Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

MARK AND LESLIE VOETTER, 
)


)



Petitioners,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 05-1671 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


Mark and Leslie Voetter are not entitled to a refund of sales tax paid on their purchase of a motor vehicle because they did not sell their old vehicle within the required time limit.  

Procedure


On November 10, 2005, the Voetters appealed the Director of Revenue’s (“the Director”) denial of a claim for a refund of sales tax paid on a motor vehicle.  


We convened a hearing on April 6, 2006.  Mark Voetter represented himself.  Senior Counsel Gary L. Barnhart represented the Director.   

Findings of Fact

1. On January 7, 2005, the Voetters purchased a 2005 Acura for $27,000.  They paid a total of $3,038.25 in sales tax and fees on the purchase. 

2. After purchasing the Acura, the Voetters attempted to sell their 2000 Mazda MPV van.  They advertised the vehicle in local newspapers, and finally entered into a consignment agreement with an auto broker.  They incurred costs for advertising, cleaning the vehicle, and consignment.   
3. The Voetters sold the 2000 Mazda on August 31, 2005, for $8,000.  This was more than 180 days after January 7, 2005.  
4. The Voetters submitted a request to the Director for a refund of sales tax based on their purchase of a replacement vehicle.  

5. On October 31, 2005, the Director issued a final decision denying the refund claim, stating that the Voetters’ vehicle purchase and vehicle sale were more than 180 days apart. 

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the Voetters’ petition.  Section 621.050.1.
  The Voetters  have the burden to prove that the law entitles them to a refund.  Section 621.050.2.  


Section 144.025.1, RSMo Supp. 2005, provides:

[W]here any article on which sales or use tax has been paid, credited, or otherwise satisfied or which was exempted or excluded from sales or use tax is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on the purchase price of the article being sold, the [sales] tax imposed by sections 144.020 and 144.440 shall be computed only on that portion of the purchase price which exceeds the actual allowance made for the article traded in or exchanged, if there is a bill of sale or other record showing the actual allowance made for the article traded in or exchanged. . . .  This section shall also apply to motor vehicles . . . sold by the owner . . . if the seller purchases or contracts to purchase a subsequent motor vehicle . . . within one hundred eighty days before or after the date of the sale of the original article[.]

(Emphasis added).  The Voetters argue that they made efforts to sell the Mazda, but faced a difficult market due to the discounts available on new vehicles.  They argue that an exception 
should be made to the 180-day limit.  Neither the Director nor this Commission has any power to change the law or make an exception.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).  

The Voetters did not sell the Mazda within 180 days after purchasing the Acura.   Therefore, the law does not entitle them to a refund.    

SO ORDERED on July 14, 2006.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP  


Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri unless otherwise noted.  
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