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)




)



Respondents.
)

DECISION 


New Hampshire Insurance Company (“New Hampshire”) is not entitled to a refund of insurance premium tax for 2004 because it did not timely file the refund claim.  
Procedure


New Hampshire filed a complaint on July 17, 2007, challenging the Director of Revenue’s decision denying its claim for a refund of 2004 insurance premium tax.  

On August 1, 2007, the Director of Revenue filed a motion to join the Director of the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions & Professional Registration (“Director of Insurance”) as a party.  We granted the motion on August 28, 2007. 

On October 31, 2007, Respondents filed a motion for summary determination, asserting that New Hampshire did not timely file its refund claim.  New Hampshire filed a response and a 
cross-motion for summary determination on November 21, 2007.  Respondents filed a reply on December 11, 2007.  New Hampshire filed a reply on December 26, 2007.  

On January 3, 2008, New Hampshire filed a request for oral argument.  We deny the request for oral argument.


Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(B)3.A provides:

The commission may grant a motion for summary determination if any party establishes facts that entitle any party to a favorable decision on all or any part of the complaint, and no party raises a genuine issue as to such facts.
Findings of Fact

1. New Hampshire is an insurance company doing business in the state of Missouri, which pays insurance premium tax to the Missouri Department of Revenue.

2. New Hampshire paid premium tax to the State of Missouri for the 2004 tax year.  The last payment for the 2004 tax year, which was postmarked November 23, 2004, was received by the Department of Revenue on November 29, 2004.  
3. The Department of Revenue issued a “Notice of Assessment 2004/2005 Estimated Insurance Tax(es)” as follows:  


2004 Tax 
$53,408

Prepayments of Tax Received
$99,060

2004 Overpayment 
$45,652

Quarterly Estimate for 6-1 
$13,352

SUBTOTAL   
-$32,300
The form states:  

SEND THIS FORM AND CHECK TO 
Missouri Department of Revenue 
ON OR BEFORE JUNE 1, 2005

The form also states:  “Tax payments are due June 1, 2005.”  The form also states:  

Do NOT revise tax amounts but file a claim for refund if you feel you have been over-assessed.  Claims for refund may be filed in accordance with Section 136.035 RSMo.  

4. AIG (evidently the parent company of New Hampshire) sent a letter to the Director stating:  
Re:  Estimated Premium Tax-2nd Quarter 2005
Gentlemen:
Enclosed please find the above captioned tax along with our checks representing full payment for the following companies:  
*   *   *

New Hampshire Insurance Company        $0

The Director received the letter and payment for other companies on June 2, 2005.  

5. New Hampshire filed a claim for a refund of $53,408 for the 2004 tax year.  The claim for refund was postmarked June 1, 2007 and received by the Department of Revenue on June 4, 2007.  
6. On June 18, 2007, the Director of Revenue issued a final decision denying the refund claim.  

Conclusions of Law


This Commission has jurisdiction over appeals from the Director’s final decisions.
  New Hampshire has the burden to prove that it is entitled to a refund.
  Our duty in a tax case is not merely to review the Director’s decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer's lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.
  

I.  Final Payment
Section 148.340 imposes a premium tax on insurance companies that are not organized under the laws of this state but do business in this state.  Section 148.350.2
 provides:  

Beginning January 1, 1983, the amount of the tax due for that calendar year and each succeeding calendar year thereafter shall be paid in four approximately equal estimated quarterly installments and a fifth reconciling installment.  The first four installments shall be based upon the tax assessed for the immediately preceding taxable year ending on the thirty-first day of December, next preceding.  The quarterly installment shall be made on the first day of March, the first day of June, the first day of September, and the first day of December.  Immediately after receiving from the director of the department of insurance, certification of the amount of tax due from the various companies, the director of revenue shall notify and assess each company the amount of taxes on its premiums for the calendar year ending on the thirty-first day of December, next preceding.  The director of revenue shall also notify and assess each company the amount of the estimated quarterly installments to be made for the calendar year.  If the amount of the actual tax due for any year exceeds the total of the installments made for such year, the balance of the tax due shall be paid on the first day of June of the following year, together with the regular quarterly installment due at that time.  If the total amount of the tax actually due is less than the total amount of the installments actually paid, the amount by which the amount paid exceeds the amount due shall be credited against the tax for the following year and deducted from the quarterly installment otherwise due on the first day of June.  If the March first quarterly installment made by a company is less than the amount assessed by the director of revenue, the difference will be due on June first, but no interest will accrue to the state on the difference unless the amount paid by the company is less than eighty percent of one-fourth of the total amount of tax assessed by the director of revenue for the immediately preceding taxable year. . . .

Respondents’ motion asserts that the last payment for the 2004 tax year was received by the Department of Revenue on November 29, 2004.  This assertion is supported by Respondents’ affidavit.  New Hampshire’s response admits that the fourth estimated payment for 2004 was 
received by the Department of Revenue on November 29, 2004, but denies that this estimated payment was the last tax payment for the 2004 tax year.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(B)3 provides: 


B.  A party may establish a fact, or raise a genuine issue as to any fact, by stipulation, pleading of the adverse party, discovery response of the adverse party, affidavit, or other evidence admissible under the law. 

C.  Except in response to a motion that relies solely on the pleadings, a party shall not rely solely on its own pleading to establish a fact, or to raise a genuine issue as to any fact.  


New Hampshire denies that the last payment of tax for the 2004 tax year was received by the Department of Revenue on November 29, 2004, but it offers no affidavit or other evidence to counter Respondents’ affidavit.  We have found as facts that the last payment for the 2004 tax year was received on November 29, 2004, and that the Director of Revenue issued a Notice of Assessment reflecting an overpayment and no tax due.  


New Hampshire argues that the payments made throughout 2004 were estimated payments and that the payment of 2004 premium tax did not become final until the final payment due on June 1, 2005.  New Hampshire asserts that the Department of Revenue received a payment for the second quarter of 2005 on June 2, 2005.  New Hampshire argues that “This Estimated Premium Tax payment is the statutorily required fifth payment under Section 148.350.2.”  New Hampshire’s argument is not in accord with evidence, which shows that New Hampshire did not send any estimated payment for second quarter 2005, although the Director received payments for affiliated companies on June 2, 2005.  Instead, New Hampshire was given credit from its overpayment for 2004 to pay the quarterly estimate for second quarter 2005.  

In State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., et al. v. Director of Revenue, No. 00-1598 RV (Mo. Admin. Hearing Comm’n Apr. 24, 2002), the taxpayer presented the same argument as 
New Hampshire:  that because the final tax was not determined until June 1 of the year following the tax year, the tax cannot be regarded as having been paid prior to that date.  We rejected that argument and distinguished 26 U.S.C. § 6513(b)(2), which provides that “[a]ny amount paid as estimated income tax for any taxable year shall be deemed to have been paid on the last day prescribed for filing the return . . . for such taxable year (emphasis added).”  Finding no comparable statutory provision that applies to the Missouri insurance premium tax, we concluded that the taxpayer made each payment on the date that the Director of Revenue received it, not on the date when the fifth reconciling payment was made.  Similarly, in this case, the last payment for the 2004 tax year was made on November 29, 2004, when the Director of Revenue received it.    

II.  Statute of Limitations on Filing Premium Tax Refund Claim 

We find no statute of limitations for refund claims that is specific to the insurance premium tax.  New Hampshire cites § 148.076.1, which provides: 

A claim for credit or refund of an overpayment of any tax imposed by sections 148.010 to 148.110 shall be filed by the taxpayer within three years from the time the return was filed or two years from the time the tax was paid, whichever of such periods expires the later; or if no return was filed by the taxpayer, within two years from the time the tax was paid. 

The “tax imposed by sections 148.010 to 148.110” is a tax on banking institutions.  Section 148.010 provides that “Sections 148.010 to 148.110 may be designated as the ‘Bank Tax Law of 1946.’”  New Hampshire argues that this provision is in the same chapter of the statutes as the premium tax and is related to financial entities, which is “the same general field and area of taxation.”  We cannot accept this argument, as § 148.076 by its terms is plainly applicable only to the bank tax.  We cannot insert words in a statute to expand it beyond what the legislature intended.
    

When there is no refund statute for a specific tax, the general refund statute – § 136.035, RSMo Supp. 2007 – applies.
  Section 136.035 provides: 


1.  The director of revenue from funds appropriated shall refund any overpayment or erroneous payment of any tax which the state is authorized to collect. . . . 

3.  No refund shall be made by the director of revenue unless a claim for refund has been filed with him within two years from the date of payment.  Every claim must be in writing and signed by the applicant, and must state the specific grounds upon which the claim is founded.  


The date of the last payment was November 29, 2004.  A document is filed when the proper official receives it.
  New Hampshire did not file a refund claim until June 4, 2007, which was more than two years after the last payment of tax. 
  Even if we could regard the postmark date of June 1, 2007, as the filing date of the refund claim, the claim was untimely.  

Summary


We grant Respondents’ motion for summary determination and deny New Hampshire’s cross-motion for summary determination because New Hampshire’s claim for a refund of 2004 insurance premium tax was not timely filed.  We cancel the hearing.

SO ORDERED on January 16, 2008.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP  



Commissioner
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