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State of Missouri

MIESHA M. LAIRD, 
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)
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)




)


vs.

)

No. 04-0411 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


Miesha M. Laird is liable for Missouri state sales tax and local sales tax on her purchase of a motor vehicle.  However, the Director should allow her credit for tax paid in Oklahoma.  Laird is not liable for a title penalty, title application fee, or processing fee. 

Procedure


On March 30, 2004, Laird appealed the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing Missouri sales tax, local sales tax, and a title penalty on her purchase of a motor vehicle in Missouri.  


This Commission convened a hearing on the complaint on July 22, 2004.  Laird represented herself.  Legal Counsel Dori Drummond represented the Director.  The last written argument was due on November 4, 2004.  

Findings of Fact

1. On May 31, 2003, Laird signed a contract to purchase a 2000 Chevy Impala from Johnny Londoff Chevrolet in Florissant, Missouri, for $16,742.24.  Laird was at that time, and still is, a Missouri resident.  However, Laird purchased the vehicle for her sister, who lived in Oklahoma.  

2. Laird’s sister applied in Laird’s name for a certificate of title for the vehicle from the State of Oklahoma.  Oklahoma issued the certificate of title on July 7, 2003.  The certificate states the name and address of the vehicle owner as “Miesha M Laird  525 N Peniel St  Oklahoma City OK  73127-6227.”  That is the address where Laird grew up, and her sister still lives at that address.  Laird also paid $361 in excise tax and a registration fee of $91 to Oklahoma.  Respondent’s Ex. D is a receipt for the $91 vehicle registration fee, dated July 7, 2003.  

3. Because Laird paid tax and registered the vehicle in Oklahoma and did not purchase the vehicle to use in Missouri, she did not apply for title or pay sales tax in Missouri.

4. On February 5, 2004, the Director issued a final decision assessing Laird as follows:  


State Sales Tax
$515.24


Local Sales Tax
$347.56


Title Penalty
$200.00


Title App. Fee
$8.50


Processing Fee
$2.50


Total Due
$1,073.80

Conclusions of Law


This Commission has jurisdiction over appeals from the Director’s final decisions.  Section 621.050.1.
  Laird has the burden to prove that she is not liable for the amounts that the 

Director assessed.  Sections 136.300.1 and 621.050.2.  Our duty in a tax case is not merely to review the Director’s decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer’s lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).  We may do whatever the law permits the Director to do.  State Bd. of Regis'n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., W.D. 1974).

I.  Sales Tax


Section 144.020.1(1) imposes the Missouri sales tax “[u]pon every retail sale in this state of tangible personal property[.]”  As to motor vehicles, § 144.070.1 provides:  


At the time the owner of any new or used motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile, trailer, boat, or outboard motor as otherwise provided by law, he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price exclusive of any charge incident to the extension of credit paid by or charged to the applicant in the acquisition of the motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor, or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law in addition to the registration fees now or hereafter required according to law, and the director of revenue shall not issue a certificate of title for any new or used motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor subject to sales tax as provided in the Missouri sales tax law until the tax levied for the sale of the same under sections 144.010 to 144.510 has been paid as herein provided or is registered under the provisions of subsection 5 of this section.
Under that statute, a vehicle owner pays sales tax upon making application to the Director for an official certificate of title and registration of the vehicle.
  Missouri law requires owners of new or used motor vehicles to apply for a title and register newly purchased vehicles within 30 days of purchase.  Section  301.190.  Similarly, Oklahoma titles are also required to be applied for within 30 days of obtaining ownership.  See 47 Okl. St. § 1107(A).  In the present case, Laird purchased the vehicle on May 31, 2003.  Laird testified that the vehicle was registered in 

Oklahoma on July 7, 2003 (Tr. at 10), and Respondent’s Exhibit D is a receipt showing payment of the $91 vehicle registration fee on that date.  Oklahoma issued the certificate of title on July 7, 2003.  

In Holm v. Director of Revenue, No. SC85928 (Mo. banc, November 9, 2004), slip op., the Missouri Supreme Court held that students who were living in Missouri but failed to timely title their vehicle and pay sales tax in their home state of Maryland were liable for Missouri sales tax and title penalty.  Although the Court has not yet issued its mandate in that case, we must give weight to that opinion as a decision of the Missouri Supreme Court.
   


In Holm, the Court noted that the Holms had failed to timely register their vehicle and pay sales tax in their home state of Maryland.  They purchased their vehicle on February 20, 2002, but did not title their vehicle and pay sales tax in Maryland until October 25, 2002, long after Maryland’s 60-day time limit had expired.  We read Holm to require that if a vehicle is to be titled and tax paid in another state, it must be done within that state’s time limit.
  Laird has failed to meet her burden to prove that she met Oklahoma’s deadline to apply for the certificate and pay Oklahoma excise tax.  The record does not show that she did so within 30 days after purchasing the vehicle in Missouri.  See 47 Okl. St. § 1107(A).  She purchased the vehicle on May 31, 2003, but the vehicle was not registered in Oklahoma, with payment of the registration fee, until July 7, 2003, and the Oklahoma certificate of title was issued on July 7, 2003.  Therefore, she is liable for Missouri sales tax on her purchase of the vehicle.   
II.  Title Penalty


Section 301.190, RSMo Supp. 2003, provides:  


1.  No certificate of registration of any motor vehicle or trailer, or number plate therefor, shall be issued by the director of revenue unless the applicant therefor shall make application for and be granted a certificate of ownership of such motor vehicle or trailer, or shall present satisfactory evidence that such certificate has been previously issued to the applicant for such motor vehicle or trailer.  Application shall be made within thirty days after the applicant acquires the motor vehicle or trailer upon a blank form furnished by the director of revenue and shall contain the applicant’s identification number, a full description of the motor vehicle or trailer, the vehicle identification number, and the mileage registered on the odometer at the time of transfer of ownership, as required by section 407.536, RSMo, together with a statement of the applicant’s source of title and of any liens or encumbrances on the motor vehicle or trailer, provided that for good cause shown the director of revenue may extend the period of time for making such application.

*   *   *


5.  The fee for each original certificate so issued shall be eight dollars and fifty cents, in addition to the fee for registration of such motor vehicle or trailer.  If application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant, a delinquency penalty fee of twenty-five dollars for the first thirty days of delinquency and twenty-five dollars for each thirty days of delinquency thereafter, not to exceed a total of one 

hundred dollars before November 1, 2003, and not to exceed a total of two hundred dollars on or after November 1, 2003, shall be imposed, but such penalty may be waived by the director for a good cause shown. . . .

*   *   *


7.  It is unlawful for any person to operate in this state a motor vehicle or trailer required to be registered under the provisions of the law unless a certificate of ownership has been issued as herein provided.

That statute does not place on Laird an affirmative duty to title her vehicle in Missouri.  The statute is not at all clear as to when someone is required to title a vehicle in this state when they 

intend to drive and maintain it in another state.  Section 301.190.5 allows waiver of the title penalty “for a good cause shown.”  Because Laird did not have an affirmative duty to title the vehicle in Missouri, and the vehicle was titled in Oklahoma, with full payment of tax in that state, we waive the title penalty.
  Because Laird did not have to title the vehicle in Missouri, she is not liable for the application fee or processing fee either.  

Summary


Laird is liable for Missouri state sales tax and local sales tax in the amount of $862.80 on her vehicle purchase.  Laird is not liable for a title penalty, application fee, or processing fee.  


SO ORDERED on November 30, 2004.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY



Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.  


	�Section 144.069 provides:  


All sales of motor vehicles, trailers, boats and outboard motors shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, and all leases of over sixty-day duration of motor vehicles, trailers, boats and outboard motors subject to sales taxes under this chapter shall be deemed to be consummated unless the vehicle, trailer, boat or motor has been registered and sales taxes have been paid prior to the consummation of the lease agreement at the address of the lessee thereof on the date the lease is consummated, and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.





Section 32.087, RSMo Supp. 2003, likewise provides:  


	12(2).  For the purposes of any local sales tax imposed by an ordinance or order under the local sales tax law, all sales of motor vehicles, trailers, boats, and outboard motors shall be deemed to be consummated at the residence of the purchaser and not at the place of business of the retailer, or the place of business from which the retailer's agent or employee works.





*   *   *





	13.  Local sales taxes imposed pursuant to the local sales tax law on the purchase and sale of motor vehicles, trailers, boats, and outboard motors shall not be collected and remitted by the seller, but shall be collected by the director of revenue at the time application is made for a certificate of title, if the address of the applicant is within a taxing entity imposing a local sales tax under the local sales tax law.





Section 32.087.6, RSMo Supp. 2003, requires the Director to collect local sales tax on behalf of political subdivisions.  Section 32.087.12(2) and .13, RSMo Supp. 2003, specifically apply only to local sales tax.  All consistent statutes relating to the same subject are in pari materia; thus, they are construed together and are presumed to be intended to be read consistently and harmoniously.  In re C.A.D., 995 S.W.2d 21, 29 (Mo. App., W.D. 1999).  





	Therefore, in Thompson v. Director of Revenue, No. 02-1875 RV (Mo. Admin. Hearing Comm’n Aug. 19, 2003), we concluded that the purpose and effect of § 144.069, in conjunction with § 32.087.12(2) and .13, RSMo Supp. 2003, is to determine which local sales tax rate applies to a sale in Missouri.  These statutes govern the situation when a resident of one political subdivision purchases a vehicle in another political subdivision and thus clearly provide what local sales tax applies to such a situation.  


	�The Court cited § 301.271.1, which applies reciprocity to non-residents who have registered their vehicle in another state.  That provision does not apply here because Laird was a Missouri resident.  





	�We do not read Holm so broadly as to state that all Missouri residents must title their vehicles in this state, because the statutes do not say so, and neither does the Court’s opinion.  


	�In other cases before this Commission iTherefore, we believe the Director should allow Laird a credit for the excise tax of $361 paid to Oklahoma but we know of no authority under which we can grant such a credit at this point.  t has been the Director’s policy to allow a credit for tax paid in another state on a motor vehicle purchase.  This decision should not be construed to foreclose the Director from allowing a credit of $361 for the tax paid in Oklahoma.  
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