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DECISION


Dusty Owens is subject to discipline because he failed to complete the required 28 hours of continuing education (“CE”) during the July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2008, reporting period and because he represented on his renewal application that he had done so.
Procedure


On September 29, 2009, the Missouri Real Estate Appraisers Commission (“the MREAC”) filed a complaint seeking to discipline Owens.  On November 25, 2009, we served Owens with a copy of the complaint and our notice of complaint/notice of hearing by certified mail.  Owens did not file an answer.  On February 5, 2010, the MREAC filed a motion for summary decision.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.446(5) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the MREAC establishes facts that (a) Owens does not dispute and (b) entitle the MREAC to a favorable decision. 


The MREAC cites the request for admissions that was served on Owens on December 30, 2009.  Owens did not respond to the request.  Under Supreme Court Rule 59.01, the failure to answer a request for admissions establishes the matters asserted in the request, and no further proof is required.
  Such a deemed admission can establish any fact or any application of law to fact.
  That rule applies to all parties, including those acting pro se. 
  Section 536.073
 and our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.420(1) apply that rule to this case.


We gave Owens until February 22, 2010, to respond to the motion, but he did not respond.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed.
Findings of Fact

1. Owens is licensed by the MREAC as a real estate appraiser.  His Missouri license is, and was at all relevant times, current and active.
2. On Owens’ 2008-2010 online renewal application, Owens represented that he had completed the required 28 hours of CE during the July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2008, reporting period (“the reporting period”).
3. The MREAC renewed Owens’ license based on his certification that he had completed the required CE.
4. Owens’ representation that he had completed the continuing education required for renewal was false.  He failed to obtain the required 28 hours of CE for the reporting period.
5. On August 1, 2008, the Board initiated a random audit of renewed licenses for continuing education requirements, and Owens was selected to participate.
6. Owens failed to submit adequate documentation to satisfy the 28 required hours of CE for the reporting period.

7. Owens submitted documentation on November 17, 2009, of 29 hours of CE that was taken on the following dates:  September 10, 2008, September 30, 2008, November 13, 2008, and November 14, 2008.  These dates are not within the reporting period.
Conclusions of Law 


We have jurisdiction to hear this complaint.
  The MREAC has the burden of proving that Owens has committed an act for which the law allows discipline.
  The MREAC argues that there is cause for discipline under § 339.532:

2.  The [MREAC] may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any state-certified real estate appraiser, state-licensed real estate appraiser, or any person who has failed to renew or surrender his or her certificate or license for any one or any combination of the following causes:

(1) Procuring or attempting to procure a certificate or license pursuant to section 339.513 by knowingly making a false statement, submitting false information, refusing to provide complete information in response to a question in an application for certification or licensure, or through any form of fraud or misrepresentation;
(2) Failing to meet the minimum qualifications for certification or licensure or renewal established by sections 339.500 to 339.549;
*   *   *
(10) Violating, assisting or enabling any person to willfully disregard any of the provisions of sections 339.500 to 339.549 or the regulations of the [MREAC] for the administration and enforcement of the provisions of sections 339.500 to 339.549;

*   *   *
(19) Making any material misstatement, misrepresentation, or omission with regard to any application for licensure or certification, or for license or certification renewal.  As used in this section, “material” means important information about which the [MREAC] should be informed and which may influence a licensing decision[.]

Owens admitted facts and that those facts authorize discipline.  But statutes and case law instruct that we must “separately and independently” determine whether such facts constitute cause for discipline.
  Therefore, we independently assess whether the facts admitted allow discipline under the law cited. 

Failing to Complete/Submit CE


Owens admitted that he failed to complete his CE hours for the reporting period.  He also failed to submit them to the MREAC when requested.  The MREAC argues that this conduct violates the following laws.

Regulation 20 CSR 2245-8.040(1) states:

Licensee shall maintain evidence of course participation or course completion certificates for the period set for appraisal file retention.  Such evidence or certificate shall be submitted upon request by the [MREAC].
Regulation 20 CSR 2245-8.010(2) states:

Licensees are required to complete twenty-eight (28) hours of continuing education during the two (2)-year renewal cycle. 
Section 339.525.1 states:

To obtain a renewal certificate or license, a state certified real estate appraiser or state licensed real estate appraiser shall make application and pay the prescribed fee to the [MREAC] not earlier than one hundred twenty days nor later than thirty days prior to the expiration date of the certificate or license then held.  With the application for renewal, the state certified real estate appraiser or state licensed real estate appraiser shall present evidence in the 
form prescribed by the [MREAC] of having completed the continuing education requirements for renewal specified in section 339.530.
Section 339.530.1
 states:

As a perquisite of renewal of certification or licensure, a state-certified real estate appraiser or state-licensed real estate appraiser shall present evidence satisfactory to the [MREAC] of having met the continuing education requirements as provided in this section. The basic continuing education requirements for renewal of certification or licensure shall be the completion by the state-certified real estate appraiser or state-licensed real estate appraiser, during the immediately preceding term of certification or licensure, of continuing education as prescribed by the appraiser qualifications board and approved by the [MREAC].


Owens failed to obtain and submit his CE hours in violation of the statutes and regulations cites above.  There is cause for discipline under § 339.532.2(2) and (10).
Misrepresentation on Renewal Application

On his renewal application, Owens stated that he had completed his CE hours for the reporting period when he had not done so.  Misrepresentation is a falsehood or untruth made with the intent and purpose of deceit.
  The misrepresentation made to the MREAC was material under the statute’s definition.  There is cause for discipline under § 339.532.2(1) and (19).
Summary


There is cause for discipline under § 339.532.2(1), (2), (10), and (19).  We cancel the hearing.


SO ORDERED on March 16, 2010.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP



Commissioner
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