Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

TOM SELF,

)




)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 03-0862 EC




)

MISSOURI ETHICS COMMISSION,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION


Tom Self is liable for a fee of $40 for the late filing of a financial interest statement.  

Procedure


On May 22, 2003, Self filed a petition appealing an assessment by the Missouri Ethics Commission (Ethics).  On October 2, 2003, Ethics filed a motion for summary determination.  Pursuant to § 536.073.3,
 our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(B) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if any party establishes facts that no party disputes and entitle any party to a favorable decision.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).  We gave Self until October 21, 2003, to respond to the motion, but he did not respond.  Therefore, the following facts are not disputed.  

Findings of Fact


1.  In 2003, Self was the member of the Missouri House of Representatives from the 116th district.  


3.  By May 1, 2003, Ethics had not received a statement from Self.  Ethics received the statement on May 5, 2003.  It did not bear a postmark of April 30, 2003, or earlier.


5.  On May 6, 2003, Ethics assessed a late filing fee of $40.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the petition.  Section 105.963.4.  We must do whatever the law requires Ethics to do.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 

(Mo. banc 1990).  Ethics has the burden of proof.  Heidebur v. Parker, 505 S.W.2d 440, 444 (Mo. App., St.L.D. 1974).


Section 105.483 required Self to file a statement:

Each of the following persons shall be required to file a financial interest statement: 

*   *   *

(2) Persons holding an elective office of the state, whether by election or appointment[.]

Section 105.487 provides when the statement was due:

The financial interest statements shall be filed at the following times, but no person is required to file more than one financial interest statement in any calendar year: 

*   *   *

(3) Every other person required by sections 105.483 to 105.492 to file a financial interest statement shall file the statement annually not later than the first day of May and the statement shall cover the calendar year ending the immediately preceding December thirty-first[.] 

(4) The deadline for filing any statement required by sections 105.483 to 105.492 shall be 5:00 p.m. of the last day 

designated for filing the statement.  When the last day of filing falls on a Saturday or Sunday or on an official state holiday, the deadline for filing is extended to 5:00 p.m. on the next day which is not a Saturday or Sunday or official holiday.  Any statement required within a specified time shall be deemed to be timely filed if it is postmarked not later than midnight of the day previous to the last day designated for filing the statement. 

(Emphasis added.)  


Self did not meet that deadline.  His petition alleges that his office delivered the statement to the House Post office on April 30, 2003, but that it was not postmarked until the next day.  Neither Ethics nor this Commission disputes Self’s good faith efforts to comply with the postmark rule.  


However, the legislature has provided no exception for such good faith efforts and no authority for us to make such an exception.  Section 105.963.3 provides:


The executive director shall assess every person required to file a financial interest statement pursuant to sections 105.483 to 105.492 failing to file such a financial interest statement with [Ethics] a late filing fee of ten dollars for each day after such statement is due to [Ethics]. 

(Emphasis added.)  “Shall” signifies a mandate and means “must” in the present tense.  State ex rel. Scott v. Kirkpatrick, 484 S.W.2d 161, 164 (Mo. banc 1972).  A document is “filed” the day the proper official receives it, not the day it is mailed.  Holmes v. Navajo Freight Lines, 488 S.W.2d 311, 313-14 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1972).  


Because the statement remained unfiled for four days, Self is liable for a late filing fee of $40.


SO ORDERED on November 6, 2003.




_______________________________




KAREN A. WINN




Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.
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