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FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW


On April 9, 1999, Ozark Wholesale Beverage Company (Ozark) filed a petition appealing a decision of the Supervisor of Liquor Control.
  The Supervisor’s decision fines Ozark $500 for selling distilled spirits containing alcohol in excess of five percent by weight, (the spirits) to a retailer licensed to sell only five percent beer.  Ozark argues that the retailer could sell the spirits under a Sunday sales license.  On April 17, 2000, we convened a hearing on the petition.  Mark G. Anderson with Brydon, Swearengen & England, represented Ozark.  Assistant Attorney General Marvin O. Teer represented the Supervisor.  The last written argument was due on 

July 20, 2000.  

Findings of Fact

1. Ozark is a Missouri corporation in good standing.  It does business as Paramount Liquor Company of Springfield at 2810 North Lecompte Road, Springfield, Missouri, 65802.  Ozark holds a liquor wholesale solicitor license.  

2. The Supervisor has one license application form for retail sales from Monday through Saturday.  The Supervisor has a separate license application for Sunday sales.  Neither form states what kind of intoxicating liquor the applicant wants to sell.   

3. From October 17, 1997, through October 30, 1998, Opal Fanning did business as Tobacco Hill under licenses that read:

a. “ORIGINAL PACKAGE 5% BEER.”  That license (the Monday-Saturday license) was issued under section 311.200.2, RSMo Supp. 1999.
 

b. “SUNDAY ORIGINAL PACKAGE LIQUOR.”  That license (the Sunday license) was issued under section 311.293.

Fanning prominently displayed those licenses.  During that time, Ozark’s employees sold and delivered intoxicating liquor, including distilled spirits containing alcohol in excess of five percent by weight, (the spirits) to Fanning.  

4. On March 11, 1999, the Supervisor issued her decision fining Ozark $500 for selling intoxicating liquor other than five percent beer to a retailer not duly licensed to buy it.   

5. Fanning is no longer in business.  

Conclusions of Law

We have jurisdiction to hear Ozark’s petition.  Section 621.045.1, RSMo Supp. 1999. The Supervisor has the burden to prove that the licensee has committed an act for which the law provides discipline.  Harrington v. Smarr, 844 S.W.2d 16, 19 (Mo. App., W.D. 1992).  

The Supervisor’s answer sets forth the grounds on which we may find cause to discipline Ozark.  Ballew v. Ainsworth, 670 S.W.2d 94, 103 (Mo. App., E.D. 1984).  The answer cites section 311.660, which provides:  

The supervisor of liquor control shall have the authority to suspend or revoke for cause all such licenses; and to make the following regulations . . . : 

*   *   *

(6) Establish rules and regulations for the conduct of the business carried on by each specific licensee under the license, and such rules and regulations if not obeyed by every licensee shall be grounds for the revocation or suspension of the license;

and section 311.680, RSMo Supp. 1999, which provides:  

1.  Whenever it shall be shown, or whenever the supervisor of liquor control has knowledge, that a person licensed hereunder has not at all times kept an orderly place or house, or has violated any of the provisions of this chapter, the supervisor of liquor control may, [sic] warn, place on probation on such terms and conditions as the supervisor of liquor control deems appropriate for a period not to exceed twelve months, suspend or revoke the license of that person[.] 

2.  Any wholesaler licensed pursuant to this chapter or chapter 312, RSMo, in lieu of, or in addition to, the warning, probation, suspension or revocation authorized in subsection 1 of this section, may be assessed a civil penalty by the supervisor of liquor control of not less than one hundred dollars or more than twenty-five hundred dollars for each violation. 

(Emphasis added.)  The Supervisor’s Regulation 11 CSR 70-2.140(1) provides:

Licensees at all times are responsible for the conduct of their business and at all times are directly responsible for any act or conduct of any employee on the premises which is in violation of the Intoxicating Liquor Laws . . . or the regulations of the supervisor of liquor control.

Under those provisions, the Supervisor assessed a $500 penalty against Ozark.  


We bear in mind that the alcohol industry is unlike other commerce in that it is unlawful except as authorized by statute.  Miligram Food Stores v. Ketchum, 384 S.W.2d 510, 514 

(Mo. 1964).  We read the liquor licensing statutes liberally in favor of the their public protective purpose.  State ex rel. Webster v. Myers, 779 S.W.2d 286, 290 (Mo. App., W.D. 1989).  We defer to the Supervisor’s interpretation of the liquor control laws unless such interpretation is plainly contrary to the language of the statute.  Foremost-McKesson, Inc. v. Davis, 488 S.W.2d 193, 197 (Mo. banc 1972).  

I.  Ozark’s Wholesale License  


The Supervisor’s answer alleges that Ozark violated section 311.180, RSMo Supp. 1999.  That statute sets forth a schedule of licenses and fees for three activities with types of liquor having alcohol content by weight not greater than the following:



Malt 5%
Intoxicating 22%
Intoxicating All Kinds

Manufacturing and


selling to wholesalers
$250
$200
$450


Selling to wholesalers
$
50
$100
$250


Wholesale selling to


retailer and wholesalers
$
100
$200
$500

The statute forbids pursuing those activities without the proper license.  Ozark held a license to sell to and solicit sales from retailers.  The Supervisor does not argue that Ozark’s license was the wrong one for selling the spirits involved in this case.  Therefore, we conclude that Ozark did not violate section 311.180, RSMo Supp. 1999.  

II.  Fanning’s Retail Licenses 


The Supervisor argues that Ozark violated her Regulation 11 CSR 70-2.050(4), which provides:

No wholesaler licensee shall deliver or cause intoxicating liquors, wine or nonintoxicating beer to be delivered to any premises unless there shall be displayed prominently in the premises a license issued by the supervisor of liquor control to the person purchasing the liquor, wine or beer, designating the purchaser as a person, licensed to sell on the premises the kind of liquor or beer [it] is about to deliver.

(Emphasis added.)  The Supervisor argues that Ozark could not deliver the spirits involved to Fanning because Fanning was not licensed to sell the spirits.  


The Supervisor’s application forms for Monday-Saturday licenses and Sunday licenses do not differentiate among types of intoxicating liquor permitted to be sold.  The applications do not even have a space for the applicant to state what type of license the applicant wants.  The language on the face of Fanning’s licenses does not conform to any statute.  Therefore, we must examine the text of the statutes themselves to discern what the Supervisor had licensed Fanning to do.  

A.  Monday-Saturday License

Fanning’s Monday-Saturday license read “ORIGINAL PACKAGE 5% BEER.”  The statutes do not authorize such a license.  A person not familiar with the alcohol industry, and relying on the face of the license, would not even know that the Monday-Saturday license was limited to Monday through Saturday.  Section 311.200, RSMo Supp. 1999, sets forth a schedule of licenses and fees for the following retail activities and types of liquor:


Statute
Type of Liquor
How Sold
Fee


311.200.1
intoxicating
in the original package, not to




be consumed upon the premises




where sold
$
100


311.200.2
malt 5% (and non-
in the original package direct to



intoxicating beer)
consumers but not for resale
$
15


311.200.3
malt and light wines 14%
by the drink for consumption



(and non-intoxicating beer)
on the premises where sold
$
35


311.200.4
intoxicating, all kinds
by the drink for consumption




on premises of licensee, and




in the original package
$
300


311.200.5
intoxicating, all kinds
for consumption in railroad cars
$
100

The statute does not provide a “5% beer” license.  The statutes do not define beer, though the Supervisor’s Regulation 11 CSR 70-2.010(3) defines malt liquor as “any beverage manufactured from pure hops or pure barley malt or wholesome grains or cereals and wholesome yeast and pure water, containing alcohol in excess of three and two-tenths percent (3.2%) by weight and not in excess of five percent (5%) by weight.”

However, section 311.200.2, RSMo Supp. 1999, implies that beer is a type of malt liquor:  “The phrase ‘original package’ shall be construed and held to refer to any package containing three or more standard bottles of beer.”  Other statutes also consider beer to be a type of malt liquor.  See, e.g., sections 311.490 and 311.510.  Further, the parties agree that Fanning’s license is authorized under section 311.200.2, RSMo Supp. 1999’s provision for five percent malt liquor in the original package.  Ozark cited that statute at the hearing (Tr. at 13), while the Supervisor’s inspector described that license as “an original package 5 percent beer license” (Tr. at 11) giving 

Fanning “the right to sell malt beverages up to 5 percent alcoholic content.”
  (Tr. at 11.)  We conclude that Fanning’s Monday-Saturday license is of the type authorized by section 311.200.2, RSMo Supp. 1999.  Such a license, drafted to describe the permitted activities under the statute, would read:  “ORIGINAL PACKAGE MALT LIQUOR (INCLUDING BEER) 5%, AND NONINTOXICATING BEER, MONDAY THROUGH SATURDAY.”  That license does not allow Fanning to sell the spirits in the original package, as the type authorized by section 311.200.1, RSMo Supp. 1999, would.  

B.  Sunday License

Fanning’s Sunday license read:  “SUNDAY ORIGINAL PACKAGE LIQUOR.”  A person not familiar with the alcohol industry, and relying on the face of the license, would not see any restriction on the type of intoxicating liquor Fanning was licensed to sell in the original package on Sunday.  

Ozark cites section 311.293, under which Fanning’s Sunday license was issued.  That statute provides:  

1.  Notwithstanding the provisions of section 311.290 [which bans Sunday sales] or any other law to the contrary, any person possessing the qualifications and meeting the requirements of this chapter, who is licensed to sell intoxicating liquor in the original package at retail under section 311.200, may apply to the supervisor of liquor control for a special license to sell intoxicating liquor in the original package at retail between the hours of 11:00 a.m. and midnight on Sundays.  A licensee under this section shall pay to the director of revenue an additional fee of two hundred dollars a year payable at the same time and in the same manner as its other license fees. 

(Emphasis added.)  Ozark cites the definition of intoxicating liquor at section 311.020:  

The term “intoxicating liquor” as used in this chapter, shall mean and include alcohol for beverage purposes, alcoholic, 

spirituous, vinous, fermented, malt, or other liquors, or combination of liquors, a part of which is spirituous, vinous, or fermented, and all preparations or mixtures for beverage purposes, containing in excess of one-half of one percent by volume except for nonintoxicating beer as defined in section 312.010, RSMo. . . . 

(Emphasis added.)  Ozark argues that because section 311.293 uses the term “intoxicating liquor” without limitation, Fanning’s Sunday license allowed the sale of all kinds of intoxicating liquor on Sunday.    

We disagree.  Intoxicating liquor is a general term encompassing many statutory kinds of liquor, including those having alcohol by weight of five, 14, or 22 percent as set forth at sections 311.180 and 311.200, RSMo Supp. 1999.  For example, section 311.290 provides:  

Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the sale or delivery of any intoxicating liquor during [Sunday] by a wholesaler licensed under the provisions of section 311.180 to a person licensed to sell the intoxicating liquor at retail. 

(Emphasis added.)  “The” is the definite article.  Its use means that the “intoxicating liquor” the wholesaler delivers must be the same “intoxicating liquor” that the retailer can sell.  See Claspill v. Division of Economic Dev., 809 S.W.2d 87, 89 (Mo. App., W.D. 1991).  Therefore, allowing the sale of “ intoxicating liquor” does not mean allowing the sale of “all kinds of intoxicating liquor.”  

Because section 311.293 does not state which types of intoxicating liquor may be sold under it, it is vague and requires us to apply principles of statutory construction.  We therefore examine section 311.293 in the context of the other statutes in Chapter 311, RSMo.  All statutes in a chapter must be read together and harmonized, if possible.  Staley v. Missouri Director of Revenue, 623 S.W.2d 246, 250 (Mo. banc 1981). 

We find section 311.270 persuasive.  It provides strict terms for Fanning’s license:

1.  It shall be unlawful for any person, holding a license for the sale of malt liquor only,
 to possess, consume, store, sell or offer for sale, give away or otherwise dispose of, upon or about the premises mentioned in said license, or, upon or about said premises, to suffer or permit any person to possess, consume, store, sell or offer for sale, give away or otherwise dispose of, any intoxicating liquor of any kind whatsoever other than malt liquor brewed or manufactured by the method, in the manner, and of the ingredients, required by the laws of this state.  Whosoever shall violate any provision of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof by any court of competent jurisdiction shall be punished as in this chapter provided as to misdemeanors.  Upon such conviction becoming final, the license of the person so convicted shall forthwith, and without other or further action, order or proceeding, be deemed to have been revoked, and shall by the licensee be forthwith surrendered to the supervisor and canceled. 

2.  No license for the sale of malt liquor only shall be issued to any person having in his possession or on the premises to be licensed a federal excise or occupational tax stamp or receipt, designating such person or premises as the person or place for dealing in intoxicating liquor other than malt liquors, or evidencing the payment of a tax for being a dealer in liquors other than malt liquors.  If any person having a license for the sale of malt liquors only shall have in his possession or on the licensed premises a federal excise or occupational tax stamp or special tax receipt, designating such person or premises as the person or place for dealing in intoxicating liquors, except malt liquors, or evidencing the payment of a tax for being a dealer in liquor other than malt liquors, the license of such person shall be revoked by the supervisor.  In any prosecution for the violation of this section, evidence that the defendant has in his possession or upon the premises in question a federal excise or occupational tax stamp or special tax receipt, designating such person or premises as the person or place for dealing in intoxicating liquors other than malt liquors, or evidencing the payment of a tax for being a dealer in liquors, other than malt liquors, shall be deemed prima facie evidence of a violation of the provisions of this section. 

3.  Any person holding a license for the sale of malt liquor only, who shall have in his possession or upon the licensed premises a federal excise or occupational tax stamp or receipt, designating such person or premises as the person or place for dealing in intoxicating liquors, except malt liquors, or evidencing the payment of a tax for being a dealer in liquor other than malt liquors, or for a term to expire after the expiration of his permit, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for a term of not less than three months, nor more than one year, or by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars, nor more than one thousand dollars, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

(Emphasis added.)  That statute provides that the license for malt liquor only is mutually exclusive with a license for other intoxicating liquors.  It penalizes the mere possession of documents allowing the sale of other intoxicating liquors.  It requires license revocation by operation of law for violation of its provisions.  It also allows a $1,000 fine and a year in jail for a violation.  Those provisions make it clear that the legislature intends licensees to stay within the narrow confines of their licenses on Monday through Saturday, and we have found nothing to show that it has broadened them on Sunday.  

Further, the statutes that section 311.293 expressly incorporates confirm that conclusion.  Section 311.293 requires a license under section 311.200 before the Sunday license can be issued.  Section 311.290 bans intoxicating liquor sales on Sunday for any such license.  Therefore, the purpose of section 311.293’s reference to section 311.290 is to make an exception to the Sunday sales ban on the section 311.200 license.  Section 311.293 does not change any other provision of section 311.200 or any other restriction on any license issued under that section.  It does no more than lift the licensee’s Sunday sales ban on the kind of intoxicating liquor that the licensee is already licensed to sell on Monday through Saturday.  Such a license, drafted to describe the permitted activities under the statute, would read:  “ORIGINAL PACKAGE 

MALT LIQUOR (INCLUDING BEER) 5%, AND NONINTOXICATING BEER, SUNDAY.”  It does not create another license to sell all kinds of intoxicating liquor, as Ozark contends. 

Our reading of section 311.293 is no different from the way Ozark’s witness reads the similarly-worded tasting license provision at section 311.294, RSMo Supp. 1999:

1.  Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter to the contrary, any person possessing the qualifications and meeting the requirements of this chapter, who is licensed to sell intoxicating liquor in the original package at retail under sections 311.200 and 311.293, may apply to the supervisor of liquor control for a special permit to conduct wine, malt beverage and distilled spirit tastings on the licensed premises.  A licensee under this section shall pay to the director of revenue an additional twenty-five dollars a year payable at the same time and manner as other license fees. 

2.  Nothing in this section shall be construed to permit the licensee to sell wine, malt beverages or distilled spirits for on-premises consumption. 

(Emphasis added.)  Ozark’s witness agreed that a tasting license does not allow consumption of any intoxicating liquor not allowed by the section 311.200, RSMo Supp. 1999, or section 311.293 licenses.  Just as the tasting license does not expand those licenses, Fanning’s Sunday license did not expand her Monday-Saturday license.
  

Summary

We conclude that Fanning’s Sunday license did not authorize her to sell all kinds of intoxicating liquor, in particular the spirits at issue in this case.  Therefore, Ozark violated Regulation 11 CSR 70-2.050(4) by delivering the spirits to Fanning.  We conclude that Ozark is subject to discipline under section 311.680, RSMo Supp. 1999, and section 311.660 for violating 

Regulation 11 CSR 70-2.050(4).  We conclude that Ozark is not subject to discipline under sections 311.180, RSMo Supp. 1999, and 311.660 for violating section 311.180.  


SO ORDERED on August 23, 2000.



________________________________



WILLARD C. REINE



Commissioner

�Ozark also asks for litigation expenses, but such an action is a separate case under our Regulation 1 CSR 15-2.560.


�Statutory references are to the 1994 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.


�That testimony shows that the Supervisor did not intend to restrict the license to beer and prevent the sale of 5% malt liquor.  


�Fanning’s Monday-Saturday original package 5% malt liquor license is the only “malt liquor only” license in the statutes.  


�The Supervisor expresses this concept by calling the section 311.200 license “primary” and the section 311.293.1 license “secondary.”  Those terms do not appear in any statute or regulation, though the term “Primary license” does appear in connection with Sunday licenses on the checklist that the Supervisor provides with the license application form.  (Resp. Ex. A, at 2.)  Nevertheless, the plain language of sections 311.290 and 311.293.1 compels us to read the statutes as we have, and that reading does not constitute an unpublished regulation.  
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