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)
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)

DECISION 


Kenneth G. Thompson is not liable for Missouri state and local sales tax on his purchase of a motor vehicle in another state.  He is liable for a $100 Missouri title penalty.

Procedure


On December 4, 2002, Thompson appealed the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing Missouri sales tax, local sales tax, and a title penalty on his purchase of a motor vehicle.  


This Commission convened a hearing on the complaint on May 1, 2003.  Thompson represented himself.  Senior Counsel Ron Clements represented the Director.  Our reporter filed the transcript on June 27, 2003.  

Findings of Fact

1. On January 8, 2002, Thompson purchased a 2002 Dodge Intrepid from Sunflower Dodge in Olathe, Kansas for $27,713.46.  Thompson’s address is 33727 West 141st St., Rayville, Missouri, 64084, in Ray County, Missouri.

2. Thompson bought the vehicle for his personal use.  

3. Thompson did not pay Missouri state or local sales tax or apply for a Missouri certificate of ownership for the vehicle. 

4. On October 10, 2002, the Director issued a final decision assessing Thompson $1,170.87 in state sales tax, $415.70 in local sales tax, and a title penalty of $100 on his purchase of the vehicle.  

Conclusions of Law


This Commission has jurisdiction over appeals from the Director’s final decisions.  Section 621.050.1.
  Thompson has the burden to prove that he is not liable for the amounts that the Director assessed.  Sections 136.300.1 and 621.050.2.  Our duty in a tax case is not merely to review the Director’s decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer’s lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).  We may do whatever the law permits the Director to do.  State Bd. of Regis'n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., W.D. 1974).

I.  Tax


The Director assessed sales tax against Thompson.  However, the Missouri sales tax does not apply, as that tax applies only to a transaction within Missouri, and Thompson bought the 

Intrepid in Kansas.  Section 144.020.1(1) imposes the Missouri sales tax “[u]pon every retail sale in this state of tangible personal property[.]”  However, § 144.030.1 exempts sales made in interstate commerce.  As to motor vehicles, § 144.070.1 provides:  


At the time the owner of any new or used motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile, trailer, boat, or outboard motor as otherwise provided by law, he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price exclusive of any charge incident to the extension of credit paid by or charged to the applicant in the acquisition of the motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor, or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law in addition to the registration fees now or hereafter required according to law, and the director of revenue shall not issue a certificate of title for any new or used motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor subject to sales tax as provided in the Missouri sales tax law until the tax levied for the sale of the same under sections 144.010 to 144.510 has been paid as herein provided or is registered under the provisions of subsection 5 of this section.
(Emphasis added.)  Thompson’s purchase of the vehicle is not subject to Missouri sales tax because he did not make the purchase in Missouri.  We note § 144.069, which provides:  

All sales of motor vehicles, trailers, boats and outboard motors shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, and all leases of over sixty-day duration of motor vehicles, trailers, boats and outboard motors subject to sales taxes under this chapter shall be deemed to be consummated unless the vehicle, trailer, boat or motor has been registered and sales taxes have been paid prior to the consummation of the lease agreement at the address of the lessee thereof on the date the lease is consummated, and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.
(Emphasis added.)  Section 32.087, RSMo Supp. 2002, likewise provides:  


12.(2).  For the purposes of any local sales tax imposed by an ordinance or order under the local sales tax law, all sales of motor vehicles, trailers, boats, and outboard motors shall be deemed to be consummated at the residence of the purchaser and not at the place of business of the retailer, or the place of business from which the retailer's agent or employee works.

*   *   *


13.  Local sales taxes imposed pursuant to the local sales tax law on the purchase and sale of motor vehicles, trailers, boats, and outboard motors shall not be collected and remitted by the seller, but shall be collected by the director of revenue at the time application is made for a certificate of title, if the address of the applicant is within a taxing entity imposing a local sales tax under the local sales tax law.

(Emphasis added).  Section 144.069 begins with language describing when a sale shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner.  Therefore, at first blush, the statute may appear to state that in an interstate transaction, such as this one, the sale is deemed to be consummated at the address of the purchaser.  However, the statute continues by providing that all sales taxes levied by political subdivisions shall be collected on that basis; the statute does not refer to the state sales tax.  Sections 144.020 and 144.070 impose the state sales tax, and 

§ 32.087.6, RSMo Supp. 2002, requires the Director to collect local sales tax on behalf of political subdivisions.  Section 32.087.12(2) and .13, RSMo Supp. 2002, specifically apply only to local sales tax.  All consistent statutes relating to the same subject are in pari materia; thus, they are construed together and are presumed to be intended to be read consistently and harmoniously.  In re C.A.D., 995 S.W.2d 21, 29 (Mo. App., W.D. 1999).  Therefore, we conclude that the purpose and effect of § 144.069, in conjunction with § 32.087.12(2) and .13, RSMo Supp. 2002, is to determine which local sales tax rate applies to a sale in Missouri.  These statutes govern the situation when a resident of one political subdivision purchases a vehicle in another political subdivision, and thus clearly provide what local sales tax applies to such a 

situation.  The Missouri sales tax does not apply to transactions in interstate commerce, § 144.030.1, and the language of § 144.069 does not show that it was intended as an exception to that rule.
  Thompson is not liable for Missouri sales tax on his purchase of the vehicle in Kansas.  


Though the Missouri sales tax does not apply, Thompson should be subject to Missouri use tax on the purchase.  Section 144.440 provides: 


1.  In addition to all other taxes now or hereafter levied and imposed upon every person for the privilege of using the highways or waterways of this state, there is hereby levied and imposed a tax equivalent to four percent of the purchase price, as defined in section 144.070, which is paid or charged on new and used motor vehicles, trailers, boats, and outboard motors purchased or acquired for use on the highways or waters of this state which are required to be registered under the laws of the state of Missouri.


2.  At the time the owner of any such motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the same as otherwise provided by law, he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director showing the purchase price paid by or charged to the applicant in the acquisition of the motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor, or that the motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor is not subject to the tax herein provided and, if the motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor is subject to the tax herein provided, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the tax provided herein.

*   *   *


4.  No certificate of title shall be issued for such motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor unless the tax for the privilege of using the highways or waters of this state has been paid or the vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor is registered under the provisions of subsection 5 of this section [pertaining to rental or lease agreements].

Because Thompson purchased the vehicle in another state but is using it in Missouri, his state of residence, the use tax applies under § 144.440.  Parrish v. Director of Revenue, No. 97-1641 RV (Mo. Admin. Hearing Comm’n May 14, 1998).  

Section 144.450 provides:  

In order to avoid double taxation under the provisions of sections 144.010 to 144.510, any person who purchases a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, boat, or outboard motor in any other state and seeks to register or obtain a certificate of title for it in this state shall be credited with the amount of any sales tax or use tax shown to have been previously paid by him on the purchase price of such motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor in such other state. The tax imposed by section 144.440 shall not apply:


(1) To motor vehicles, trailers, boats, or outboard motors on account of which the sales tax provided by sections 144.010 to 144.510 shall have been paid;


(2) To motor vehicles, trailers, boats, or outboard motors brought into this state by a person moving any such vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor into Missouri from another state who shall have registered and in good faith regularly operated any such motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor in such other state at least ninety days prior to the time it is registered in this state[.]

Thompson has not shown that he has previously paid any sales or use tax on the purchase in another state, or that he registered and operated the vehicle for at least 90 days in another state.  
This Commission is an independent adjudicatory agency that hears appeals from the Missouri Department of Revenue, as well as other state agencies.  Even though the sales tax and use tax are complementary, we are not authorized to impose an assessment of use tax on our own accord.  Dyno Nobel, Inc. v. Director of Revenue, 75 S.W.3d 240, 243-44 (Mo. banc 2002).  It is the Director’s statutory duty to assess tax.  Therefore, the Director may issue a new assessment 

and assess use tax.
  We cannot hold Thompson liable for tax now because sales tax does not apply to the transaction and the Director has not made an assessment of use tax.  
II.  Title Penalty


Section 301.190 provides:  


1.  No certificate of registration of any motor vehicle or trailer, or number plate therefor, shall be issued by the director of revenue unless the applicant therefor shall make application for and be granted a certificate of ownership of such motor vehicle or trailer, or shall present satisfactory evidence that such certificate has been previously issued to the applicant for such motor vehicle or trailer.  Application shall be made within thirty days after the applicant acquires the motor vehicle or trailer upon a blank form furnished by the director of revenue and shall contain the applicant’s identification number, a full description of the motor vehicle or trailer, the vehicle identification number, and the mileage registered on the odometer at the time of transfer of ownership, as required by section 407.536, RSMo, together with a statement of the applicant’s source of title and of any liens or encumbrances on the motor vehicle or trailer, provided that for good cause shown the director of revenue may extend the period of time for making such application.

*   *   *


5.  The fee for each original certificate so issued shall be eight dollars and fifty cents, in addition to the fee for registration of such motor vehicle or trailer.  If application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant, a delinquency penalty fee of twenty-five dollars for the first thirty days of delinquency and twenty-five dollars for each thirty days of delinquency thereafter, not to exceed a total of one hundred dollars, shall be imposed, but such penalty may be waived by the director for a good cause shown.  If the director of revenue learns that any person has failed to obtain a certificate within thirty days after acquiring a motor vehicle or trailer or has sold a vehicle without obtaining a certificate, he shall cancel the registration of all vehicles registered in the name of the person, either as sole owner or as a co- owner, and shall notify the person that the 

cancellation will remain in force until the person pays the delinquency penalty fee provided in this section, together with all fees, charges and payments which he should have paid in connection with the certificate of ownership and registration of the vehicle.  The certificate shall be good for the life of the motor vehicle or trailer so long as the same is owned or held by the original holder of the certificate and shall not have to be renewed annually.

*   *   *


7.  It is unlawful for any person to operate in this state a motor vehicle or trailer required to be registered under the provisions of the law unless a certificate of ownership has been issued as herein provided.


Thompson is a Missouri resident.  He has not shown that he has registered the vehicle elsewhere or that he otherwise had good cause for failing to obtain a certificate of ownership in Missouri.  Thompson argues that the State cannot compel people to register their cars and pay taxes on them.  He cites U.S. Const. amend. XIII, § 1, which prohibits involuntary servitude.  As an administrative agency, this Commission must follow the statutes, and has no authority to alter the statutes on constitutional grounds or otherwise.  Sprint Communications Co. v. Director of Revenue, 64 S.W.3d 832, 834 (Mo. banc 2002); Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).  Thompson is liable for the title penalty.  

Summary


Thompson is liable for a title penalty of $100.  Because he purchased his vehicle in another state, he is not liable for Missouri state or local sales tax on the purchase.  


SO ORDERED on August 19, 2003.



________________________________



CHRISTOPHER GRAHAM 



Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.  


	�If it did, neighboring states could have contrary or inconsistent provisions. 


	� Although the Director refers to the local ordinances on file with this Commission, we have found no ordinances on file imposing a local use tax in Rayville or Ray County under § 144.757.   At the hearing, Thompson proffered gold coins as payment for the sales tax.  However, the record does not show that Thompson actually made payment of tax.  
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