Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

TIMOTHY B. JONES, 
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 03-0203 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


Timothy B. Jones is not entitled to a refund of sales tax paid on his purchase of a motor vehicle because he did not sell his old vehicle within 180 days after the purchase.  

Procedure


On February 5, 2003, Jones filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s denial of a claim for a refund of sales tax paid on a replacement motor vehicle.

On February 19, 2003, the Director filed a motion, with supporting exhibits, for summary determination of the petition.  The Director argues that Jones did not sell the old vehicle in time to get the sales tax refund.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(B) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Jones does not dispute and 

(b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  


We gave Jones until March 18, 2003, to file a response to the motion, but he did not respond.  

Findings of Fact

1.  On June 24, 2002, Jones and his wife purchased a 2002 GMC Yukon for $41,332.21, with a rebate of $2,500, resulting in a net price of $38,832.21.  The Joneses paid $1,640.66 in state sales tax and $1,203.80 in local sales tax on that purchase.

2.  On December 27, 2002, the Joneses sold a 2000 Ford Expedition for $17,500.  

3.  The Joneses filed a claim for refund of the sales tax on the difference between the purchase price of the Yukon and the sale price of the Expedition.  

4.  On January 24, 2003, the Director issued a final decision denying the refund claim.  

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Jones’ petition.  Section 621.050.1.
  Section 144.025.1 provides:

[W]here any article is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on the purchase price of the article being sold, the [sales] tax imposed by sections 144.020 and 144.440 shall be computed only on that portion of the purchase price which exceeds the actual allowance made for the article traded in . . . . This section shall also apply to motor vehicles . . . sold by the owner . . . if the seller purchases or contracts to purchase a subsequent motor vehicle . . . within one hundred eighty days before or after the date of the sale of the original article[.]

(Emphasis added).  


Jones agrees that he did not sell the Expedition with 180 days after he purchased the Yukon.  Jones cites the poor market created by zero percent financing on new vehicles, and he argues that his hip replacement surgery interfered with his efforts to sell the Expedition.   As 

Jones states, he missed the deadline only by a matter of days.  However, neither the Director nor this Commission has any power to change the law.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).  Therefore, we are not authorized to create an exception to the statutory time limit.  


We deny Jones’ sales tax refund claim.


SO ORDERED on March 28, 2003.



________________________________



CHRISTOPHER GRAHAM 



Commissioner

	�All statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.  





