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DECISION


The liquor license of New Haus Properties, Inc. (“New Haus”) is not subject to discipline because the Supervisor of Liquor Control (“the Supervisor”) did not show that New Haus’ employee sold intoxicating liquor to a minor.

Procedure


On February 26, 2004, New Haus filed a petition.  We convened a hearing on the petition on November 29, 2004, and January 14, 2005.  Assistant Attorneys General David F. Barrett and Ted Bruce represented the Supervisor.  New Haus did not appear at the hearing through counsel, but Ernie and Sandie Kremers offered testimony on New Haus’ behalf.  On February 23, 2005, Cheri K. Cobb, attorney at law, entered her appearance for New Haus.  This Commission’s reporter filed the transcript on March 11, 2005.  The case was submitted for decision without briefing. 

Findings of Fact

1. New Haus did business as Team Liquor at 501 East Old Route 66 in Strafford, Greene County, Missouri.  It held a license to sell intoxicating liquor in the original package.  That license is and was at all relevant times current.    

2. On September 5, 2003, New Haus’ employee sold a six pack marked Coors Light beer to Daniel J. Romine.  The employee had just come on duty, was substituting for an employee who did not appear for work, and hurriedly sold the six pack without determining Romine’s age.  Romine was a party to a sting operation run by the Greene County Sheriff’s Department.  He was under the age of 21.    

3. The employee paid a fine of $500.  On December 5, 2003, the Supervisor issued an order assessing a $500 penalty against Hew Haus.  New Haus did not pay the penalty.  On February 4, 2004, the Supervisor rescinded the first order and issued a second order suspending New Haus’ license for unlawful sale or supply to a minor.  

Conclusions of Law

We have jurisdiction to hear New Haus’ petition under § 311.691.
  The Supervisor has the burden to prove that New Haus has committed an act for which the law allows discipline.  Missouri Real Estate Comm'n v. Berger, 764 S.W.2d 706, 711 (Mo. App., E.D. 1989).  The Supervisor’s answer cites § 311.680.1, which provides:

Whenever . . . a person licensed hereunder . . . has violated any of the provisions of this chapter, the supervisor of liquor control may warn, place on probation on such terms and conditions as the supervisor of liquor control deems appropriate for a period not to exceed twelve months, suspend or revoke the license of that person[.]

The Director charges New Haus with the sale of intoxicating liquor to a minor and argues that New Haus violated § 311.310,
 which provides:

Any licensee under this chapter, or his employee, who shall sell, vend, give away or otherwise supply any intoxicating liquor in any quantity whatsoever to any person under the age of twenty-one years . . . shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor[.]

(Emphasis added.)    

The Supervisor cites the sale of a Coors Light six pack by New Haus’ employee to Romine.  The Supervisor also cites § 311.660(6), which allows the Supervisor to:  

Establish rules and regulations for the conduct of the business carried on by each specific licensee under the license, and such rules and regulations if not obeyed by every licensee shall be grounds for the revocation or suspension of the license[.]

The Supervisor’s Regulation 11 CSR 70-2.140(1) provides:

Licensees at all times are responsible for the conduct of their business and at all times are directly responsible for any act or conduct of any employee on the premises which is in violation of [chapter 311, RSMo] or the regulations of the supervisor of liquor control.

(Emphasis added.)  Under that provision, New Haus is liable for its employee’s sale to Romine if the beer was intoxicating liquor.  

Not all beer is intoxicating liquor.  Beer is “intoxicating liquor” only if it contains more than 3.20 percent alcohol by weight.  Section 312.020.  Other types of beer are not intoxicating liquor.  Section 312.010.2 provides:


The phrase "nonintoxicating beer" as used in this chapter shall be construed to refer to and to mean any beer manufactured from pure hops or pure extract of hops, and pure barley malt or other wholesome grains or cereals, and wholesome yeast, and pure water, and free from all harmful substances, preservatives and adulterants, and having an alcoholic content of more than one-half of one percent by volume and not exceeding three and two-tenths percent by weight.

Section 312.020 provides:


1.  Beer having an alcoholic content of not less than one-half of one percent by volume nor exceeding three and two-tenths percent by weight, is hereby declared to be "nonintoxicating beer", and may be lawfully manufactured and sold, or sold, in this state by any holder of a permit issued by the supervisor of liquor control of this state, authorizing such manufacture and sale, or sale, and may be lawfully transported, sold and consumed, in this state, and may be lawfully shipped into, or out of, this state subject to such inspection fees, and/or taxes, and under such regulations as may be provided by law. 


2.  All beverages having an alcoholic content of less than one-half of one percent by volume shall be exempt from the provisions of this chapter but subject to inspection as provided by sections 196.365 to 196.445, RSMo. 

When a percentage of alcohol is an element of the violation alleged, the Supervisor must prove that element.  State v. Patton, 336 S.W.2d 726, 728 (Mo. App., Spr. 1960).  The Supervisor failed to do so.  

As a matter of law, evidence that the beverage was “beer” does not prove its alcohol content.  State v. Patton, 297 S.W.2d 19, 20-21 (Mo. App., Spr. 1956), rev’d on other grounds, 308 S.W.2d 641 (Mo. 1958).  Similarly, Kremer’s testimony that the beverage was “liquor” does not establish its alcohol content.  Kremer did not testify as to the alcohol content of such 

“liquor.”  Also, he had no first-hand knowledge of the incident.  He testified that all he knew about the matter was what the Supervisor’s employees told him.  

At the hearing, the Supervisor argued that he had proved the alcohol content from the container’s label under § 311.325, RSMo Supp. 2004, which provides:


1.  Any person under the age of twenty-one years, who purchases or attempts to purchase, or has in his possession, any intoxicating liquor as defined in section 311.020 is guilty of a misdemeanor.  For purposes of prosecution under this section or any other provision of this chapter involving an alleged illegal sale or transfer of intoxicating liquor to a person under twenty-one years of age, a manufacturer-sealed container describing that there is intoxicating liquor therein need not be opened or the contents therein tested to verify that there is intoxicating liquor in such container.  The alleged violator may allege that there was not intoxicating liquor in such container, but the burden of proof of such allegation is on such person, as it shall be presumed that such a sealed container describing that there is intoxicating liquor therein contains intoxicating liquor. 


2.  For purposes of determining violations of any provision of this chapter, or of any rule or regulation of the supervisor of alcohol and tobacco control, a manufacturer-sealed container describing that there is intoxicating liquor therein need not be opened or the contents therein tested to verify that there is intoxicating liquor in such container.  The alleged violator may allege that there was not intoxicating liquor in such container, but the burden of proof of such allegation is on such person, as it shall be presumed that such a sealed container describing that there is intoxicating liquor therein contains intoxicating liquor. 

(Emphasis added.)  Those provisions codify case law stating that a manufacturer’s label is “sufficiently reliable and trustworthy on its face to be considered an exception to the hearsay rule” as to their alcohol content.  Moore v. Director of Revenue, 811 S.W.2d 848, 852 (Mo. App., S.D. 1991).  

At the hearing, the following exchange occurred:


Q
And I'll show you what’s been marked as Respondent's Exhibit 1 and ask if you can identify that.  


A
Yes.  This is one of the bottles from the buy.  Our property custodian destroys the other five, and we log one in the property for evidence for court purposes.


Q
And you’re able to determine that is in fact one of the bottles that was purchased at Team Liquors?


A
Yes, sir.  By doing so, it’s our Greene County case number, 03-12038, on September 5, 2003.  And it says the suspect and the victim, which would be State of Missouri.


Q
The beer, Exhibit 1, remained unopened?


A
Yes, sir.


Q
And when Mr. Romine exited with the six-pack of beer, was Exhibit 1 commercially labeled as a beer?


A
Yes, sir.


Q
Indicating the alcohol content of it?


A
Yes, sir.


Q
Are you able to see that?  You can probably take it out of the wrapper at this point, if you need to.  


A
I think I can -- it should be marked here.  I’m sure it is.  I might be overlooking it, but I don't see the content.


Q
We'll find it.  


A
Okay.  I apologize about that.


Q
That’s all right. . . .
(Tr. Vol. II, at 11-12.)  The Supervisor elicited no evidence within § 311.325.  He did not show that the label described the content as intoxicating liquor or had any other description than “beer.”  Therefore, because we cannot determine whether the beer was intoxicating or non-

intoxicating, the Supervisor has not carried his burden of proof to show that New Haus’ employee sold intoxicating liquor to a minor.  This is consistent with our decisions in Kathy’s LLC v. Supervisor of Liquor Control, No 01-0629 LC (March 11, 2002) and Creepy Crawl, Inc. v. Supervisor of Liquor Control, No. 01-1463 LC (July 16, 2002).   

Summary


New Haus’ license is not subject to discipline.  


SO ORDERED on April 18, 2005.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri unless otherwise noted.


	�The Supervisor also cites § 311.660(6), which allows the Supervisor to:  


Establish rules and regulations for the conduct of the business carried on by each specific licensee under the license, and such rules and regulations if not obeyed by every licensee shall be grounds for the revocation or suspension of the license;





and his Regulation 11 CSR 70-2.140(13), which provides:


No licensee shall permit anyone under the age of twenty-one (21) years of age to consume intoxicating liquor or three and two-tenths percent (3.2%) nonintoxicating beer upon or about his/her licensed premises.





(Emphasis added.)  However, the answer does not allege (and the Supervisor did not show) that anyone consumed anything on the licensed premises.  In fact, the Director’s witness accounted for all six bottles of beer that were sold, none of which were consumed by Romine.  (Tr. Vol. II, at 11.)
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