Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

RICK MCCABE,

)




)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No.99-1912 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On June 24, 1999, Rick McCabe filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state tax, local tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  On October 12, 1999, the Director filed a motion for summary determination of the petition.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) McCabe does not dispute and (b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  Section 536.073.3, RSMo. Supp. 1998;
 ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).


The Director cites the request for admissions that he served on McCabe on September 9, 1999.  Under Supreme Court Rule 59.01, the failure to answer a request for admissions establishes the matters in the request conclusively.  The party making the request is entitled to 

rely upon the facts asserted in the request, and no further proof is required.  Killian Constr. Co. v. Tri-City Constr. Co., 693 S.W.2d 819, 827 (Mo. App., W.D. 1985).  Such a deemed admission can establish any fact or any application of law to fact.  Linde v. Kilbourne, 543 S.W.2d 543, 545-46 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1976).  That rule applies to all parties, including those acting pro se.  Research Hosp. v. Williams, 651 S.W.2d 667, 669 (Mo. App., W.D. 1983).  Section 536.073, RSMo Supp. 1998, and our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.420(1) apply that rule to this case.


We gave McCabe until November 3, 1999, to file a response to the motion, but he did not respond.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed.

Findings of Fact

1. McCabe purchased a 1998 Ford, Vehicle Identification No. 1FAFP52U8WG142704.  On that date, McCabe’s address was 9853 N. Cherry Street, Kansas City, Missouri, 64155.

2. McCabe has not paid tax on that purchase, and did not have good cause for failing to pay tax within 30 days of the purchase.  

3. By assessment dated June 10, 1999, the Director assessed against McCabe $779.77 in state tax, $438.33 in local tax, and a $100 title penalty.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear McCabe’s petition.  Section 621.050.1, RSMo 1994.  We do not review the Director’s decision, but find the facts and make the decision by applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  We must do what the law requires the Director to do.  Id. at 20-21.  However, we have the same degree of discretion as the Director and need not exercise it the same way.  State Bd. of Regis’n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1974).


McCabe has the burden of proof on the petition.  Section 621.050.2.  As the defending party, the Director shows his right to a favorable decision on McCabe’s claim by establishing facts that negate any element of that claim.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp., 854 S.W.2d at 381.


The Director argues that McCabe owes tax under section 144.070.1, RSMo Supp. 1998, which provides:


At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069, RSMo Supp. 1998, sets forth the applicable local tax: 


All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

McCabe’s petition states that he does not possess the car.  However, the tax is on his purchase of the car, not possession of it.  


Section 301.190.5, RSMo Supp. 1998, provides a penalty of $25 per 30 days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”


McCabe’s admissions require us to impose the tax and penalty.  We do not decide whether McCabe is entitled to a refund of the tax under section 144.071, RSMo 1994.  That statute requires paying the tax to the Director, returning the vehicle and receiving the sale price 

back within 60 days, and filing a claim for refund with the Director.  No decision of the Director denying such a refund claim is before us.


Therefore, we grant the Director’s motion and enter our decision in the Director’s favor.  We conclude that McCabe owes $779.77 in state tax, $438.33 in local tax, and a $100 title penalty.


SO ORDERED on November 10, 1999.




________________________________




WILLARD C. REINE




Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1994 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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