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)


vs.

)
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)
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)

MO HEALTHNET DIVISION,
)




)
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)

DECISION

We dismiss Tammy S. Murphy’s complaint because we lack jurisdiction to hear it.
Procedure

On July 6, 2012, Murphy filed a complaint stating that she was adversely affected by a final decision of the Missouri Department of Social Services, MO HealthNet Division (“the Department”) to impose sanctions against Murphy for Medicaid overpayments resulting from billing errors.  On August 9, 2012, the Department filed a motion to dismiss, with suggestions in support and affidavits asserting that Murphy’s complaint was untimely filed.  Murphy responded to the motion to dismiss on August 28, 2012.
A motion to dismiss is granted when we lack jurisdiction.
  We apply our standard for summary decision when ruling on this motion to dismiss because the motion relies upon matters 
other than the allegations in the complaint and stipulations.
  Under this standard, the Department prevails if it establishes facts entitling it to a favorable decision and those facts are not genuinely disputed by Murphy.
  
Findings of Fact

1. On June 5, 2012, the Department mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, a final decision imposing sanctions in the amount of $10,835.00 against Murphy for Medicaid overpayments resulting from billing errors (the “June 2012 sanction letter”).  The letter was addressed to Murphy at Berthelot Counseling, 212 S. Walnut Street, Dexter, Missouri, 63841, and was mailed from the Department’s office in Jefferson City, Missouri.
2. The June 2012 sanction letter contains the following language:
The overpayment and prepayment review decisions are final decisions regarding administration of the medical assistance program in Missouri. Missouri Statute, Section 208.156, RSMo (2000) provides for appeal of this decision.

If you were adversely affected by this decision, you may appeal this decision to the Administrative Hearing Commission. To appeal, you must file a petition with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days from the date of mailing or delivery of this decision, whichever is earlier; except that claims of less than $500 may be accumulated until such claims total that sum and, at which time, you have 90 days to file the petition. If any such petition is sent by registered or certified mail, the petition will be deemed filed on the date it is mailed.  If any such petition is sent by any method other than registered or certified mail, it will be deemed filed on the date it is received by the Commission. Appealing this decision can only be made to the Administrative Hearing Commission and not through MMAC or MHD.
3. Dexter, Missouri, is over 200 miles away from Jefferson City, Missouri.

4. Murphy received the June 2012 sanction letter on a date after June 5, 2012.

5. On July 6, 2012, Murphy filed her complaint with this Commission.  This was 31 days after June 5, 2012.

Conclusions of Law
We have jurisdiction over appeals of the Department’s final decisions.
  Our jurisdiction, however, has been limited by the General Assembly to only those appeals that are filed within a specified period of time.  Section 208.156.8 provides: 

Any person authorized under section 208.153 to provide services for which benefit payments are authorized under section 208.152 and who is entitled to a hearing as provided for in the preceding sections shall have thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of a decision of the department of social services or its designated division in which to file his petition for review with the administrative hearing commission[.] 

The failure to comply with the statutory time limitations for appeal from an administrative agency decision, whether to another administrative body or to a circuit court, results in the lapse of subject matter jurisdiction and the loss of right of appeal.

The Department has established the June 2012 sanction letter was sent to Murphy on 
June 5, 2012.  While Murphy’s response to the Department’s motion to dismiss alleges that Murphy received the June 2012 sanction letter on June 8, 2012 at 11:17 am, there is no admissible evidence supporting this assertion.  As we state above, just as we apply our standard for summary decision to the Department’s motion because it relies on matters outside the pleadings, so too do we apply such a standard to Murphy’s response because it also relies on a matter outside the pleadings.  But unlike the Department, Murphy failed to submit an affidavit or other admissible evidence in support of her assertion of when she received the letter.  
However, we have found, as fact, that Murphy received this letter on a date after June 5, 2012, given that Dexter, Missouri – the town where the letter was addressed to and delivered – is more than 200 miles away from the Department’s office in Jefferson City.  Therefore, we agree with Murphy that she received the letter no earlier than 30 days from the date she filed her complaint in this cause because we find it impossible that the Post Office delivered the certified letter to Murphy on the day the Department sent it.
That leaves the issue of when the 30-day period of § 208.156.8 began to run – on the date the Department mailed the decision, or on the date the decision was delivered to Murphy.  We recognize that, in this Commission’s prior decisions, we have consistently held that the 30-day period for filing a complaint under § 208.156.8 begins to run on the date of mailing.
  But this Commission’s previous decisions do not have precedential authority,
 so we take a fresh look at the issue.
Section 208.156.8 simply says that a provider “…shall have thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of a decision of the department of social services…in which to file his petition for review.”  “Mailing” means that the letter was put in an envelope with sufficient postage with the correct address of the addressee and was placed in the mail.
  In this case, the Department mailed the letter to Murphy on June 5, 2012.  “Delivery” means the act of transferring something; the giving or yielding of possession or control of something to another.
  In this case, the June 2012 sanction letter was delivered to Murphy on a date after June 5, 2012.  When Murphy filed her complaint in this case, she filed it 31 days after the June 2012 sanction letter was mailed, and 30 days or less after it was delivered.  Therefore, if the date of mailing is the date on which the 
30-day period of § 208.156.8 begins to run, Murphy filed her complaint too late, and we have no jurisdiction; but if the date of delivery starts the 30-day period, she timely filed the complaint, and we have jurisdiction.
The primary rule of statutory construction is to ascertain the intent of the legislature from the language used, to give effect to that intent if possible, and to consider words in the statute in their plain and ordinary meaning.
  Unfortunately, in this case, the language used in § 208.156.8 —“thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of a decision of the department of social services”—fails to show the legislature’s intent, and its plain and ordinary meaning is subject to two competing interpretations.
In the prior cases referred to above, this Commission has cited R.B. Industries, Inc. v. Goldberg for the rule that where an agency’s final decision is served by mail, service is complete upon the mailing.
  However, the applicable sentence from R.B. Industries reads in its entirety:  
We believe that where service of an agency's final decision is by mailing it (Rule 100.04(a); § 536.110.1), service is complete upon the mailing (Rule 43.01(c)); and that proceedings for review may not be instituted by filing a petition in the circuit court 33 days after the date of mailing. (Rule 44.01(e)).
This quotation shows that the Supreme Court based its decision on its interpretation of a statute and three of its rules, none of which apply to actions before this Commission.  Section 536.110
 pertains to seeking a review of a final decision in a contested case in circuit court; Rule 43.01 pertains to service of pleadings and other papers in circuit court; Rule 44.01 pertains to computation of time in circuit court; and Rule 100.04 was repealed by the Supreme Court by order dated June 24, 1982, and no rule was promulgated in its place.  Clearly, then, R.B. Industries applies to appeals of an agency’s final decision to circuit court.
Also, in prior cases applying § 208.156.8 to motions to dismiss for lack of jurisdiction, this Commission has also cited Fayette No. 1, Inc. v. Missouri Dept. of Social Servs.
  Unlike R.B. Industries, Fayette No. 1 was an appeal from a decision of this Commission, and furthermore, it concerned a decision of the Department to recover Medicaid overpayments under § 208.156.  While the Court of Appeals did not discuss or analyze the issue at any length, it held that under § 208.156.8, Fayette No. 1 had 30 days from the date of the letter in which to file its appeal.
  The Fayette No. 1 opinion did not identify the date of mailing and made no attempt to show how the date of the letter could be construed as the date of mailing the letter.

Not only is R.B. Industries distinguishable on its facts and Fayette No. 1 distinguishable on its holding, we also note that the legislature has not hesitated to add the language “whichever is earlier” to other situations within our jurisdiction, where notice had to be mailed or delivered within a certain time.

However, § 621.055.3,
 which also governs appeals to this Commission for actions taken by the Department pursuant to § 208.156, requires the Department to include, in any decision subject to appeal to this Commission, the following language:
If you were adversely affected by this decision, you may appeal this decision to the administrative hearing commission. To appeal, you must file a petition with the administrative hearing commission within thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of this decision, whichever is earlier; except that claims of less than five hundred dollars may be accumulated until such claims total that sum and, at which time, you have ninety days to file the petition. If any such petition is sent by registered mail or certified mail, the petition will be deemed filed on the date it is mailed. If any such petition is sent by any method other than registered mail 
or certified mail, it will be deemed filed on the date it is received by the commission.
(Emphasis added.)  While § 208.156.8 is ambiguous on the subject, § 621.055.3 is not—it requires the Department to inform the provider that any petition appealing the Department’s final decision must be filed within 30 days of mailing or delivery of that decision, whichever is earlier.

In construing any statute, we are to consider the statute “in the context of the entire statutory scheme on the same subject to avoid unjust, unreasonable, or absurd results.”
  Sections 208.156.8 and 621.055.3 are part of a statutory scheme governing review of decisions by the Department to recover Medicaid benefit payments.  We think it would be unreasonable and absurd for the legislature to enact a statute requiring the Department to warn a provider of a deadline that the legislature did not mean to impose.  


Murphy cites § 621.055.3, pointing out that, unlike § 208.156.8, it has the “whichever is earlier” language.  But her argument entirely misses the most relevant feature of the statute—it contains the mandatory language the Department must include in any decision of the Department such as the one at issue here.  Thus, the fact that it contains the “whichever is earlier” language supports the Department’s position, not hers.  Also, Murphy’s citation of Evergreen Lawn Service, Inc. v. Director of Revenue
 is inapplicable to this case.  In Evergreen, the 30th day after the Director of Revenue sent her decision to the taxpayer fell on a Saturday.  The taxpayer’s courier tried to file the petition with the Commission on that day, but the Commission’s offices were closed.  The Supreme Court held that the filing of the petition on the next business day constituted timely filing.
  Furthermore, the Supreme Court’s holding has since been 
incorporated into our regulations.
  The text from Evergreen quoted by Murphy—“A fair construction of the statute mandates that the taxpayer be given the full thirty days in which to affect his appeal”—does her no good.  The issue is not whether Murphy is entitled to a full 30-day period, but when that period starts to run.

As a legislative creation, we have only the power granted us by the General Assembly.
  We do not have jurisdiction to hear a petition filed out of time.
  If we have no jurisdiction to hear a petition, we cannot reach the merits of the case and can only exercise our inherent power to dismiss the petition.
  Therefore, we must dismiss Murphy’s complaint because the complaint was filed out of time.
Summary

We grant the Department’s motion and dismiss the complaint.  

SO ORDERED on September 10, 2012.


_________________________________


SREENIVASA   RAO   DANDAMUDI


Commissioner
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