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DECISION


The State Board of Nursing (“the Board”) has cause to discipline Judith Louise Williams because the Arkansas Board of Nursing (“Arkansas Board”) imposed discipline against her upon grounds for which revocation or suspension is authorized in Missouri.
Procedure


The Board filed a complaint seeking to discipline Williams.  We served Williams with our notice of hearing/notice of complaint and a copy of the complaint on April 2, 2007.  Williams did not respond.  We held our hearing on September 11, 2007.  Assistant Attorney General William E. Roberts represented the Board.  Neither Williams nor anyone representing her appeared.  The case became ready for decision on November 28, 2007, when Williams’ written argument was due.
Findings of Fact


1.
The Board licensed Williams as a licensed practical nurse (“LPN”) in 2002.  Williams’ license lapsed on May 31, 2004.

2.
The Arkansas Board also licensed Williams as an LPN.  

3.
In January 2004, the Oakdale Nursing Center in Judsonia, Arkansas, employed Williams as an LPN.  Missing narcotics at the facility caused all nurses to be tested.  Williams’ urine did not test positive for narcotics, but was positive for a low level of cannabinoid (“marijuana”).  Williams admitted to “one time use” of marijuana.

4.
The Arkansas Board received a complaint charging Williams with violations of the Arkansas Nurse Practice Act.  Williams and the Arkansas Board resolved the complaint by an order dated October 14, 2004, issued upon a consent agreement signed September 21, 2004.  In the consent agreement, Williams admitted to the positive urine test for marijuana and to “one time use” of marijuana.  Williams also agreed to the Arkansas Board’s finding that her conduct constituted constituted cause to discipline her Arkansas practical nurse license under Ark. Code Ann. § 17-87-309(a)(6), which allows discipline for “unprofessional conduct.”

5.
The Arkansas Board placed Williams on probation for 18 months, effective 
October 14, 2004, upon numerous conditions, and fined Williams $600.  

6.
By letter dated April 6, 2006, the Arkansas Board notified Williams that she had complied with the terms of her probation and that her license “is now off probationary status.”
Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction of the complaint.
  Except to the extent that § 620.151, RSMo Supp. 2006, applies, the Board has the burden to prove facts for which the law allows discipline.
  


An LPN license “lapses” upon the licensee’s failure to renew it.
  Williams’ license lapsed before the Board filed its complaint.  However, § 335.066.2 authorizes the Board to file a complaint with us against “any person who has failed to renew . . . his or her . . . license.”  

I.  The Arkansas Disciplinary Action

The Board contends that the Arkansas disciplinary action is grounds for discipline under § 335.066.2(8), which authorizes discipline for:
[d]isciplinary action against the holder of a license or other right to practice any profession regulated by sections 335.011 to 335.096 granted by another state, territory, federal agency or country upon grounds for which revocation or suspension is authorized in this state[.]

“The term ‘disciplinary action’ . . . contemplates any censure, reprimand, suspension, denial, revocation, restriction or other limitation placed upon the license of a person[.]”
  The Arkansas order constituted disciplinary action against Williams because it restricted her license by the terms of her probation and required her to pay a fine. 

The Court of Appeals has characterized “disciplinary action” as a “nontechnical” term and employed the principle, “Nontechnical words and phrases in the statutes are to be given their plain, ordinary and usual sense.”
  Accordingly, when interpreting “grounds,” as used in “grounds for which revocation or suspension is authorized in this state,” we look to the dictionary for the ordinary meaning:  
2a : the foundation or basis on which knowledge, belief, or conviction rests : a premise, reason, or collection of data upon which something (as a legal action or an argument) is made to rely for cogency or validity[.
]   


The “premise” or “collection of data” on which the Arkansas Board relied was Williams' positive urine screen and her admission “to one time use” of marijuana.  The Arkansas Board found that this was grounds for discipline for “unprofessional conduct,” but we cannot determine whether the unprofessional conduct was in the “use” of the marijuana or in its mere possession.  Nevertheless, since the grounds for the disciplinary order necessarily involved at least possession, they could serve as grounds for disciplinary action in Missouri because Missouri law classifies marijuana as a Schedule I controlled substance
 and subjects those who possess it to criminal penalties.  The degree of evidence required in an administrative proceeding for proving whether a licensee or applicant committed a criminal offense is:

not to the standard required for conviction in a criminal prosecution but to the standard of a civil matter, “preponderance of the evidence.”  “Preponderance of the evidence” is defined as that degree of evidence that “is of greater weight or more convincing than the evidence which is offered in opposition to it; that is, evidence which as a whole shows the fact to be proved to be more probable than not.”
Accordingly, we must determine whether there is a preponderance of the evidence to prove the elements set forth in § 195.202, which provides:


1.  Except as authorized by sections 195.005 to 195.425, it is unlawful for any person to possess or have under his control a controlled substance.

Section 562.021.3 provides:  “[I]f the definition of any offense does not expressly prescribe a culpable mental state for any elements of the offense, a culpable mental state is nonetheless required and is established if a person acts purposely or knowingly[.]”  In regard to the culpable mental state required under § 195.202, the Missouri Court of Appeals has held:

To sustain a conviction for possession of a controlled substance, the state must prove that the defendant knowingly and intentionally 
possessed the proscribed substance.  To meet this burden, conscious, intentional possession, either actual or constructive, must be established.  The state must also show that the defendant was aware of the presence and nature of the substances in question.  Both possession and knowledge may be proved by circumstantial evidence. 


Williams admitted to the “use” of marijuana, which shows intentional and knowing possession.  In addition, her positive urine screen creates a rebuttable presumption of possession, which she did not rebut.  Section § 620.151
 provides: 

For the purpose of determining whether cause for discipline or denial exists under the statutes of any board, commission or committee within the division of professional registration, any licensee, registrant, permittee or applicant that test[s] positive for a controlled substance, as defined in chapter 195, RSMo, is presumed to have unlawfully possessed the controlled substance in violation of the drug laws or rules and regulations of this state, any other state or the federal government unless he or she has a valid prescription for the controlled substance.  The burden of proof that the controlled substance was not unlawfully possessed in violation of the drug laws or rules and regulations of this state, any other state or the federal government is upon the licensee, registrant, permittee or applicant.
(Emphasis added.)


The evidence is sufficient to show that if Williams' conduct had occurred in Missouri, she would have been in possession of a controlled substance and violated a drug law of this state.  Section 335.066.2 would authorize the Board to file a complaint with us for such conduct:  

2.  The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against . . . any person who has failed to renew . . .  his or her . . .  license for any one or any combination of the following causes:


(1) Use or unlawful possession of any controlled substance, as defined in chapter 195, RSMo, or alcoholic beverage to an extent that such use impairs a person's ability to perform the work 
of any profession licensed or regulated by sections 335.011 to 335.096;

*   *   *

(14) Violation of the drug laws or rules and regulations of this state, any other state or the federal government[.]
Upon our finding that there is cause to discipline the licensee, the Board “may suspend, for a period not to exceed three years, or revoke the license[.]”
  

The grounds of the Arkansas Board’s disciplinary action against Williams was “upon grounds for which revocation or suspension is authorized in this state[.]”  Therefore, there is cause for discipline under § 335.066.2(8).

II.  Incompetency, Misconduct and Gross Negligence

The Board contends that Williams’ possession of marijuana in Arkansas is cause for discipline under § 335.066.2(5) as:

[i]ncompetency, misconduct, gross negligence . . . in the performance of the functions or duties of any profession licensed or regulated by sections 335.011 to 335.096[.]
There is no reason to determine whether possessing marijuana constitutes incompetency, misconduct, or gross negligence because there is no allegation in the complaint or evidence in the record that Williams possessed marijuana “in the performance of the functions or duties” of her profession.  Our regulations require the Board to set forth in its complaint facts and law with sufficient specificity to enable the licensee to address the charge at hearing.
  We cannot find cause to discipline for uncharged conduct.
  Even if the Board were to prove that the possession occurred in the performance of Williams’ professional functions or duties, we cannot find cause 
to discipline for uncharged conduct.
  Therefore, there is no cause for discipline under 
§ 335.066.2(5).
III.  Violation of Professional Trust or Confidence

The Board cites § 335.066.2(12), which allows discipline for “[v]iolation of any professional trust or confidence[.]”  Professional trust is the reliance on the special knowledge and skills that professional licensure evidences.
  It may exist not only between the licensee and his or her clients, but also between the professional and his or her employer and colleagues.
  


As with § 355.066.2(5), the Board failed to allege facts in its complaint or introduce evidence to show that Williams’ possession took place in circumstances that violated the trust of her patients, colleagues, or employer and failed to provide those facts through evidence.  Therefore, there is no cause for discipline under § 335.066.2(12).

IV.  Violation of Drug Laws

The Board cites § 335.066.2(14), which allows discipline for:

[v]iolation of the drug laws or rules and regulations of this state, any other state or the federal government[.]
To provide cause for discipline under this provision, the Board must show that Williams violated the drug laws that apply at the place and time when she committed the conduct.  We presume that the conduct occurred in Arkansas because that was where her urine test was taken and because there is nothing in the record to indicate that she was anyplace else.  The Board presents no citation to the Arkansas drug law that Williams’ conduct allegedly violated, either in its complaint or through evidence.  Therefore, the Board has failed to charge or prove cause for discipline under § 335.066.2(14).  
Summary


There is cause to discipline Williams under § 335.066.2(8).

SO ORDERED on December 21, 2007.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY     


Commissioner
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