Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

RAYMOND AND HELEN WYAS,
)


)



Petitioners,
)




)


vs.

)

No.  04-1482 RV



)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION


Raymond and Helen Wyas are not entitled to a refund of a portion of their biennial motor vehicle registration fee because no statute authorizes such a refund.
Procedure


The Wyases filed a complaint appealing the denial of their request for a refund of a portion of their motor vehicle registration fee.  We held a telephone hearing on March 10, 2005.  Helen Wyas spoke for herself and her husband.  Negar Jackson, legal counsel for the Department of Revenue, represented the Director.  
Findings of Fact

1.
The Wyases registered their Chrysler PT Cruiser with the Missouri Department of Revenue in September 2003.  The registration application gave them a choice of an annual or a 
biennial registration.  They paid a biennial registration fee of $42.50.  They had no plans to move from Missouri.
2.
Because the Wyases are “getting older and having health problems,” they accepted their daughter’s requests to move to Arizona near her.  The Wyases sold their Missouri home in June 2004.
3.
The Wyases registered their Chrysler PT Cruiser in Arizona on August 31, 2004.  They got Arizona registration plates.  The Wyases do not plan to return to Missouri.
4.
The Wyases sent their Missouri registration plates back to the Department of Revenue along with a motor vehicle refund request application.  The Wyases asked for a refund of  $20.25.    
5.
The Department of Revenue received the refund application on September 27, 2004.   The Director denied the refund claim on October 13, 2004.
Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction of the Wyases’ appeal from the denial of their refund request.  Section 621.050.1.
  In making the decision, our authority is identical to that of the Director.  We remake the Director’s decision.  J.C. Nichols v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16 (Mo. banc 1990).  The Wyases have the burden of proving that the law entitles them to a refund.  Section 621.050.2.

For an agency to grant a refund, the General Assembly must have enacted a statute that authorizes the refund.  Buck v. Leggett, 813 S.W.2d 872, 877 (Mo. banc 1991), and Community Federal Savings & Loan v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 883, 885 (Mo. banc 1990).  The 
statutes that pertain to the Wyases’ situation do not mention anything about a refund being available, except for commercial motor vehicles.
Section 301.120 provides:


When the owner of a motor vehicle moves the vehicle to another state, he shall return the license plates to the director of revenue within ninety days or upon the expiration of the period of reciprocity granted by the new state of residence; or if the owner of a motor vehicle ceases to operate the vehicle in Missouri, he shall return the license plates to the director of revenue within ninety days.
Section 301.121, RSMo Supp. 2004, provides:


1.  When the owner of a commercial motor vehicle registered in excess of fifty-four thousand pounds returns the license plates to the director of revenue as provided in section 301.120, but not for a license suspension or revocation, the owner shall receive a refund or credit of any pro rata amount to be determined by the calendar quarters remaining before expiration of the license plates. . . .
A “commercial motor vehicle” is “a motor vehicle designed or regularly used for carrying freight and merchandise, or more than eight passengers but not including vanpools or shuttle buses[.]”  Section 301.010(7), RSMo Supp. 2004.
The Wyases do not claim to own a commercial motor vehicle, and there is nothing in the record that suggests they do.  There is no law that authorizes the refund that the Wyases claim.  We deny their application for the refund.  

The Wyases believe that Missouri’s retention of the second year of the biennial fee is unfair when the Wyases have permanently moved out of state.  As Mrs. Wyas said at the hearing, “I used no portion of that second year of license fee, and I already had registered my car here and paid a two-year registration in Arizona.  So I’m paying double for that year.”  However unfair that may be, neither the Director nor this Commission has any power to change the law; only the General Assembly can.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 789 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).
Summary


The Wyases are not entitled to a refund of a portion of their biennial motor vehicle registration fee because no statute authorizes it.  

SO ORDERED on July 18, 2005.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY  



Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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