WILLIAM E. OZBURN,
)




)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 99-2357 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On July 23, 1999, William E. Ozburn filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state tax, local tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  On September 20, 1999, the Director filed a motion for summary determination of the petition.  Our Regulation 

1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Ozburn does not dispute and (b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  Section 536.073.3, RSMo. Supp. 1998;
 ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).


The Director cites the request for admissions that he served on Ozburn on August 16, 1999.  Under Supreme Court Rule 59.01, the failure to answer a request for admissions establishes the matters in the request conclusively.  The party making the request is entitled to 

rely upon the facts asserted in the request, and no further proof is required.  Killian Constr. Co. v. Tri-City Constr. Co., 693 S.W.2d 819, 827 (Mo. App., W.D. 1985).  Such a deemed admission can establish any fact or any application of law to fact.  Linde v. Kilbourne, 543 S.W.2d 543, 545-46 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1976).  That rule applies to all parties, including those acting pro se.  Research Hosp. v. Williams, 651 S.W.2d 667, 669 (Mo. App., W.D. 1983).  Section 536.073, RSMo Supp. 1998, and our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.420(1) apply that rule to this case.


We gave Ozburn until October 6, 1999, to file a response to the motion.  Ozburn did not respond.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed.

Findings of Fact

1. On June 8, 1999, Ozburn purchased a 1991 Mercury, Vehicle Identification No. 2MECM75F2MX603481.  On that date, Ozburn’s address was 1024 Stone Arch Drive, Independence, Missouri, 64052.

2. Ozburn did not pay tax on that purchase and did not have good cause for failing to pay tax within 30 days of the purchase.  

3. By final decision dated July 9, 1999, the Director assessed against Ozburn $337.79 in state sales tax, $189.88 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Ozburn’s petition.  Section 621.050.1.  We do not review the Director’s decision, but find the facts and make the decision by applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  We must do what the law requires the Director to do.  Id. at 20-21.  However, we have the same degree of discretion as the Director and need not exercise it the same way.  State Bd. of Regis’n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1974).


Ozburn has the burden of proof on the petition.  Section 621.050.2.  As the defending party, the Director shows his right to a favorable decision on Ozburn’s claim by establishing facts that negate any element of that claim.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp., 854 S.W.2d at 381.


The Director argues that Ozburn owes tax under section 144.070.1, RSMo Supp. 1998, which provides:


At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069, RSMo Supp. 1998, sets forth the applicable local tax: 


All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Section 301.190.5, RSMo Supp. 1998, provides a penalty of $25 per 30 days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”


Ozburn’s petition argues that he no longer possesses the car; however, the sales tax applies to his purchase, not to possession.  Section 144.070.  His deemed admissions require us to impose the tax and penalty.  We do not decide whether Ozburn is entitled to a refund of the tax under section 144.071.  That statute requires paying the tax to the Director, returning the 

vehicle and receiving the sale price back within 60 days, and filing a claim for refund with the Director.  No decision of the Director denying such a refund claim is before us.


Therefore, we grant the Director’s motion and enter our decision in the Director’s favor.  We conclude that Ozburn owes $337.79 in state sales tax, $189.88 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.  We cancel the hearing set for November 4, 1999.  


SO ORDERED on October 20, 1999.




________________________________




WILLARD C. REINE




Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1994 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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