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DECISION 


Mary K. Porterfield is liable for $570.38 in state sales tax, $135.00 in local sales tax, a title application fee of $8.50, and a processing fee of $2.50 on her purchase of a 2005 Chrysler van.  We waive the title penalty.  

Procedure


On July 1, 2006, Porterfield appealed the Director of Revenue’s (“the Director”) final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, a title penalty, a title application fee, and a processing fee on her purchase of the Chrysler van.  

This Commission convened a hearing on the complaint on November 2, 2006.  Porterfield represented herself.  Senior Counsel James L. Spradlin represented the Director.


The parties elected to file written arguments.  The matter became ready for our decision on January 29, 2007, when Porterfield’s brief was due.

Findings of Fact

1. Porterfield and her husband lived on a farm in Bonnots Mill, Missouri, at the time of Porterfield’s retirement in January 2004.  There is a house on the property.  They have owned the property for approximately 23 years. 
2. When Porterfield retired, she and her husband bought a “fifth wheel” and intended to travel around the United States.  They began traveling in August 2005.  They have spent summers in the north and winters in the south.  They have been in Missouri slightly more than 50 percent of the time.  They enjoy spending holidays such as Christmas and Easter with their children and grandchildren in Missouri.  Porterfield’s son-in-law runs the farm, but does not live in the house.  Porterfield and her husband stay in the house when they are in Missouri.  Her husband sees his doctors in Missouri.  Porterfield and her husband stay with relatives in St. Louis when he receives medical treatments there.  
3. Porterfield obtained a South Dakota driver’s license and surrendered her Missouri driver’s license in August 2005.  She is also registered to vote in South Dakota.  The Porterfields do not have a home in South Dakota, but they spend time there in their fifth wheel. 
4. The Porterfields have mail delivered to addresses in South Dakota and Montana.  They have mail forwarding services in South Dakota and Montana that forward their mail to Missouri when they are here.  However, Porterfield has not been to Montana since 2005.  
5. Porterfield’s husband asked their nephew to find a good, used van for them.  Their nephew found a 2005 Chrysler Town & Country van with low mileage, and Porterfield asked him to hold it for her until she returned to Missouri.  When she returned to Missouri, she purchased the van.  
6. Porterfield titled the van in Montana and paid $353.78 in Montana sales tax on October 24, 2005.  She titled the van in Montana because her insurance company told her to 
register and insure her vehicles in the state where they were primarily garaged, and she intended to primarily garage the vehicle in Montana.  However, after she got the van, she loaned it to her daughter, whose vehicle broke down, and her daughter has been driving it ever since.  The van has never left Missouri.  
7. Porterfield owns another vehicle that is licensed and titled in Missouri because she uses it when she is here. 
8. On May 4, 2006, the Director assessed Porterfield $570.38 in state sales tax and $135 in local sales tax on her purchase of the van, plus a title penalty of $200, a title application fee of $8.50, and a processing fee of $2.50.  The assessment was addressed to Porterfield’s address in Bonnots Mill, and she received it.  
Conclusions of Law


This Commission has jurisdiction over appeals from the Director’s final decisions.  Section 621.050.1.
  Porterfield has the burden to prove that she is not liable for the amount that the Director assessed.  Sections 136.300.1 and 621.050.2.  Our duty in a tax case is not merely to review the Director’s decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer's lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).  We may do whatever the law permits the Director to do.  State Bd. of Regis'n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., W.D. 1974).

I.  Statutory Framework and Court Precedents

Section 301.020.1, RSMo Supp. 2006, provides: 

Every owner of a motor vehicle or trailer, which shall be operated or driven upon the highways of this state, except as herein otherwise expressly provided, shall annually file, by mail or 
otherwise, in the office of the director of revenue, an application for registration on a blank to be furnished by the director of revenue for that purpose[.]

Section 144.020.1 imposes a sales tax upon all sellers for the privilege of engaging in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail in this state.  On most sales transactions, the Director receives sales tax remitted by sellers, who collect the sales tax from the purchasers.
  Section 144.020.1(8) provides that the purchase or use of motor vehicles shall be taxed as provided in §§ 144.070 and 144.440.  Section 144.070.1 imposes on vehicle purchasers the obligation to pay sales tax upon registering the vehicle in Missouri:  
At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . . , 

he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . ., and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law.[
]

(Emphasis added.)   


Section 301.130 sets forth requirements for the vehicle registration and license:  


1.  The director of revenue, upon receipt of a proper application for registration, required fees and any other information which may be required by law, shall issue to the applicant a certificate of registration in such manner and form as the director of revenue may prescribe and a set of license plates, or other evidence of registration, as provided herein. . . .

*   *   * 


7.  No motor vehicle or trailer shall be operated on any highway of this state unless it shall have displayed thereon the 
license plate or set of license plates issued by the director of revenue and authorized by section 301.140. . . .

However, § 301.271 provides an exception for non-residents:  

[A] nonresident owner, owning any motor vehicle which has been duly registered for the current year in the state, District of Columbia, territory or possession of the United States, foreign country or other place of which the owner is a resident, and which at all times when operated in this state has displayed upon it the number plate issued for the vehicle in the place of residence of such owner, may operate or permit the operation of such vehicle within this state without registering such vehicle or paying any such registration fee to this state; but the provisions of this subsection shall be operative to allow such owner to operate or permit the operation of such vehicle owned by a nonresident of this state only to the extent that under the laws of the state, District of Columbia, territory or possession of the United States, foreign country or other place of residence of the nonresident owner, substantially equivalent exemptions are granted to residents of Missouri for the operation of vehicles duly registered in Missouri.

Section 301.190, RSMo Supp. 2006, sets forth requirements for the certificate of ownership:


1.  No certificate of registration of any motor vehicle . . . shall be issued by the director of revenue unless the applicant therefor shall make application for and be granted a certificate of ownership of such motor vehicle or trailer, or shall present satisfactory evidence that such certificate has been previously issued to the applicant for such motor vehicle or trailer. . . .

*   *   *


5.  The fee for each original certificate so issued shall be eight dollars and fifty cents, in addition to the fee for registration of such motor vehicle or trailer.  If application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant, a delinquency penalty fee of twenty-five dollars for the first thirty days of delinquency and twenty-five dollars for each thirty days of delinquency thereafter, not to exceed a total of one hundred dollars before November 1, 2003, and not to exceed a total of two hundred dollars on or after November 1, 2003, shall be 

imposed, but such penalty may be waived by the director for good cause shown. . . .  


In Holm v. Director of Revenue, 148 S.W.3d 313 (Mo. banc 2004), the taxpayers were permanent residents of Maryland, but purchased a vehicle in Missouri while the wife was 
completing an 11-month externship.  Though the taxpayers registered their vehicle and paid tax in Maryland, they were untimely in doing so.  The court held that: 

[t]he nonresident who purchases and drives a vehicle in Missouri must register it somewhere, and having failed to timely do so in Maryland, the Holms cannot avoid the responsibility to register it in this state and pay Missouri state and local sales tax.  

Id. at 315.  In Mackey v. Director of Revenue, 200 S.W.3d 521 (Mo. banc 2006), the court upheld this Commission’s determination that Mackey was not liable for Missouri sales tax on his vehicle purchase in Missouri when he had a home in Wisconsin, had moved half of his belongings there, and had no intention to remain in Missouri.  In Preston v. Director of Revenue, 202 S.W.3d 608 (Mo. banc 2006), the court upheld this Commission’s determination that Preston was not liable for Missouri sales tax on his vehicle purchase in Missouri because he was a Kansas resident who drove the vehicle from the Missouri dealership to his home in Kansas.  Preston had used his father’s address in Missouri for purposes of the title application because, at the time, he was considering moving from one address to another in Kansas.  

The applicable statutes do not provide crystal clarity as to when a person has an obligation to register a vehicle and pay sales tax in this state, and the court precedents are not apposite to this case.  However, because § 301.271 provides an exception for nonresidents, and the court cases address residency, residency is a critical issue.  
II.  Residency

Residence or domicile is defined as: 
The place with which a person has a settled connection for certain legal purposes, either because his home is there, or because that place is assigned to him by law, . . . and also as that place where a man has his true, fixed and permanent home and principal establishment, and to which whenever he is absent he has the intention of returning.[
]

Residency does not require an actual continuous and uninterrupted physical presence.[
]  “[A]n established residence is not lost by temporary absence therefrom, either on business or on pleasure, with no intention to abandon that residence or acquire another.”
  The Missouri Supreme Court has set a standard for changing residency:  

[A] person can have but one domicile, which, when once established, continues until he renounces it and takes up another in its stead. . . .  In order to effectuate a change . . . it is necessary that there shall be actual personal presence in the new place and also the present intention to remain there, either permanently or for an indefinite time, without any fixed or certain purpose to return to the former place of abode. . . .  [T]he original domicil is favored and where the facts are conflicting, the presumption is strongly in favor of an original or former domicil as against an acquired one.  In Hall v. Schoenecke, supra, 31 S.W. at 97, it was said that:  “A temporary absence of a person from his usual residence through a series of years does not necessarily cause a loss of such residence.  Whether a change was effected in one case depends upon the intention with which the removal from the former residence was made.[
]

Missouri is Porterfield’s true, fixed and permanent home and principal establishment, and to which whenever she is absent she has the intention of returning.  Porterfield has a house in Missouri, to which she returns from her travels, and spends more than 50 percent of her time here.  Her relatives are in Missouri, and her husband receives medical treatment in Missouri.    Even though Porterfield may have registered to vote and obtained a driver’s license in South Dakota, those facts alone do not change her residency, considering that she maintains a home in Missouri and returns to Missouri.  Even though Porterfield intended to use the vehicle in her travels, the vehicle in question has never left Missouri and has been used solely in this state.  Porterfield registered the vehicle in Montana, a state to which she has not even returned since 2005.  Porterfield remains a Missouri resident. 
III.  Sales Tax and Fees

Because Porterfield was a Missouri resident, the nonresident exception to registration in Missouri
 does not apply.  Porterfield was obligated to register the vehicle in Missouri.
  She is liable for the state and local sales tax, title application fee, and processing fee.
  Unfortunately, we find no statutory provision allowing a credit for the sales tax that she paid to Montana.  
IV.  Title Penalty

The title penalty may be waived “for good cause shown.”
  Porterfield registered her vehicle in Montana soon after purchasing it.  Even though we have concluded that she is liable for the sales tax in Missouri, her confusion was understandable in regard to the state in which she should license and pay tax on her vehicle.  Therefore, we waive the title penalty.  

Summary


Porterfield is liable for $570.38 in state sales tax, $135.00 in local sales tax, a title application fee of $8.50, and a processing fee of $2.50.  We waive the title penalty.  

SO ORDERED on April 17, 2007.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY 



Commissioner
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