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)
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)

STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION


We deny Nancy Perry’s application for an esthetician license because she lacks the required hours of training.  

Procedure


Perry filed a petition on November 7, 2002, appealing a decision by the State Board of Cosmetology (Board).  On February 10, 2003, we convened a hearing on the petition.  Perry presented her case.  Assistant Attorney General Shannon Hamilton represented the Board.  We left the record open until February 28, 2003, for Perry to file further evidence and argument related to training, but she did not do so.  Our reporter filed the transcript on March 11, 2003.  

Findings of Fact

1. From March 24, 1998, to July 10, 1998, Perry attended the Academy of Hair Design in Las Vegas, Nevada.  She graduated with 600 hours of training, which is all that 

Nevada requires for an esthetician.  Perry scored 93% on the national standard examination for estheticians.  

2. Upon graduation, Perry opened her own skin care business.  She took continuing education, gained experience with advanced techniques, invested in technology, and worked 60-hour weeks building her practice.  

3. On October 24, 2002, Perry filed an “Application for Examination/Temporary Permit as Registered Esthetician” with the Board.  By letter dated October 31, 2002, the Board denied Perry’s application for an esthetician license.  

Conclusions of Law

We have jurisdiction to hear Perry’s petition.  Perry has the burden of proving that the law entitles her to a license.  Section 621.120, RSMo 2000.
  

In deciding Perry’s application,
 we have the same degree of discretion that the Board has; we may do whatever the Board may do.  State Bd. of Regis'n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1974).  However, we must also do whatever the law requires the Board to do.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).  The Board’s answer sets forth the grounds on which we may deny her application.  

Ballew v. Ainsworth, 670 S.W.2d 94, 103 (Mo. App., E.D. 1984).  The Board’s answer alleges a deficiency in Perry’s hours of training.  

Section 329.050.1 provides:

Applicants for examination or licensure pursuant to this chapter shall possess the following qualifications: 

*   *   *

(3) . . . . All students shall complete no less than seven hundred fifty hours or the credit hours [measured by federal standards] for the classification of esthetician. . . ; and

(4) They shall have passed an examination to the satisfaction of the board.  

(Emphasis added.)  Under that statute, to receive a license, Perry must take the examination.
  To take the examination, the Board requires her to show the required training.  

Perry’s Nevada hours are creditable under the Board’s Regulation 4 CSR 90-8.010(4)(A), which provides:

An applicant for the Missouri cosmetology examination, as an apprentice or a student, who has obtained training hours outside Missouri may be given credit for those training hours so long as they were received from a licensed school of cosmetology or licensed apprentice program in the other state.

(Emphasis added.)  

However, Perry has only 600 hours, which is 150 fewer than the Board requires.  Perry cites her years of experience as a practicing esthetician.  This Commission does not doubt the extent of Perry’s experience or disparage the quality of her practice.  However, the Board has set the training required for licensure in this state at 750 hours, which it has the authority to do.  That regulation has the force of law and is binding upon applicants, the Board, and this Commission.  

Missouri Nat’l Educ. Ass’n v. Missouri Bd. of Mediation, 695 S.W.2d 894 (Mo. banc 1985).  The statutes allow no substitution of experience, however meritorious it may be, for the training required.  

Summary


We deny Perry’s application.  


SO ORDERED on March 31, 2003.



________________________________



KAREN A. WINN



Commissioner

�All other statutory references are to the 2002 Supplement to the Revised Statutes of Missouri. 





�The record suggests the reason why Perry applied as a student rather than under the Board’s reciprocity provision.  Regulation 4 CSR 90-7.010(1) provides:





[T]he board shall issue a Missouri . . . license without an examination to a person who holds a current cosmetology license in another state . . . provided the requirements for licensure . . . are substantially equal or superior to those in Missouri at the time of application.





Perry’s Nevada-licensed status is not conclusively established in the record, but even if it were, she would be ineligible for reciprocity because Nevada’s 600-hour “training . . . requirements are [not] substantially equal or superior to those in Missouri[.]”   





�The Board’s expert testified that it has drafted a regulation under which the national examination will satisfy the Missouri requirement.  
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