Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

CLIFTON J. RUGGS, JR., D.MIN, LPC,
)

CASAC III, 
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 03-0346 SP




)

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES,
)

DIVISION OF MEDICAL SERVICES,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION


We dismiss the petition of Clifton J. Ruggs, Jr., D.Min., L.P.C., C.A.S.A.C. III, because he mailed his petition to the wrong office and it was filed too late with this Commission. 

Procedure


On March 11, 2003, this Commission received a petition from Ruggs appealing the decision of the Department of Social Services, Division of Medical Services (Department) that he had been overpaid $1,120 in Missouri Medicaid payments.  


On March 31, 2003, the Department filed a motion to dismiss the petition.  The Department argues that Ruggs did not file his petition within 30 days of the Department’s final decision.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(D) provides:


Involuntary Dismissal.  Involuntary dismissal means a disposition of the case that does not reach the merits of the 

complaint.  Grounds for involuntary dismissal of the complaint include without limitation:


1.  Lack of jurisdiction[.]


On April 8, 2003, Ruggs filed a response to the Department’s motion.  Ruggs asserts that his appeal was timely and should not be dismissed.  The following facts are not disputed.

Findings of Fact

1. Ruggs is a licensed Medicaid service provider. 

2. By decision issued by certified mail on February 6, 2003, the Department informed Ruggs that due to incorrect billing procedures, he had been overpaid by the Missouri Medicaid program in the amount of $1,120.  The letter stated that it was the Department’s final decision, which could be appealed as follows:


If you were adversely affected by this decision, you may appeal this decision to the administrative hearing commission.  To appeal, you must file a petition with the administrative hearing commission within thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of this decision, whichever is earlier, except that claims of less than five hundred dollars may be accumulated until such claims total that sum and, at which time, you have ninety days to file the petition.  If any such petition is sent by registered mail or certified mail, the petition will be deemed filed on the date it is mailed.  If any such petition is sent by any method other than registered mail or certified mail, it will be deemed filed on the date it is received by the commission.

3. By letter sent by certified mail on February 27, 2003, Ruggs appealed the Department’s decision.  Ruggs included the payment of $1,120, but indicated that he was appealing the decision and was requesting reconsideration.  Ruggs sent his letter of appeal to:

Dept. of Social Services

Division of Medical Svc.

P.O. Box 6500

Jefferson City, MO  65102-6500

4. On or about March 8, 2003, the Department received Ruggs’ letter of appeal.  The Department forwarded his letter to this Commission by inter-agency mail.  This Commission received the letter on March 11, 2003. 

5. March 11, 2003, is more than 30 days past February 6, 2003. 

Conclusions of Law


This Commission has no jurisdiction to determine claims filed outside the statutory time limit.  See Community Federal Savings & Loan Association v. Director of Revenue, 752 S.W.2d 794, 799 (Mo. banc 1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 893 (1988).  Pursuant to § 208.156.8,
 an appeal from the Department’s decision must be filed within 30 days of the date the decision is mailed.  Section 208.156.8 provides:


Any person authorized under section 208.153 to provide services for which [Medicaid] benefit payments are authorized under section 208.152 and who is entitled to a hearing as provided for in the preceding sections shall have thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of a decision of the department of social services or its designated division in which to file his petition for review with the administrative hearing commission[.]  

(Emphasis added.)  Pursuant to § 208.156.8, the Department may provide notice by either mailing or delivering its decision.  If the Department uses mail, the time for appeal starts on the date of mailing.  See R.B. Industries, Inc. v. Goldberg, 601 S.W.2d 5, 7 (Mo. banc 1980).  


A document is “filed” with this Commission on the day it is received, unless it is sent to this Commission by registered mail or certified mail.  Section 621.205.1 provides:

 
For the purpose of determining whether documents are filed within the time allowed by law, documents transmitted to the administrative hearing commission by registered mail or certified mail shall be deemed filed with the administrative hearing commission as of the date shown on the United States post office records of such registration or certification and mailing.  If the document is sent by any method other than 

registered mail or certified mail, the administrative hearing commission shall deem it to be filed on the date the administrative hearing commission receives it.

(Emphasis added.)


The Department’s notice was adequate under the law.  Section 621.055.3, RSMo Supp. 2002, provides that the Department’s decision that is subject to appeal at this Commission “shall contain a notice of the right to appeal” as shown in Finding 2.  Although the Department’s notice met the notice requirement of § 621.055.3, RSMo Supp. 2002, the Department would be well advised to assist those who intend to appeal by including the mailing address of this Commission in its final decision.  However, we have no power to superintend the Department’s procedures.  Missouri Health Facilities Review Comm. v. Administrative Hearing Comm’n, 700 S.W.2d 445, 450 (Mo. banc 1985). 


Ruggs mailed his letter of appeal to the Department instead of mailing it to this Commission.  It was not filed with this Commission until we received it on March 11, 2003.  We sympathize with Ruggs, but we have no authority under the law to hear the untimely appeal.  Therefore, we grant the Department’s motion and dismiss the petition.  We cancel the hearing.


SO ORDERED on April 15, 2003.



________________________________



KAREN A. WINN



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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