurisdiction shall not exceed fifty-five miles per hour if such road is properly marked by signs indicating such speed limit.  If the county commission does not mark the roads with signs indicating the speed limit, the speed limit shall be fifty miles per hour. . . .  After the roads have been properly marked by signs indicating the speed limits and weight limits set by the county commission, the speed limits and weight limits shall be of the same effect as the speed limits provided for in subsection 1 of this section and shall be 
enforced by the state highway patrol and the county sheriff as if such speed limits and weight limits were established by state law.

6.  The county commission of any county of the second, third, or fourth classification may by ordinance set a countywide speed limit on roads within unincorporated areas of any county, township, or road district in the county and may establish reasonable speed regulations for motor vehicles within the limit of such county. . . .  After the boundaries of the county roads entering the county have been properly marked by signs indicating the speed limits set by the county commission, the speed limits shall be of the same effect as the speed limits provided for in subsection 1 of this section and shall be enforced by the state highway patrol and the county sheriff as if such speed limits were established by state law.
*   *   *


11.  Any person violating the provisions of this section is guilty of a class C misdemeanor, unless such person was exceeding the posted speed limit by twenty miles per hour or more then it is a class B misdemeanor.
Wyatt exceeded the posted speed limit and thus committed the criminal offense of speeding under § 304.010.  

III.  Assault of Law Enforcement Officer

Section 565.083 provides: 


1.  A person commits the crime of assault of a law enforcement officer, emergency personnel, or probation and parole officer in the third degree if:

(1) Such person recklessly causes physical injury to a law enforcement officer, emergency personnel, or probation and parole officer;

(2) Such person purposely places a law enforcement officer, emergency personnel, or probation and parole officer in apprehension of immediate physical injury;

(3) Such person knowingly causes or attempts to cause physical contact with a law enforcement officer, emergency personnel, or probation and parole officer without the consent of the law enforcement officer or emergency personnel.
Wyatt did not cause or attempt to cause any physical contact with Swartz, nor did Wyatt place Swartz in apprehension of immediate physical injury.  Wyatt and Swartz were fellow officers in the Clinton Police Department, and Swartz had known Wyatt for approximately twelve years.  Swartz knew that Wyatt had family problems and was intoxicated.  Because he had known Wyatt for so long, Swartz did not believe that Wyatt was really going to shoot the gun.  Therefore, the Director has not established that Wyatt committed the criminal offense of assault in the third degree.  

Summary


We find cause to discipline Wyatt’s peace officer license under § 590.080.1(2). 

SO ORDERED on December 22, 2006.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY


Commissioner

	�Section 590.080.2.  Statutory references, unless otherwise noted, are to the 2005 Supplement to the Revised Statutes of Missouri.


	�Missouri Real Estate Comm’n v. Berger, 764 S.W.2d 706, 711 (Mo. App., E.D. 1989).  


	�State v. Maggard, 906 S.W.2d 845, 849 (Mo. App., S.D. 1995) (citations omitted). 
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