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DECISION


Jason D. Preston is not liable for Missouri sales tax, title penalty, title application fee, or processing fee on his purchase of a motor vehicle in this state.
Procedure


On January 21, 2005, Preston filed a complaint appealing a decision by the Director of Revenue (“the Director”) assessing him sales tax, title penalty, title application fee and processing fee on the purchase of a motor vehicle.  On June 30, 2005, we held a hearing on the complaint.  Senior Counsel James L. Spradlin represented the Director.  Preston represented himself.  The matter became ready for our decision on August 30, 2005, the date we granted the Director’s motion for leave to file a supplemental brief and ordered it filed as of August 29, 2005.

Findings of Fact

1. On March 25, 2004, Preston purchased a 2001 Saturn at a dealership in Blue Springs, Missouri.  He paid $4,500 for the vehicle.
2. Preston was a resident of the state of Kansas, but listed his father’s address in Lee’s Summit, Missouri, as his address on the title and with the lien holder because Preston was considering moving from one address to another in Kansas.
3. Preston put his Kansas license plates from the vehicle he traded in on the Saturn and immediately drove the car to Kansas.
4. Preston did not register the vehicle or pay tax on it in Missouri.  Preston did not register the vehicle or pay the tax on it in Kansas until September 2, 2004.
5. By decision dated December 9, 2004, the Director assessed Preston $190.13 in state sales tax, $140.63 in local sales tax, a $200.00 title penalty, an $8.50 title application fee, and a $2.50 processing fee.

Conclusions of Law 


We have jurisdiction to hear Preston’s complaint.
  Preston has the burden to prove that he is not liable for the amounts that the Director assessed.


Our duty in a tax case is not merely to review the Director’s decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer’s lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.
  We may do whatever the law permits the Director to do, and we must do what the Director must do.

I.  Residency

Based on the evidence presented, we find that although he listed his father’s Missouri address on the title, Preston was a resident of Kansas when he purchased the Saturn.  The Director did not contest this fact.
II.  Motor Vehicle Sales Tax

Ordinarily, the Director receives sales or use tax remitted periodically from a seller, who may collect it from a buyer.
  Therefore, a retail sale that occurs in Missouri is generally subject to Missouri sales tax, regardless of the residence of the purchaser.  If someone buys something at a store in Kansas City, Missouri, they pay Missouri sales tax, regardless of whether they are from Missouri, Kansas, or Timbuktu.  Motor vehicles are different because the seller does not collect the sales tax from the purchaser and does not remit it to the Director.
  The buyer must pay the tax directly to the Director.  Since purchasers are not licensed by the Director like merchants, the mechanism for collecting the tax is the registration requirement.  The buyer pays sales tax on registration as follows:

At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . . , he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . , and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law.[
]
(Emphasis added.) 

A use tax is generally due, unless sales tax has been paid:


1.  [F]or the privilege of using the highways . . . of this state, there is hereby levied and imposed a tax equivalent to four percent of the purchase price, as defined in section 144.070, . . . paid . . . on . . . motor vehicles . . . purchased . . . for use on the highways . . . of this state which are required to be registered under the laws of the state of Missouri. 

2.  At the time the owner of any such motor vehicle . . . makes application to the director of revenue for an official 
certificate of title and the registration . . . , he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director showing the purchase price paid [for] the motor vehicle . . . or that the motor vehicle . . . is not subject to the tax herein provided and, if the motor vehicle . . . is subject to the tax herein provided, the applicant shall pay . . .  the tax provided herein. 
*   *   *


4.  No certificate of title shall be issued for such motor vehicle . . . unless the tax for the privilege of using the highways . . . of this state has been paid or [sales tax has been paid on it.
]
Section 301.130 sets forth requirements for the vehicle registration and license:  


1.  The director of revenue, upon receipt of a proper application for registration, required fees and any other information which may be required by law, shall issue to the applicant a certificate of registration in such manner and form as the director of revenue may prescribe and a set of license plates, or other evidence of registration, as provided herein. . . .

*   *   * 


7.  No motor vehicle or trailer shall be operated on any highway of this state unless it shall have displayed thereon the license plate or set of license plates issued by the director of revenue and authorized by section 301.140. . . .

However, § 301.271.1 provides an exception for non-residents:  

[A] nonresident owner, owning any motor vehicle which has been duly registered for the current year in the state, District of Columbia, territory or possession of the United States, foreign country or other place of which the owner is a resident, and which at all times when operated in this state has displayed upon it the number plate issued for the vehicle in the place of residence of such owner, may operate or permit the operation of such vehicle within this state without registering such vehicle or paying any such registration fee to this state; but the provisions of this subsection shall be operative to allow such owner to operate or permit the operation of such vehicle owned by a nonresident of this state only to the extent that under the laws of the state, District of Columbia, territory or possession of the United States, foreign 
country or other place of residence of the nonresident owner, substantially equivalent exemptions are granted to residents of Missouri for the operation of vehicles duly registered in Missouri.

Section 301.190, RSMo Supp. 2004, sets forth requirements for the certificate of ownership:


1.  No certificate of registration of any motor vehicle . . . shall be issued by the director of revenue unless the applicant therefor shall make application for and be granted a certificate of ownership of such motor vehicle or trailer, or shall present satisfactory evidence that such certificate has been previously issued to the applicant for such motor vehicle or trailer. . . .

*   *   *


5.  The fee for each original certificate so issued shall be eight dollars and fifty cents, in addition to the fee for registration of such motor vehicle or trailer.  If application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant, a delinquency penalty fee of twenty-five dollars for the first thirty days of delinquency and twenty-five dollars for each thirty days of delinquency thereafter, not to exceed a total of one hundred dollars before November 1, 2003, and not to exceed a total of two hundred dollars on or after November 1, 2003, shall be 

imposed, but such penalty may be waived by the director for a good cause shown. . . .  


Based on these statutes, Missouri residents who purchase and drive their vehicles in this state must register, apply for title, and pay tax on their vehicles in Missouri.  The Director now concedes that Preston was not a resident of Missouri when he purchased the Saturn.  Therefore, we must examine the conditions under which Missouri may impose motor vehicle sales tax on a non-resident.  
A.  Sale Took Place in Missouri
1.  Sales Tax

The Director cites the Supreme Court’s decision in Holm v. Director of Revenue, 148 S.W.3d 313 (Mo. banc 2004).  In Holm, this Commission had determined that the Holms, who were students living in Missouri, were not liable for Missouri sales tax on their vehicle under 
§ 144.020.1(1) because they were residents of Maryland and ultimately paid the required tax in that state.
  The Supreme Court in Holm found that, because the Holms had failed to timely register the vehicle in Maryland, the reciprocity exception for driving in Missouri in § 301.271.1 did not apply.  The Court stated:

However, the vehicle must be registered somewhere in order to be driven in Missouri, and if a nonresident purchaser does not register the vehicle in another state, the purchaser is necessarily required to register it in Missouri to drive it here. . . .  While a nonresident can drive a vehicle in Missouri without Missouri registration by virtue of § 301.271, this exception only applies if the nonresident timely registers the vehicle elsewhere.  The nonresident who purchases and drives a vehicle in Missouri must register it somewhere . . . .

(Bold emphasis added.)
a.  Kansas Registration


The Director argues that Preston is liable for Missouri tax because he did not register his vehicle in Kansas within 30 days of the date of the sale as required by Kansas law.  Preston argues that he was told by Kansas authorities that he had six months to register it there, but provides no legal support for his position.  He also argues that he timely began the application process, but did not complete it.  K.S.A. § 8-135(b)
 provides:

[U]pon the transfer or sale of any vehicle . . . the new owner thereof, within 30 days, inclusive of weekends and holidays, from date of such transfer shall make application to the division for registration or reregistration of the vehicle . . . .  After the expiration of the thirty-day period, it shall be unlawful for the owner or any other person to operate such vehicle upon the highways of this state unless the vehicle has been registered as provided in this act.  For failure to make application for registration as provided in this section, a penalty of $2 shall be added to other fees.

The Kansas resident must complete the registration process or it is illegal to drive on Kansas roads.  We find that Preston did not register the Saturn within the time frame set forth in Kansas law.

b.  Sales Tax Liability under Holm

There are a number of factors that distinguish Preston’s situation from that in Holm.  In that case, the Holms, Maryland residents, bought the car in Missouri.  The Holms drove the vehicle – which was not properly registered in Maryland or anywhere else – for approximately six months in Missouri.  Section 301.271, in addition to requiring that the vehicle be properly licensed in another state, also requires the driver to display upon the vehicle the number plate issued for the vehicle in the place of residence.  While driving six months in Missouri, the Holms should have displayed the license plate that was registered to the vehicle either in Missouri or in Maryland. 

Preston drove the vehicle in Missouri only insofar as to return to his home state of Kansas.  Preston testified:

Nonetheless, immediately thereafter, after the sale was completed, I returned to Kansas where I had been a resident and, you know, resumed my residency with the car immediately thereafter.  However, it was not for some months until I was able to afford the Kansas property tax on the car, which was assessed in Kansas.

Preston was a resident of Kansas; he was not driving an unregistered vehicle in Missouri.  Thirty days after the sale, he was driving an unregistered vehicle in Kansas and could have been subject to any penalties appropriate there.  

The Holm court set forth two factors which must be present in order to impose Missouri tax on a non-resident who purchases a vehicle in Missouri:

· The non-resident fails to timely title the vehicle in another state; and

· The non-resident drives on the roads of Missouri beyond the time he or she should have titled the vehicle in another state – thus driving an improperly registered vehicle on Missouri roads.
The Director asks us to focus only on the first requirement.  But the language from the Holm case makes it clear that the second requirement is equally important:  “The nonresident who purchases and drives a vehicle in Missouri must register it somewhere[.]”
  The exception set forth in § 301.271 – that would have allowed the Holms to drive on Missouri roads if the vehicle was titled in another state – simply does not apply in Preston’s case.

The rationale for requiring payment of sales tax in Holm is not present in this case.  Preston did not operate an improperly registered vehicle on the public roads and highways of Missouri except during his initial transportation of the car to his home state.  He drove the vehicle to Kansas within the 30 days that he could have properly and timely titled it there.


We find that Preston does not owe the Missouri tax as assessed.

2.  Penalty and Fees

The Director argues that Preston owes a penalty and fees for failure to register his vehicle in Missouri within 30 days of purchase.


As noted above, even after Holm, we find that Preston was not required to title his vehicle in Missouri when (1) he was a resident in another state and actually lived in another state, 
(2) he planned to immediately return to that state and drive and maintain the vehicle there, and (3) he did so and later registered his vehicle in that state.  Because Preston had no affirmative duty to title the vehicle in Missouri, Preston is not liable for the title application fee, processing fee or penalty.  
B.  Sale Took Place in Kansas


It is also possible to argue that the sale of the vehicle took place in Kansas.  Section 144.069 states:

All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof[.]

In past cases, we have limited the application of § 144.069 to the determination of which political subdivision’s local taxes applied.
  But the plain reading of § 144.069 as an isolated statute would, in Preston’s case, mean that the sale was consummated in Kansas because he was a resident of that state.  Thus, even under this approach, no Missouri sales tax would be due on the vehicle and there would be no requirement to register the vehicle here.

Summary


Preston is not liable for Missouri sales tax, title penalty, title application fee, or processing fee.

SO ORDERED on December 12, 2005.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP



Commissioner
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