Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

DONALD E. LOTTERER, 
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 03-1806 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


Donald E. Lotterer is not entitled to a refund of sales tax paid on his purchase of a motor vehicle because he did not sell his old vehicle within 180 days of the purchase.  

Procedure


On September 3, 2003, Lotterer appealed the Director’s denial of a claim for a refund of sales tax paid on a replacement motor vehicle.

On September 8, 2003, the Director filed a motion, with supporting exhibits, for summary determination of the petition.  The Director argues that Lotterer did not sell the old vehicle in time to get the sales tax refund.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(B) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Lotterer does not dispute and (b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  Lotterer responded to the motion by telephone conference on September 15, 2003.  

Findings of Fact

1.  On December 31, 2002, Lotterer purchased a 1996 Lincoln for $5,911.  Lotterer received the car that day.  

2.  On January 30, 2003, Lotterer completed an “Application for Missouri Title and License” and paid $249.74 in state sales tax and $103.44 in local sales tax on the purchase.

2.  On July 10, 2003, Lotterer sold a 1996 Buick for $3,800.  

3.  Lotterer filed a claim for a refund of the sales tax on the difference between the purchase price of the Lincoln and the sale price of the Buick.  

4.  On August 21, 2003, the Director issued a final decision denying the refund claim.  

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Lotterer’s petition.  Section 621.050.1.
  Section 144.025.1 provides:

[W]here any article is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on the purchase price of the article being sold, the [sales] tax imposed by sections 144.020 and 144.440 shall be computed only on that portion of the purchase price which exceeds the actual allowance made for the article traded in . . . . This section shall also apply to motor vehicles . . . sold by the owner . . . if the seller purchases or contracts to purchase a subsequent motor vehicle . . . within one hundred eighty days before or after the date of the sale of the original article[.]

(Emphasis added.)  


Lotterer argues that the 180-day time deadline should not begin running from December 31, 2002, because it took additional time to obtain a new certificate of title with his name printed on it as the owner of the Lincoln.  He argues that the Director did not issue him a new certificate of title 

to the Lincoln until February 4, 2003; thus, his ownership of the Lincoln was not complete until then, and he should be allowed 180 days from that date in order to sell the Buick.  However, 

§ 144.025.1 specifically allows 180 days between the purchase of one vehicle and the sale of the other vehicle.  As the Missouri Court of Appeals has stated: 

In the sale of a used vehicle, the operative fact in the transfer of title is the assignment of title rather than the registration of title or issuance of a new title certificate.  

Schultz v. Murphy, 596 S.W.2d 51, 53 (Mo. App., E.D. 1980).  Thus, Lotterer’s purchase of the Lincoln occurred on December 31, 2002, when he received it.
  Lotterer’s purchase of the Lincoln is a separate issue from receiving a new certificate of title with his name printed on it  pursuant to § 301.190.1.


This case is similar to Jones v. Director of Revenue, 832 S.W.2d 516, 517 (Mo. banc 1992), where the taxpayer argued that the sale of a boat, trailer, and two outboard motors occurred when the Director issued certificates of title for the property.  The question in that case was whether the taxpayer was entitled to a sales tax refund after rescinding the sale, and § 144.071.1 allows such a refund only if the taxpayer rescinds the sale and returns the property “within sixty calendar days from the date of the sale[.]”  The Court held that the sale occurred when the taxpayer received the property in exchange for his payment, not when he received the certificates of title from the Director.  Similarly, as we have already stated, Lotterer’s purchase of the Lincoln occurred on December 31, 2002, when he received it, and his purchase of the Lincoln is a separate issue from his receipt of a new certificate of title with his name printed on it as the owner.  Lotterer 

did not sell the Buick within 180 days after December 31, 2002, the date of his purchase of the Lincoln.  


Neither the Director nor this Commission has any power to change the law.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).  Therefore, we are not authorized to create an exception to the statutory time limit.  


We grant the Director’s motion and conclude that Lotterer is not entitled to a refund.  


SO ORDERED on September 30, 2003.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY 



Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.  


	�We assume that Lotterer also paid for the vehicle and received an assignment of the title on that date.  Lotterer admits that he received the vehicle on that date.  Lotterer argues that the sale did not occur until he received the new certificate of title in his name from the Director, and because that is not the law, there is no dispute as to any material fact.  





