Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

L. CARR TROVILLION,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 10-0629 RV



)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


L. Carr Trovillion is not entitled to a refund of sales/use tax on the purchase of a motor vehicle.
Procedure


Trovillion filed a complaint on April 28, 2010, seeking this Commission’s determination that he is entitled to a tax refund on the purchase of a motor vehicle.  The Director of Revenue (“the Director”) filed her answer on May 11, 2010.  The parties filed a Joint Stipulation of Facts on August 30, 2010.  The case became ready for our decision on October 22, 2010, the date the last written argument was due.
Findings of Fact

1. Trovillion is a resident of St. Louis County, Missouri.
2. On or about September 21, 2009, Trovillion and his wife sold a 2001 BMW motor vehicle (the “2001 BMW”) for $13,500.

3. On or about February 20, 2010, Trovillion and his wife purchased a 2010 BMW (the “2010 BMW”) from Autohaus BMW, a car dealer in St. Louis County, for $46,100.  They paid sales tax on that purchase to Autohaus.

4. On March 15, 2010, Autohaus, acting as the Trovilions’ agent, took the sale paperwork to a license office and paid state and local taxes and titled the vehicle to the Trovillions.  The Trovillions used the sale of the 2001 BMW as a credit toward the purchase of the 2010 BMW and paid $1,377.35 in state sales tax and $1,092.10 in local sales tax on the net price of $32,600 (the purchase price of the 2010 BMW, $46,100, minus the sale price of the 2001 BMW, $13,500). 
5. The Trovillions also sold a 2002 BMW (the “2002 BMW”) on or about March 13, 2010, for $8,500.

6. On or about March 25, 2010, the Trovillions filed a motor vehicle refund request application (form 426) with the Director based on the sale of the 2002 BMW.  They requested a refund of sales tax in the amount of $643.88.
7. On or about April 15, 2010, the Director issued a final decision denying the refund claim.

Conclusions of Law


This Commission has jurisdiction over appeals from the Director’s final decisions.
  

Section 144.025.1
  provides:

[W]here any article on which sales or use tax has been paid, credited, or otherwise satisfied or which was exempted or excluded from sales or use tax is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on the purchase price of the article being sold, the tax imposed by sections 144.020 and 144.440 shall be computed only on that portion of the purchase price which exceeds the actual allowance 
made for the article traded in or exchanged, if there is a bill of sale or other record showing the actual allowance made for the article traded in or exchanged.  Where the purchaser of a motor vehicle, trailer, boat or outboard motor receives a rebate from the seller or manufacturer, the tax imposed by sections 144.020 and 144.440 shall be computed only on that portion of the purchase price which exceeds the amount of the rebate, if there is a bill of sale or other record showing the actual rebate given by the seller or manufacturer.  Where the trade-in or exchange allowance plus any applicable rebate exceeds the purchase price of the purchased article there shall be no sales or use tax owed.  This section shall also apply to motor vehicles, trailers, boats, and outboard motors sold by the owner or holder of the properly assigned certificate of ownership if the seller purchases or contracts to purchase a subsequent motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor within one hundred eighty days before or after the date of the sale of the original article[.]

(Emphasis added). 


Trovillion contends that he should be allowed credit for the subsequent sale of the 2002 BMW against the purchase of the 2010 BMW.  He makes two arguments in support of this contention.  The first is that if § 144.025 had intended to limit the application of the “180 day” credit to only one vehicle, the law would state “one” or “only one” instead of “a” subsequent motor vehicle.  However, tax credits are construed strictly against the taxpayer,
 and the same sentence makes it clear that the statute applies if the owner purchases or contracts to purchase a subsequent motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor within 180 days before or after the date of the sale of “the original article.”  The reference to “the original article” indicates that there can be only one.
  

Trovillion also argues that the Director’s Missouri Titling Manual “clearly permits the taxpayer to claim a credit against sales and use tax for the trade in of more than one vehicle.”
  He cites to the following language from that manual:

Trade-in Credit:  Any article of tangible personal property can be claimed as a trade-in allowance to a registered dealer; however, the amount allowed for the article traded in cannot exceed the true value of the article. . . .
Example:

An individual may purchase two vehicles from a dealer and trade in only one vehicle.  The trade-in allowance for the one vehicle may be divided and credit applied to the purchase price of each vehicle provided the total trade-in allowance for the vehicle does not exceed the actual trade-in value.  Similarly, an individual can trade in more than one vehicle.[
]

The Director responds that § 144.025 actually provides for three different types of credits against motor vehicle sales tax, one of which is a “trade-in” credit under which an individual may indeed trade in more than one vehicle.
  That portion of the statute, however, requires an actual “trade” of vehicles between the same parties.
  Each of the three transactions that Trovillion wishes to invoke in favor of his contention was with a different party.

Section 144.025 may not be a model of clarity, but it does set forth three types of motor vehicle sales tax credit.  From the record we have before us, Trovillion was eligible only for the 180-day credit.  That allows Trovillion to receive credit against motor vehicle sales tax for the sale of only one vehicle.
Summary


Trovillion received a credit of $13,500 for the sale of the 2001 BMW.  He is not entitled to an additional credit.  We deny Trovillion’s refund claim.


SO ORDERED on January 10, 2011.


                                                                __________________________________

                                                                KAREN A. WINN

                                                                Commissioner
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