Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

NEVER MY SILENCE & 
)

ROBERT LEDERLE, 
)


)



Petitioners,
)




)


vs.

)
No. 13-0085 RV



)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

ORDER

We grant in part the motion for summary decision (“the motion”) filed by the Director of Revenue (“the Director”).  

Procedure


On January 15, 2013, Robert Lederle filed a complaint.  We sent a copy of the complaint to the Director on January 18, 2013.  The Director filed the motion on February 13, 2013.  We advised Lederle he could file a response to the motion by March 1, 2013, but he filed no response.  

Pursuant to 1 CSR 15-3.446(6)(A),
 we may decide a motion for summary decision if a party establishes facts that entitle that party to a favorable decision and no party genuinely disputes such facts.  Those facts may be established by stipulation, pleading of the adverse party, or other evidence admissible under the law.  1 CSR 15-3.446(6)(B).  The Director’s motion is accompanied by certified records of the Department of Revenue (“the Department”) 
and the Missouri Secretary of State’s office.  We make the following findings of fact from those records and from Lederle’s complaint.
Findings of Fact
1. Robert Lederle is the sole owner of an unincorporated entity doing business under the fictitious name of Never My Silence.

2. On January 8, 2009, the Department sent by certified mail an assessment of unpaid sales tax and motor vehicle delinquency penalty fee, assessment number 3149714D (“the 2009 assessment”), to Never My Silence.  The assessment references a motor vehicle, a “2008 HAUL,” contains the vehicle’s VIN and states:

The Missouri Department of Revenue notified you previously to apply for a title and pay taxes for a 2008 HAUL, purchased on MAY 06 2008 . . . . Our records indicate you have not done so.

If you have not titled this vehicle, this assessment of taxes and fees listed below is the final decision of the Director of Revenue.  If you disagree with this assessment, you may appeal to the Administrative Hearing Commission as outlined in the attached.

State Sales Tax Due

$
105.63

Local Sales Tax:

$
  58.75

Title Penalty:

$
200.00

Title Application Fee:
       
$ 
     8.50

Processing Fee:
 
$
     2.50

Total Due:

$
375.38

Amount Paid:

$
     0.00

Balance Due:

$
 375.38

Exhibit A to motion (pages unnumbered).

3. Lederle filed his complaint on January 15, 2013.  Attached to the complaint are two documents from the Department, as follows:

a. 
A sales/use tax underpay notice number 201235405905033 (“the notice”) for tax period January 1 – December 31, 2011.  The notice is dated December 19, 2012.  It sets forth a balance due of $305.77, consisting of 
$239.30 in net tax; $59.83 in additions to tax; and $6.64 in interest.  The tax type is “consumer’s use.” 

b. A letter from the Department’s Administration Division, dated December 18, 2012, reference number 3149714D, addressed to Never My Silence (“the 2012 letter”).  The letter references a “2008 HAUL,” with the same VIN that appears in the 2009 assessment, and states:
 

The Missouri Department of Revenue records show there is a balance due on your Motor Vehicle Sales Tax of $396.63.  The following is a breakdown of the amount due:

State Sales Tax:
$
105.63

Local Sales Tax:

  80.00

Local Option Use Tax

    0.00

*Title Penalty:

200.00

Title Application Fee:
             8.50

Processing Fee:
             2.50

Total Due:
$
396.63

Amount Paid:
 -            0.00
Balance Due:
$
396.63
* The maximum penalty is $200

Please send your check or money order of $396.63 to the Missouri Department of Revenue within 15 days to the address above.

4. Lederle’s complaint references the 2008 Haul Trailer with the same VIN that appears in the 2009 assessment.  He states that due to circumstances beyond his control, it took three years for him to get the title to his trailer and that the Department had assessed the maximum title penalty against him.  He also states that he called the Department every day for two years about this matter, and was always told that he had no recourse but to pay the title penalty.  But then:

It was not until December of 2012 that a wonderful woman called me from your office and explained to me that there is another option to appeal to the Administrative Hearing Commission.  She told me she would send me out a letter showing me the process which she did promptly.  After five years I finally got someone at your office to give me an option.  I am in great hopes that after seeing what I have gone thru as well as the complete lack of fault on my behalf that the fine will be dropped.  This is all I ever wanted and would license my trailer tomorrow if the fine would go away.
Conclusions of Law


Section 621.050.1
 provides that we have jurisdiction to hear a complaint appealing an assessment if the complaint is filed “within thirty days after the decision of the director is placed in the United States mail[.]”  Section 621.205 provides:  

For the purpose of determining whether documents are filed within the time allowed by law, documents transmitted to the administrative hearing commission by registered mail or certified mail shall be deemed filed with the administrative hearing commission as of the date shown on the United States post office records of such registration or certification and mailing.  If the document is sent by any method other than registered mail or certified mail, the administrative hearing commission shall deem it to be filed on the date the administrative hearing commission receives it.  

The Director mailed the 2009 assessment on January 8, 2009.  Lederle filed his complaint on January 15, 2013 – much more than 30 days after the assessment was mailed.  We have no jurisdiction to hear an appeal filed out of time.  Community Fed. Sav. & Loan Assoc. v. Director of Revenue, 752 S.W.2d 794, 799 (Mo. banc), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 893 (1988).  Lederle’s complaint states that a woman from the Department told him he could file the complaint challenging the title penalty, but even if this happened, neither the Director nor this Commission may change the law.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).  The complaint as to the title penalty is untimely and must be dismissed.

But it appears that Lederle may have intended to file a complaint as to his 2011 consumer’s use tax, also.  That notice is dated December 19, 2012, and Lederle filed his complaint on January 15, 2013.  We have no evidence that that complaint was untimely.  Therefore, we do not dismiss that portion of the complaint.

Summary

We grant the motion in part and dismiss Lederle’s complaint regarding the title penalty assessed on the 2008 Haul Trailer.  We do not dismiss Lederle’s complaint regarding his 2011 consumer’s use tax.


We will set this case for hearing by separate notice.

SO ORDERED on March 18, 2013.


_________________________________


KAREN A. WINN


Commissioner
� All references to the CSR are to the Missouri Code of State Regulations as current with amendments. included in the Missouri Register through the most recent update.


	� There is no evidence in the record to explain the discrepancy between the stated amounts of local sales tax due in the 2009 assessment ($58.75) and in the 2012 letter ($80.00).


	�Statutory references are to RSMo 2000.  
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