Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

WANDA WILSON,

)




)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No.  99-2682 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On August 16, 1999, Wilson filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  


On October 22, 1999, the Director filed a motion for summary determination of the petition.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Wilson does not dispute and (b) entitle any party to a favorable decision.  Section 536.073.3;
 ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).  


On November 17, 1999, we heard the parties’ arguments by telephone conference.  The Director examined Wilson, and Wilson presented her case.  Based on the pleadings and the oral presentations, we conclude that the following facts are undisputed.

Findings of Fact

1. Wilson bought a 1989 Cadillac, Vehicle Identification No. 1G6CD515XK4232547, from Downtown Motors in Kansas City, Missouri.  On the date of that purchase, Wilson’s address was 2305 Flora, Kansas City, Missouri, 64108.  Two weeks after she bought the Cadillac, it was stolen.  

2. When the Cadillac was recovered, it had 18 bullet holes in it, rendering it inoperable.  Wilson returned the Cadillac to Downtown Motors.  Downtown Motors did not rescind the sale with Wilson or return her money.  It obtained a repossession title for the Cadillac, and either sold it for scrap or collected insurance on it.  Since she no longer possessed the Cadillac, Wilson did not apply for a certificate of title.  

3. Wilson has not paid tax on the purchase of the Cadillac.  By final decision dated August 5, 1999, the Director assessed against Wilson $185.90 in state sales tax, $126.50 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Wilson’s petition.  Section 621.050.1, RSMo 1994.  We do not review the Director’s decision, but find the facts and make the decision by applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  We must do what the law requires the Director to do.  Id. at 20-21.


The Director argues that Wilson owes sales tax under section 144.070.1, which provides:


At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence 

satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local sales tax: 


All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Wilson states that she had the Cadillac only two weeks, that it was inoperable when she returned it, and that she no longer possesses it.  We believe her.  However, the tax applies to the purchase of the Cadillac, not possession of the Cadillac.  Since Wilson purchased the Cadillac, she is liable for the tax whether she possesses it or not.


Section 301.190.5 provides a penalty of $25 per 30 days to a maximum of $100 when an “application for the certificate [of title] is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”  Wilson has shown good cause for not applying for a title certificate and paying the tax within 30 days of the purchase.  Therefore, she is not liable for the $100 penalty.


Therefore, we grant the Director’s motion in part and deny it in part.  We conclude that Wilson owes $185.90 in state sales tax and $126.50 in local sales tax, but does not owe the $100 title penalty.


SO ORDERED on November 19, 1999.




________________________________




SHARON M. BUSCH




Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1998 Supplement to the 1994 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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