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)
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)
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)

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW


On January 4, 1999, Dale Jackson filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty on his purchase of a 1991 Ford truck.  Jackson argues that he is not liable for the tax and penalty because he returned the truck to the dealer, never completed the purchase, and did not receive a credit for sales tax that he overpaid on a previous motor vehicle transaction.  


On June 24, 1999, we convened a hearing on the petition.  Jackson represented himself. Senior Counsel James M. Hoagland represented the Director.  The Director filed a written argument.  The matter became ready for our decision on September 8, 1999.  

Findings of Fact

1. In October 1996, Jackson purchased a 1995 Nissan Pathfinder for approximately $26,000.  

2. In March 1997, Jackson traded the Pathfinder for a $13,000 Nissan Sentra. 

3. On May 28, 1998, Jackson made arrangements to purchase a 1991 Ford truck from the Finance Plaza in Kansas City, Missouri.   Regency Financial Corp., which was associated with the Finance Plaza and was on the same property, financed the transaction.  Jackson paid $300 down and two weekly payments of $100 each.

4. Jackson also put a bug shield and two new tires on the truck, and paid for six months of insurance.  

5. The truck began breaking down and had no power.  One day, after Jackson had the truck for about three weeks, he could barely get it home.  Jackson contacted the Finance Plaza, which informed him that they would cover only 50 percent of the $1,800 repair costs under the warranty.  The Finance Plaza told him to bring the truck in, but he did not think the truck could make it to the dealership, so he told them to come and get it.  The Finance Plaza picked up the truck about three weeks later. 

6. Jackson never received a certificate of title to the truck from the dealer.  (Tr. at 16.)
 

7. Jackson did not sign and submit to the Director an application for a certificate of title and license to the truck, and he did not pay sales tax on the purchase of the truck.  

8. On December 11, 1998, the Director mailed Jackson a final decision dated December 10, 1998, assessing him $506.79 in state sales tax, $224.91 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty on his purchase of the truck.  

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Jackson’s petition.  Section 621.050.1, RSMo 1994.
  Jackson has the burden of proving that he does not owe the amounts assessed.  Section 621.050.2, RSMo 1994.  This Commission’s “power extends only to the ascertainment of facts and the application of existing law thereto in order to resolve issues within the given area of agency expertise.”  State Tax Comm’n v. Administrative Hearing Comm'n, 641 S.W.2d 69, 75 (Mo. banc 1982).  

Jackson argues that because he never completed the purchase of the truck, he is not liable for sales tax and title penalty.  Section 144.020.1, RSMo 1994, provides:  


A tax is hereby levied and imposed upon all sellers for the privilege of engaging in the business of selling tangible personal property or rendering taxable service at retail in this state. . . .  

Ordinarily the seller collects the tax and remits it to the Director.  However, 

when the merchandise is a car, section 144.070.1 provides that the buyer directly pays the Director:  


At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . . if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

(emphasis added).  Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local tax:

All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Further, section 301.190.5 provides a penalty of $25 per thirty days to a maximum of $100 when "application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant" unless the buyer has good cause for not doing so.  


However, liability for all those amounts is premised on the existence of a sale.  Section 144.010.1(9) provides that a sale requires the transfer of title or ownership.  For used cars, the transfer of ownership is created by the delivery of a properly assigned certificate of title.  Schultz v. Murphy, 596 S.W.2d 51, 53 (Mo. App., E.D. 1980).  Section 301.210 provides:

1.  In the event of a sale or transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle or trailer for which a certificate of ownership has been issued, the holder of such certificate shall endorse on the same an assignment thereof, with warranty of title in form printed thereon, and prescribed by the director of revenue, with a statement of all liens or encumbrances on such motor vehicle or trailer, and deliver the same to the buyer at the time of the delivery to him of such motor vehicle or trailer[.]

*   *   *

4.  It shall be unlawful for any person to buy or sell in this state any motor vehicle or trailer registered under the laws of this state, unless, at the time of the delivery thereof, there shall pass between the parties such certificates of ownership with an assignment thereof, as provided in this section, and the sale of any motor vehicle or trailer registered under the laws of this state, without the assignment of such certificate of ownership, shall be fraudulent and void.

(emphasis added).  If the vehicle is delivered and paid for without proper assignment and delivery of the title, the sale itself is void.  Greer v. Zurich Ins. Co., 441 S.W.2d 15, 26 (Mo. 1969).  The transfer of title must be at least reasonably contemporaneous with the time of the delivery of the vehicle.  McIntosh v. White, 447 S.W.2d 75, 80 (Mo. App., Spr. 1969).  We conclude that delivery of the title certificate to Jackson was indispensable to a sale.  


We have assessed Jackson’s credibility and find it intact.  Welty v. State Bd. of Chiropractic Exam’rs, 759 S.W.2d 295, 298 (Mo. App., W.D. 1988).  There is no evidence in the record to rebut Jackson’s testimony that he never received a certificate of title to the truck.  (Finding 6.)  Under section 301.210.4, a sale of a motor vehicle without an assignment of a certificate of ownership is void.  Because Jackson never received a certificate of title, the sale is void, and Jackson is not subject to sales tax or a title penalty.   

Jackson also argues that a Department of Revenue employee told him that he would be given a credit for sales tax that he had overpaid when he bought the Pathfinder.  Because we have already concluded that he is not liable for sales tax on the purchase of the Ford truck, we need not address this issue. 

Summary


We conclude that Jackson is not liable for the sales tax or penalty that the Director assessed.  


SO ORDERED on October 14, 1999.




________________________________




SHARON M. BUSCH




Commissioner

�Respondent’s Exhibit A contains the front page of an Indiana certificate of title showing a sale of the truck on May 20, 1998, from Arcadia Financial Ltd. to the Finance Plaza.  Respondent’s Exhibit A also contains what appears to be the back of a Missouri certificate of title with an “X” marked on a line for Jackson’s signature as the purchaser from the Finance Plaza, but there is no signature on that line.  Although the Director notified Jackson that Regency Financial had applied for a repossession title to the truck, and the Director therefore must have had a record showing Jackson as owner, section 301.215.2, RSMo Supp. 1998, the Director has not rebutted Jackson’s evidence that he never received a certificate of title.        


�Statutory references are to the 1998 Supplement to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.  





1
5

