Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri
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PARTNERSHIP HEALTH CARE SERVICES,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 12-0602 SP



)

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES,
)

MO HEALTHNET DIVISION,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION

We dismiss the complaint of Partnership Health Care Services (“PHCS”) because we lack jurisdiction to hear it.
Procedure

On April 17, 2012, PHCS filed a complaint stating that it was adversely affected by a final decision of the Missouri Department of Social Services, MO HealthNet Division (“the Department”) imposing sanctions against PHCS for Medicaid overpayments resulting from billing errors.  On May 14, 2012, the Department filed a motion to dismiss supported by affidavits asserting that PHCS’s complaint was untimely filed.  Although we gave PHCS until May 30, 2012, to respond to the motion, PHCS did not respond.
A motion to dismiss is granted when we lack jurisdiction.
  We apply our standard for summary decision when ruling on the motion to dismiss because the motion relies upon matters other than the allegations in the complaint and stipulations.
  Under this standard, the Department prevails if it establishes facts entitling it to a favorable decision and those facts are not genuinely disputed by PHCS.
  
Findings of Fact

1. On March 16, 2012, the Department mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, a final decision imposing sanctions in the amount of $8,683.20 against PHCS for Medicaid overpayments resulting from billing errors (the “sanction letter”).
2. The sanction letter contains the following language:
This is a final decision regarding administration of the medical assistance program in Missouri.  Missouri Statute, Section 208.156, RSMo (2000) provides for appeal of this decision.

If you were adversely affected by this decision, you may appeal this decision to the Administrative Hearing Commission.  To appeal, you must file a petition with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days from the date of mailing or delivery of this decision, whichever is earlier; except that claims of less than $500 may be accumulated until such claims total that sum and, at which time, you have 90 days to file the petition.  If any such petition is sent by registered or certified mail, the petition will be deemed filed on the date it is mailed.  If any such petition is sent by any method other than registered or certified mail, it will be deemed filed on the date it is received by the Commission.  Appealing this decision can only be made to the Administrative Hearing Commission and not through MMAC or MHD.
3. PHCS filed a complaint with this Commission by certified mail on April 17, 2012.
4. April 17, 2012 was more than 30 days after March 16, 2012.
Conclusions of Law

We have jurisdiction over appeals of the Department’s final decisions.
  Our jurisdiction, however, has been limited by the General Assembly to only those appeals that are filed within a specified period of time.  Section 208.156.8 provides: 

Any person authorized under section 208.153 to provide services for which benefit payments are authorized under section 208.152 and who is entitled to a hearing as provided for in the preceding sections shall have thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of a decision of the department of social services or its designated division in which to file his petition for review with the administrative hearing commission[.] 

 “The failure to comply with the statutory time limitations for appeal from an administrative agency decision, whether to another administrative body or to a circuit court, results in the lapse of subject matter jurisdiction and the loss of right of appeal.”

The Department has established that it sent the termination letter to PHCS on March 16, 2012.  When a statute provides for the time for appeal to run upon mailing or delivery and the Department uses mailing, the time for appeal begins the date on which the notice was mailed.
  Therefore, PHCS’s appeal was due on April 16, 2012.
  

As a legislative creation, we have only the power granted us by the General Assembly.
  We do not have jurisdiction to hear a petition filed out of time.
  If we have no jurisdiction to hear a petition, we cannot reach the merits of the case and can only exercise our inherent power 
to dismiss the petition.
  Therefore, we must dismiss PHCS’s complaint because the Department has established that the complaint was filed out of time.
Summary

We grant the Department’s motion, cancel the hearing, and dismiss the complaint.  

SO ORDERED on June 5, 2012.


_________________________________


SREENIVASA   RAO   DANDAMUDI


Commissioner

�Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.436(1)(A).


�Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.436(4)(A).


�Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.446(6)(A) and § 536.073.3.  Statutory references are to RSMo 2000 unless otherwise noted.


	�Section 208.156.2.


	�Fayette No. 1, Inc. v. Missouri Dept. of Social Services, 853 S.W.2d 393, 396 (Mo. App., W.D. 1993). 


�Id; R.B. Industries, Inc. v. Goldberg, 601 S.W.2d 5, 6-7 (Mo. banc 1980)(explaining that “where service of an agency’s final decision is by mailing . . . service is complete upon the mailing”). 


�The actual 30 days ended on Sunday, April 15, 2012; however, the next business day was April 16, 2012.  Sections 1.040 and 621.205.2.


�� HYPERLINK "http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?referencepositiontype=S&serialnum=1974132105&referenceposition=161&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&sv=Split&rs=WLW11.07&db=713&tf=-1&findtype=Y&fn=_top&mt=61&vr=2.0&pbc=36B56B1C&tc=-1&ordoc=2021464733" \t "_top" �State Bd. of Regis‘n for the Healing Arts v. Masters, 512 S.W.2d 150, 161 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1974)�.


�Community Fed. Sav. & Loan Assoc., 752 S.W.2d at 799.


	�Oberreiter v. Fullbright Trucking, 24 S.W.3d 727, 729 (Mo. App., E.D. 2000).  
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