Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

JEAN N. MOORE, M.D.,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 01-1925 SP




)

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES,
)

DIVISION OF MEDICAL SERVICES,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On December 7, 2001, Jean N. Moore, M.D., filed a complaint appealing the decision of the Department of Social Services, Division of Medical Services (Department), that she had been overpaid $2,828.98 in Missouri Medicaid payments.  


On January 9, 2002, the Department filed a motion for summary determination and requested that we dismiss the complaint.  The Department argues that Moore did not file her complaint within 30 days of the Department’s final decision.  Our Regulations 1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) and 1 CSR 15-3.430(5) provide that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Department establishes facts that (a) Moore does not dispute and (b) entitle the Department to a favorable decision.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).


We gave Moore until January 31, 2002, to file a response to the motion, but she did not respond.  The following facts are not disputed.

Findings of Fact

1. By letter issued by certified mail on July 27, 2001, the Department informed Moore that due to incorrect billing procedures, she had been overpaid by the Missouri Medicaid program in the amount of $2,828.98 for the period January 1, 2000, through October 1, 2000.  The letter stated that it was the Department’s final decision, which was appealable under section 208.156.
 

2. On December 7, 2001, this Commission received Moore’s complaint appealing the Department’s decision for the period January 1, 2000, through October 1, 2000.  The complaint was not sent by registered mail or certified mail. 

3. December 7, 2001, is more than 30 days past July 27, 2001. 

Conclusions of Law


This Commission has no jurisdiction to determine claims filed outside the statutory time limit.  See Community Federal Savings & Loan Association v. Director of Revenue, 752 S.W.2d 794, 799 (Mo. banc 1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 893 (1988).  Pursuant to section 208.156.8, an appeal from the Department’s decision must be filed within 30 days of the date the decision is mailed.  Section 208.156.8 provides in relevant part:

Any person authorized under section 208.153 to provide services for which [Medicaid] benefit payments are authorized under section 208.152 and who is entitled to a hearing as provided for in the preceding sections shall have thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of a decision of the department of social services or its designated division in which to file his petition for review with the administrative hearing commission[.]  

(Emphasis added.)  Pursuant to section 208.156.8, the Department may provide notice by either the mailing or delivery of its decision.  If the Department uses mail, the time for appeal starts on the date of mailing, not on the date of delivery.  See R.B. Industries, Inc. v. Goldberg, 601 S.W.2d 5, 7 (Mo. banc 1980).  


On July 27, 2001, the Department mailed its final decision that Moore had been overpaid by the Missouri Medicaid program in the amount of $2,828.98 for the period January 1, 2000, through October 1, 2000.  A document is “filed” with this Commission on the day it is received unless it is sent by registered mail or certified mail.  1 CSR 15-3.290(1).  Moore filed her appeal with this Commission on December 7, 2001.  The appeal was filed more than 30 days after the Department’s decision was mailed.     


Section 621.055.3, RSMo Supp. 2001, provides that the Department’s decision that is subject to appeal at this Commission “shall contain a notice of the right to appeal in substantially the following language:”

If you were adversely affected by this decision, you may appeal this decision to the administrative hearing commission.  To appeal, you must file a petition with the administrative hearing commission within thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of this decision, whichever is earlier; except that claims of less than five hundred dollars may be accumulated until such claims total that sum and, at which time, you have ninety days to file the petition.  If any such petition is sent by registered mail or certified mail, the petition will be deemed filed on the date it is mailed.  If any such petition is sent by any method other than registered mail or certified mail, it will be deemed filed on the date it is received by the commission.


The notice requirement of section 621.055.3, RSMo Supp. 2001, went into effect on August 28, 2001.  H.R. 693, 91st Gen. Assem., 1st Reg. Sess. (2001 Mo. Laws 739); Mo. Const. art. III, section 29.  Laws apply prospectively unless the legislative intent that they be given retroactive operation appears clearly from the express language of the act or by necessary 

implication.  Department of Soc. Servs. v. Villa Capri Homes, 684 S.W.2d 327, 332 

(Mo. banc 1985).  Section 621.055.3, RSMo Supp 2001, does not show a clear legislative intent to apply retroactively.  Therefore, that notice requirement does not apply retroactively to the Department’s decision, which was issued prior to the effective date of the statute.  The Department’s decision of July 27, 2001, was not required to contain the notice language set forth in section 621.055.3, RSMo Supp. 2001.  


The Department’s notice was adequate under the law that existed when the decision was issued.  We have no jurisdiction to hear the untimely appeal of the decision dated July 27, 2001.  Therefore, we grant the Department’s motion and dismiss the complaint.  


We cancel the hearing.


SO ORDERED on February 13, 2002.



________________________________



WILLARD C. REINE



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise indicated.
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