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DECISION 


Gregory Mackey is not liable for Missouri sales tax, title penalty, or fees on his purchase of a Honda motorcycle.  
Procedure


On January 24, 2005, Mackey appealed the Director of Revenue’s assessment of motor vehicle sales tax, title penalty, and fees on Mackey’s purchase of the motorcycle.  This Commission convened a hearing on the complaint on June 30, 2005.  Mackey represented himself.  Senior Counsel James L. Spradlin represented the Director.  The last written argument was due on October 18, 2005.  
Findings of Fact


1.  On March 5, 2004, Mackey’s mother’s revocable trust purchased a condominium in Wisconsin.  Mackey had lived in Springfield, Missouri.  Mackey intended to retire in Wisconsin, live in the condominium, and care for his mother.


2.  On April 14, 2004, Mackey purchased a 2002 Honda motorcycle from Pro Cycle in Springfield for $9,804.85.  Mackey purchased the motorcycle there because it was much cheaper than from a dealer in Wisconsin.  Mackey was in the process of moving to Wisconsin.  He had already made short trips to Wisconsin and had moved half of his belongings there.  Mackey informed the dealer that he was moving to Wisconsin within two weeks and wanted to title the vehicle and pay tax in Wisconsin.  The dealer did not have paperwork for Wisconsin title and tax.  Mackey used his Missouri address on the vehicle paperwork because Honda required that he use an address where he had lived for more than 30 days.  Mackey picked up the motorcycle at the dealership and loaded it on a trailer hitched to his vehicle.  Mackey drove his vehicle, with the trailer attached, to Wisconsin.   


3.  Mackey did not register the motorcycle or pay tax in Missouri because he was in the process of moving to Wisconsin.  


4.  Honda Financial Services mixed up Mackey’s paperwork because his name was stated as “Mackey Gregory” on the paperwork.  Mackey corrected his name to Gregory Mackey on May 14, 2004, after he moved to Wisconsin.    


5.  On August 4, 2004, Mackey registered the motorcycle and paid tax on it in Wisconsin.  Mackey paid Wisconsin state sales tax of $490.25 and local sales tax of $49.03.


6.  On January 6, 2005, the Director issued an assessment against Mackey on his purchase of the motorcycle, as follows:  
State sales tax

$414.22

Local sales tax

$232.85

Title penalty

$200.00

Title application fee
$    8.50
Processing fee

$    2.50

Total


$858.07

The Director addressed the assessment to “Mackey Gregory.” 

Conclusions of Law 


We have jurisdiction to hear Mackey’s complaint.
  Mackey has the burden to prove that he is not liable for the amounts that the Director assessed.
  Our duty in a tax case is not merely to review the Director’s decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer’s lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.
  We may do whatever the law permits the Director to do, and we must do what the Director must do.

I.  Motor Vehicle Sales Tax and 
Certificates of Ownership and Registration
A.  Statutory Framework

Section 144.020.1 imposes a sales tax upon all sellers for the privilege of engaging in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail in this state.  On most sales transactions, the Director receives sales tax remitted by sellers, who collect the sales tax from the purchasers.
  Section 144.020.1(8) provides that the purchase or use of motor vehicles shall be taxed as provided in §§ 144.070 and 144.440.  Section 144.070 imposes on vehicle purchasers the obligation to pay sales tax upon registering the vehicle in Missouri:  
At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . . , 
he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . ., and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law.[
]
(Emphasis added.)   A motorcycle is a motor vehicle.  Section 301.010(34) and (36), RSMo Supp. 2004.  

A Missouri resident who purchases a vehicle in another state is generally subject to Missouri use tax on the purchase:


1.  [F]or the privilege of using the highways . . . of this state, there is hereby levied and imposed a tax equivalent to four percent of the purchase price, as defined in section 144.070, . . . paid . . . on . . . motor vehicles . . . purchased . . . for use on the highways . . . of this state which are required to be registered under the laws of the state of Missouri. 


2.  At the time the owner of any such motor vehicle . . . makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration . . . , he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director showing the purchase price paid [for] the motor vehicle . . . or that the motor vehicle . . . is not subject to the tax herein provided and, if the motor vehicle . . . is subject to the tax herein provided, the applicant shall pay . . .  the tax provided herein. 

*   *   *


4.  No certificate of title shall be issued for such motor vehicle . . . unless the tax for the privilege of using the highways . . . of this state has been paid or [sales tax has been paid on it.
]
Section 301.130 sets forth requirements for the vehicle registration and license:  


1.  The director of revenue, upon receipt of a proper application for registration, required fees and any other information which may be required by law, shall issue to the applicant a certificate of registration in such manner and form as the director of revenue may prescribe and a set of license plates, or other evidence of registration, as provided herein. . . .
*   *   * 


7.  No motor vehicle or trailer shall be operated on any highway of this state unless it shall have displayed thereon the license plate or set of license plates issued by the director of revenue and authorized by section 301.140. . . .
However, § 301.271 provides an exception for non-residents:  

[A] nonresident owner, owning any motor vehicle which has been duly registered for the current year in the state, District of Columbia, territory or possession of the United States, foreign country or other place of which the owner is a resident, and which at all times when operated in this state has displayed upon it the number plate issued for the vehicle in the place of residence of such owner, may operate or permit the operation of such vehicle within this state without registering such vehicle or paying any such registration fee to this state; but the provisions of this subsection shall be operative to allow such owner to operate or permit the operation of such vehicle owned by a nonresident of this state only to the extent that under the laws of the state, District of Columbia, territory or possession of the United States, foreign country or other place of residence of the nonresident owner, substantially equivalent exemptions are granted to residents of Missouri for the operation of vehicles duly registered in Missouri.

Section 301.190, RSMo Supp. 2004, sets forth requirements for the certificate of ownership:


1.  No certificate of registration of any motor vehicle . . . shall be issued by the director of revenue unless the applicant therefor shall make application for and be granted a certificate of ownership of such motor vehicle or trailer, or shall present satisfactory evidence that such certificate has been previously issued to the applicant for such motor vehicle or trailer. . . .

*   *   *


5.  The fee for each original certificate so issued shall be eight dollars and fifty cents, in addition to the fee for registration of such motor vehicle or trailer.  If application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant, a delinquency penalty fee of twenty-five dollars for the first thirty days of delinquency and twenty-five dollars for each thirty days of delinquency thereafter, not to exceed a total of one hundred dollars before November 1, 2003, and not to exceed a total of two hundred dollars on or after November 1, 2003, shall be 
imposed, but such penalty may be waived by the director for good cause shown. . . .  

B.  Application of Missouri Statutes

Section 301.130.1 governs applications for a certificate of registration and license plates for vehicles.  Section 301.130.7 provides that no motor vehicle shall be operated on any highway of this state unless it shall have displayed thereon the license plate issued by the Director.  However, § 301.271 allows an exception for nonresidents.  Section 301.190.1, RSMo Supp. 2004, provides that no certificate of registration shall be issued unless the applicant makes application for and is granted a certificate of ownership, or presents satisfactory evidence that a certificate of ownership has previously been issued.  Section 144.070 makes payment of the Missouri sales tax simultaneous with the application for certificate of title and for registration of the vehicle.  Therefore, the statutes require that Missouri residents who purchase and drive their vehicles in this state must register, apply for title, and pay tax on their vehicles in Missouri.   

The Director asserts that Mackey was a Missouri resident when he purchased the motorcycle because he used a Missouri address.  Mackey argues that he was not a Missouri resident because he had changed his residency to Wisconsin, and that he used the Missouri address on the vehicle paperwork only for financing purposes.


Numerous Missouri cases hold that “residence” means physical presence coupled with an intention to remain indefinitely.
  Except in special circumstances, the word “home” is synonymous with “domicile” and “residence.”
  Residence involves a question of fact controlled mainly by intention.
  At the time he purchased the motorcycle, Mackey had a home in Wisconsin and had moved half of his belongings there.  He had no intention to remain in 
Missouri.  He loaded the motorcycle on a trailer and moved it to Wisconsin.  Mackey was no longer a Missouri resident when he purchased the motorcycle.

Even if Mackey were regarded as a Missouri resident when he purchased the vehicle, he moved to another state within the 30-day grace period given to register and apply for title to a vehicle in Missouri.  Section 301.190.  By that time, he was definitely not a Missouri resident.   As Mackey notes, he should not be subject to titling, registration, and sales tax obligations when he was no longer a Missouri resident.  Mackey did not drive the vehicle in this state.  Therefore, he had no titling, registration, or sales tax obligation in this state, and he is not liable for the title application fee, processing fee or penalty.  Sections 301.130.1, 301.130.7, and 301.271, and 

§ 301.190.1, RSMo Supp. 2004.

Mackey also makes an argument that the seller’s error in stating his name as “Mackey Gregory” nullifies any sale in Missouri.  We do not find the order of the names to be material.  However, we have already found, on other grounds, that Mackey does not owe Missouri sales tax, penalty, or fees.    


Our conclusion is consistent with the established canons of statutory construction pertaining to taxing statutes.  Statutes imposing taxes are to be construed against the taxing authority and in favor of the taxpayer.  American Healthcare Management v. Director of Revenue, 984 S.W.2d 496, 498 (Mo. banc 1999).  If an ambiguity exists in a statute imposing a tax, it must be resolved in favor of the taxpayer.  J.B. Vending Co. v. Director of Revenue, 
54 S.W.3d 183, 191 (Mo. banc 2001).  The fact that a particular subject of taxation is within the purview and intendment of the taxing statute must clearly appear, Union Elec. Co. v. Morris, 222 S.W.2d 767, 770 (Mo. banc 1949), as the right to tax cannot be extended by implication.  Kanakuk-Kanakomo Kamps v. Director of Revenue, 8 S.W.3d 94, 96 (Mo. banc 1999).  


We cannot find within the Missouri statutes any clear intendment that a person who is moving to another state and in fact leaves the state within thirty days after purchasing a vehicle must title the vehicle and pay tax here.  Any ambiguity must be resolved in Mackey’s favor.  J.B. Vending, 54 S.W.3d at 191.  Therefore, we conclude that Mackey does not owe the Missouri tax, title penalty, or fees as assessed.
II.  The Director’s Arguments

A.  Holm v. Director of Revenue

The Director relies on Holm v. Director of Revenue, 148 S.W.3d 313 (Mo. banc 2004), and argues that Mackey is subject to Missouri sales tax, title penalty and fees because he did not timely register and apply for title to his vehicle in Wisconsin.  The Holms were Maryland residents who were students in Missouri and bought the car in Missouri.  The Holms drove the vehicle – which was not properly registered in Maryland or anywhere else – for approximately six months in Missouri.  In Holm, this Commission had determined that the Holms were not liable for Missouri sales tax on their vehicle under § 144.020.1(1) because they were residents of Maryland and ultimately paid the required tax in that state.
  The Missouri Supreme Court, however, found that because the Holms had failed to timely register the vehicle in Maryland, the reciprocity exception for driving in Missouri in § 301.271.1 did not apply.  The court stated:

[T]he vehicle must be registered somewhere in order to be driven in Missouri, and if a nonresident purchaser does not register the vehicle in another state, the purchaser is necessarily required to register it in Missouri to drive it here. . . .  While a nonresident can drive a vehicle in Missouri without Missouri registration by virtue of § 301.271, this exception only applies if the nonresident timely registers the vehicle elsewhere.  The nonresident who purchases and drives a vehicle in Missouri must register it somewhere, and having failed to timely do so in Maryland, the 
Holms cannot avoid the responsibility to register it in this state and pay Missouri state and local sales tax.
(Bold added.)
 
The Director asserts that Mackey did not timely register his motorcycle in Wisconsin.  W.S.A. § 341.04 provides:  
(1) It is unlawful for any person to operate or for an owner to consent to being operated on any highway of this state any motor vehicle, recreational vehicle, trailer or semitrailer or any other vehicle for which a registration fee is specifically prescribed unless at the time of operation the vehicle in question either is registered in this state, or, except for registration under s. 341.30 or 341.305, a complete application for registration, including evidence of any inspection under s. 110.20 when required, accompanied by the required fee has been delivered to the department, submitted to a dealer under s. 341.09(2m) for transmittal to the department or deposited in the mail properly addressed with postage prepaid and, if the vehicle is an automobile or motor truck having a registered weight of 8,000 pounds or less, the vehicle displays a temporary operation plate issued for the vehicle unless the operator or owner of the vehicle produces proof that operation of the vehicle is within 2 business days of the vehicle’s sale or transfer, or the vehicle in question is exempt from registration.
(a) A vehicle may be operated by a private person after the date of purchase or commencement of the lease of such vehicle by such private person or after the date such person moved to this state if application for registration, except for registration under s. 341.30 or 341.305, and certificate of title has been made and the person otherwise complies with any applicable requirements of this section.  
*   *   *

(3)(a) Any person who violated sub. (1) or (2), where the vehicle used is an automobile or any other vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less, as determined by the manufacturer of the vehicle, may be required to forfeit not more than $200.  

Mackey did not register his motorcycle in Wisconsin until August 4, 2004.  However, Wisconsin, unlike Missouri, does not provide a time deadline from the date of purchase in which 
to register the vehicle without penalty.  The Wisconsin statute provides that no one shall operate the vehicle without the proper registration unless the operation of the vehicle is within two business days of the sale.  Someone could purchase a vehicle, wait more than two days to register it in Wisconsin, without operating it there, and then legitimately register it on the day operation of the vehicle begins.  There is no evidence that Mackey operated his motorcycle in Wisconsin without the proper registration.  Further, there is no evidence that Mackey was required to pay any late fee or penalty in Wisconsin.  Therefore, failure to timely register a vehicle in another state, which was a crucial factor in Holm, is not an issue in this case.  

This case is further distinguishable from Holm because Mackey was not a non-resident operating a vehicle in Missouri.  He had been a Missouri resident, but was in the process of moving to another state when he purchased the vehicle.  Mackey had already taken actions consistent with his intent of changing his residency to that state.  There is no evidence that Mackey ever drove the motorcycle in Missouri.  Instead, he loaded the motorcycle on a trailer at the dealership and hauled it to Wisconsin.   Therefore, the rationale of Holm does not apply in this case.  
B.  Relationship Between Sales Tax 
and Application Requirements

The Director argues that the imposition of sales tax can be separate from, and not contingent upon, the requirement to title and license a motor vehicle.  The Director relies on State ex rel. Conservation Comm’n v. LePage, 566 S.W.2d 208 (Mo. banc 1978), where the court held that the additional sales tax for purposes of conservation, imposed by Mo. Const. art. IV, was applicable to sales of motor vehicles.  In that case, the Director argued that § 144.070 imposed the motor vehicle sales tax on the purchaser and that the additional conservation tax, 
which was levied against all sellers, therefore did not apply.  In holding that the Director was required to collect the additional tax, even in motor vehicle transactions, the court stated:  

[T]he fact that the purchaser directly pays the tax on motor vehicles and trailers does not convince us that the “legal incidence” of the tax is upon the purchaser. . . . Thus, we find no constitutional difficulty in holding that § 144.070 remains a tax, like the rest of the Sales Tax Law, upon gross receipts of the seller for the privilege of selling, with a different manner of collection and enforcement than is utilized for the rest of the Sales Tax Law.  

LePage, 566 S.W.2d at 210-12.


The Director also relies on National Fleetway v. Director of Revenue, 614 S.W.2d 258 (Mo. 1981).  In that case, the court upheld the Director’s requirement that a company that had not been recognized as a motor vehicle leasing company at the time of its purchase of the vehicles in question was required to pay the sales tax on the vehicles before the Director could issue title and registration of the vehicles.  The court stated:  

Subparagraph 1 of Section 144.070 emphasizes the time of acquisition of a motor vehicle as being determinative of sales tax liability.  The provisions for qualifying as a leasing company and permitting special handling of such an approved company’s sales tax obligation were appended to subparagraph 1.  In this case, at the time of acquisition of the vehicles, appellant had not been recognized as a leasing company so that it could not, as required by Section 144.070.1, state in its application for title that “no sales tax was incurred in its [the motor vehicles’] acquisition* * *.”  

Id. at 261.  The Director concludes that:  

the language of Section 144.070 that references the time for applying for title and license “does not permit a purchaser to avoid the sales tax liability which arose upon acquisition of the vehicle.” 

(quoting National Fleetway, at 262).


The Director cites LePage and National Fleetway in support of her proposition that the requirement to title and register a vehicle in Missouri is not a prerequisite to sales tax liability.  However, LePage and National Fleetway do not address the issue in this case and are thus not 
persuasive authority for the question presented here.  The plain language of § 144.070 requires the purchaser to remit the sales tax upon applying for title and registration.  Therefore, the application for title and registration is inextricably linked to the purchaser’s obligation to remit Missouri sales tax.  

C.  Section 144.069

The Director also cites §144.069, which states:

All sales of motor vehicles, trailers, board and outboard motors shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof . . . .

We have previously limited the application of § 144.069 to the determination of which political subdivision’s local taxes applied.  See Thompson v. Director of Revenue, No. 02-1875 RV (AHC Aug. 19, 2003).  Thompson was a Missouri resident who purchased a vehicle in Kansas.  We held that Missouri sales tax does not apply to a Kansas sale.  We also noted that § 32.087.12(2) contains language similar to § 144.069, and provides that for purposes of local sales tax, the sale shall be deemed to be consummated at the residence of the purchaser.  We concluded that the statutes are in pari materia and that the purpose and effect of § 144.069, in conjunction with § 32.087.12(2) and .13, is to determine which local sales tax rate applies to a sale in Missouri.  Relying on 
§ 144.069 to impose Missouri sales tax on a sale that took place wholly within Kansas would create an absurd and unjust result.  


We continue to believe that this Commission’s construction of § 144.069 is correct.  However, even if we were to construe § 144.069 as an isolated statute and apply it to transactions involving multiple states, such as in this case, Mackey used his Missouri address on the vehicle paperwork only for financing purposes.  His “address” as of the date of purchase of the vehicle should be regarded as in Wisconsin because we have determined that Mackey had switched his residency to Wisconsin at that time.  Therefore, even if we were to apply § 144.069 literally to 
the facts of this case and determine the transaction to be taxable at the address of the owner, the sale would properly be consummated in Wisconsin because Mackey had become a resident of that state.  Even under this approach, no Missouri sales tax would be due on the vehicle and there would be no requirement to register the vehicle here.

Summary


Mackey is not liable for Missouri sales tax, title penalty, title application fee, or processing fee.


SO ORDERED on November 14, 2005.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP



Commissioner

	�These amounts are reversed on the title application, as we can tell from the method of calculation shown on the form.  


	�Section 621.050.1.  Statutory references, unless otherwise noted, are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.


	�Sections 136.300.2 and 621.050.2.  


	�J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).


	�State Bd. of Regis’n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., W.D. 1974).


	�Sections 144.021 and 144.060.  


	�Section 144.070.1.  


	�Section 144.440.


	�E.g., State Farm Mutual Auto Ins. Co. v. McBride, 489 S.W.2d 229 (Mo. App., St.L.D. 1972); State ex rel. Quest Communications Corp. v. Baldridge, 913 S.W.2d 366 (Mo. App., S.D. 1996).  


	�State upon Information of Reardon v. Mueller, 388 S.W.2d 53 (Mo. App., St.L.D. 1965).  


	�Lewis v. Lewis, 176 S.W.2d 556 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1943).  


	�Holm v. Director of Revenue, No. 02-1776 RV (AHC Nov. 14, 2003).


	�Holm, 148 S.W.3d at 315.


�We are compelled to note Beck v. McNeill, 782 S.W.2d 650 (Mo. App., E.D. 1989), where the court upheld the Director’s assessment of city and county sales tax on Missouri residents’ purchase of a vehicle from a dealer in Arkansas.  The Becks solicited the bid by telephone from Missouri and wired the purchase money to the Arkansas dealer.  The car was delivered directly to their home in Brentwood, Missouri, and no trade-in vehicle was involved.  The Becks paid the Missouri state use tax on the purchase, but no local sales tax.  The Becks argued that an interstate transaction could not be subject to sales tax in Missouri.  Rejecting that argument, the court cited § 144.069, and held that because the taxes were fairly related to the Becks’ use of the public roads and highways of Brentwood and St. Louis County, those jurisdictions were entitled to tax the transaction.  





	We discuss Beck because it is a Missouri appellate opinion that cites § 144.069 and discusses elements of a sale that, like the present case, involves the purchase of a vehicle in one state by a resident of another state.  However, Beck is distinguishable from the present case for many reasons:  that case involved solicitation of a bid from Missouri to an Arkansas dealer, and delivery from the Arkansas dealer to the Missouri buyers; the buyers were indisputably Missouri residents; and the case only involved local sales tax.  Therefore, we determine that Beck is limited to its unique facts.  
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