Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

STEVE TODD,
)


)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No.  05-0549 RV



)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION


We grant the Director of Revenue’s (“the Director”) motion for summary determination and deny Steve Todd’s application for a refund of motor vehicle sales tax.  
Procedure


On April 18, 2005, Todd filed an appeal from the Director’s denial of his application for a refund of sales tax paid on his purchase of a 2004 GMC.  On June 20, 2005, the Director filed 
a motion for summary determination with certified copies of her records.  We gave Todd until 
July 12, 2005, to respond to the motion, but he did not respond.
Findings of Fact

1.
Todd bought a 2004 GMC on September 30, 2004.  He sold his 2001 GMC on April 4, 2005.  
2.
Todd filed an application for a refund of $730.95 in sales tax from his purchase of the 2004 GMC.  
3.
April 4, 2005, is 186 days after September 30, 2004.
Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction of Todd’s appeal.  Section 621.050.
  The Director has filed a motion for summary determination in which she asks us to decide the case in her favor without a hearing.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(B)3.A provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if any party establishes facts that entitle any party to a favorable decision and no party raises a genuine issue as to such facts.  The certified copies of records that the Director submitted with her motion show that there was more than 180 days between the sale of the 2001 GMC and the purchase of the 2004 GMC.  Todd admits in his complaint that he sold the 2001 GMC more than 180 days after buying the 2004 GMC.

The law that establishes the right to a refund of sales tax paid on a motor vehicle conditions that right upon the sale and purchase occurring within 180 days of each other.  Section 144.025.1, RSMo Supp. 2004, provides in part:


[W]here any article on which sales or use tax has been paid . . . is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on the purchase price of the article being sold, the tax imposed by sections 144.020 and 144.440 shall be computed only on that portion of the purchase price which exceeds the actual allowance made for the article traded in or exchanged . . . .  This section shall also apply to motor vehicles, trailers, boats, and outboard motors sold by the owner or holder of the properly assigned certificate of ownership if the seller purchases or contracts to purchase a subsequent motor vehicle . . . within one hundred eighty days before or after the date of the sale of the original article and a notarized bill of sale showing the paid sale price is presented to the department of revenue at the time of licensing. . . .  Where the subsequent motor vehicle . . . is titled more than one hundred eighty days after the sale of the original motor vehicle . . . the allowance pursuant to this section shall be made if the person titling such article establishes 
that the purchase or contract to purchase was finalized prior to the expiration of the one hundred eighty-day period.  
(Emphasis added.)


The Supreme Court of Missouri has issued a clear ruling that when the legislature places conditions on getting a tax refund, the taxpayer must meet those conditions exactly, and that  executive branch officials, such as the Director and this Commission, have no authority to ignore or excuse the condition.  Matteson v. Director of Revenue, 909 S.W.2d 356, 360 (Mo. banc 1995).  Todd did not meet the 180-day condition in § 144.025.1, RSMo Supp. 2004.  
Summary


We deny Todd’s refund request because more than 180 days passed between his purchase of the 2004 GMC and his sale of the 2001 GMC.


SO ORDERED on July 25, 2005.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY 


Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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