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SHARON TROTH,
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)
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)


vs.

)

No. 03-0069 TM




)

BOARD OF THERAPEUTIC MASSAGE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION


Sharon Troth has not shown that she is entitled to a therapeutic massage license.  

Procedure


On January 15, 2003, Sharon Troth filed a petition appealing the denial of her application for a therapeutic massage license by the Board of Therapeutic Massage (Board).  On October 24, 2003, we convened a hearing on the petition.  Troth presented her case.  Assistant Attorney General Daryl Hylton represented the Board.  We left the record open for Troth to file a further exhibit, which she did on November 7, 2003.  The Board did not object to it and cited it in written argument.  We admit that exhibit into evidence as Petitioner’s Exhibit 13.     

Findings of Fact

1. Troth has practiced massage therapy at least part time since 1984.  

2. From March 2, 1987, through June 8, 1987, Troth completed 250 hours of massage therapy instruction as follows:

	Subject
	Hours

	Swedish massage 

therapy techniques
	125

	anatomy and physiology
	75

	business practices,

professional ethics, 

hygiene, hydrotherapy, and health
	50

	Total
	250


The course of instruction was approved by the State of Texas, and Troth completed it under the supervision of a Texas-certified massage therapy instructor, but neither the curriculum nor the instructor was approved by the State of Missouri.  Troth also passed the Texas massage therapy license examination, but Missouri has not approved that examination.  

3. Troth held a massage therapy license from the Texas Department of Health from 1988 through 2002.  Troth has practiced massage therapy in Texas, Colorado, and North Carolina.  In September 2000, Troth had surgery on her neck, which left her debilitated for six months.  On September 20, 2001, Troth filed with the Board an application for licensure by reciprocity, which the Board denied by letter dated December 17, 2002.  

Conclusions of Law

We have jurisdiction to hear Troth’s petition.  Section 621.120.  Our only power is to find the facts and apply existing law.  State Tax Comm'n v. Administrative Hearing Comm'n, 641 S.W.2d 69, 75 (Mo. banc 1982).  If the statutes grant the Board discretion, we also have that discretion.  However, we must do what the statutes require the Board to do.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).  

Troth has the burden of proving that the law entitles her to a license.  Section 621.120.  Section 324.265 sets forth the requirements for licensure.  It provides for several routes to licensure.  All require the applicant to be at least 18 years of age and pay the appropriate required application fee.  Those requirements are not at issue.  

Some of the routes to licensure expired on December 31, 2000.  Section 324.265 allowed licensure if the applicant:

1.  . . .

(1) Has passed a statistically valid examination on therapeutic massage and body work which is approved by the board, prior to August 28, 1999, and applies for such license by December 31, 2000; or 

*   *   *

(5) Has been engaged in the practice of massage therapy for at least ten years prior to August 28, 1999, and applies for such license by December 31, 2000; or 

(6) Has been in the practice of massage therapy for at least three years prior to August 28, 1999, has completed at least one hundred hours of formal training in massage approved by the board and applies for such license by December 31, 2000. 

2.  A person who has practiced less than three years or has less than one hundred hours of training may request a waiver of the requirements of subsection 1 of this section and apply for a temporary two-year license which shall not be renewable.  By the end of such two-year period, such person shall complete at least one hundred additional hours of formal training, including at least twenty-five hours in anatomy and physiology, in a school approved by the board.  Such person shall have until December 31, 2000, to apply for a temporary license pursuant to this subsection. 

(Emphasis added.)  


The following routes to licensure remain under § 324.265:


1.  A person desiring a license to practice massage therapy shall be at least eighteen years of age, shall pay the appropriate 

required application fee, and shall submit satisfactory evidence . . . of meeting at least one of the following requirements: 

*   *   *

(2) Completing massage therapy studies consisting of at least five hundred hours of supervised instruction and subsequently passing an examination approved by the board.  The examination may consist of school examinations.  The course of instruction shall be approved by the board . . . ; or 

(3) Has completed five hundred hours in an apprenticeship with a certified mentor and has successfully passed an examination approved by the board; or 

(4) Has been licensed or registered as a massage therapist in another state, territory or commonwealth or the District of Columbia, which maintains standards of practice and licensure which substantially conform to the requirements in force in this state[.]

(Emphasis added.)  “Shall” signifies a mandate and means “must” in the present tense.  State ex rel. Scott v. Kirkpatrick, 484 S.W.2d 161, 164 (Mo. banc 1972).  In other words, Troth must meet the requirements of § 324.265.1(2), (3), or (4). 

The application before us is based on Troth’s Texas license under § 324.265.1(4), the reciprocity provision.  The reciprocity provision requires that Texas’ standards of licensure substantially conform to the requirements in force in Missouri.  In this context, “substantial” means “consisting of or relating to substance . . . being largely but not wholly that which is specified[.]”  MERRIAM-WEBSTER'S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY 1174 (10th ed. 1993).  Substance is “essential nature . . . a fundamental or characteristic part or quality[.]”  Id.  In other words, Texas’ requirements need not be identical to Missouri’s, but their basics must be largely the same.  

The basics of massage training in Missouri are set forth at § 324.265.1(2) as follows:

The five hundred hours shall consist of three hundred hours dedicated to massage theory and practice techniques, one hundred 

hours dedicated to the study of anatomy and physiology, fifty hours dedicated to business practice, professional ethics, hygiene and massage law in the state of Missouri, and fifty hours dedicated to ancillary therapies, including cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid[.]

The basics of massage training in Texas are set forth in Tex. Occ. Code Ann. § 455.156 (Vernon 2001):

(b) An applicant for registration under this section must be an individual and:


(1) present satisfactory evidence to the board that the person:

(A) has satisfactorily completed massage therapy studies in a 300-hour , supervised course of instruction provided by a massage therapy instructor, a registered massage school, a state-approved educational institution, or any combination of instructors or schools, in which:

(i) 125 hours are dedicated to the study of Swedish massage therapy techniques and taught by a massage therapy instructor;

(ii) 50 hours are dedicated to the study of anatomy;

(iii) 25 hours are dedicated to the study of physiology;

(iv) 15 hours are dedicated to the study of hydrotherapy;

(v) 15 hours are dedicated to the study of business practice and professional ethics standards;

(vi) 20 hours are dedicated to the study of health and hygiene; and 

(vii) 50 hours are spent in an internship program.   

Under those provisions, Texas requires only 60% of the total hours of supervised instruction required in Missouri, in differing subjects, and with fewer hours in each similar subject as follows:  

	Missouri
	
	Texas
	

	Subject
	Hours
	Subject
	Hours

	massage theory and practice techniques 
	300
	Swedish massage 

therapy techniques
	125

	anatomy and physiology 
	100
	anatomy and 

physiology 
	75

	business practice, professional ethics, hygiene and 

Missouri massage law 
	50
	business practice, 

professional ethics, 

hygiene and 

hydrotherapy
	50

	ancillary therapies, including cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid 
	50
	internship
	50

	Total
	500
	Total
	300


Even if we counted the Texas internship toward the Missouri massage theory and practice techniques, substantial differences would remain, including Missouri’s greater requirement in that subject and in ancillary techniques.  Therefore, Texas’ licensure standards do not substantially conform to Missouri’s requirements.    

Troth asks us to exempt her from the expiration of § 324.265.1(1), (5), and (6) and .2 on the grounds of her poor health when the deadline passed.  Troth also asks us to exempt her from the substantial conformance requirement under § 324.265.1(4) on the grounds of her skill and experience.  However, the legislature has not made an exception to its statutes on those grounds, and it has given neither the Board nor us the power to make one.  

The Board also reviewed Troth’s credentials under § 324.265.1(2) and (3), and Troth asks for a temporary license in her petition.  Assuming, without deciding, that we have authority to make those decisions, we would still deny licensure.  A temporary license is possible only under § 324.265.5: 

As determined by the board, students making substantial progress toward completion of their training in an approved curriculum shall be granted a student license for the purpose of 

practicing massage therapy on the public while under the supervision of a massage therapy instructor. 

(Emphasis added.)  As set forth in Finding 2, Troth did not show any instructor, curriculum, or examination approved by the Board.  For that reason, she does not qualify for a license under 

§ 324.265.1(2) or (3) or .5.

Troth argues that the law is unwise and unduly restrictive to give no consideration to her health problems, skill and experience.  However, neither the Board nor this Commission has the power to depart from the statutes.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).   

Summary


Because Troth has not carried her burden of proof, she is not entitled to a license by reciprocity.  


SO ORDERED on March 22, 2004.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY



Commissioner
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