Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

BARBARA M. JACKSON,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 02-0479 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On April 1, 2002, Barbara M. Jackson filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s (Director) decision denying Jackson’s request for a refund of $4.00 in agent fees paid to a local license bureau for the renewal of a motor vehicle registration.  


On April 18, 2002, the Director filed a motion to dismiss the petition.  Our Regulation 

1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing based on the pleadings and any written arguments filed.


On May 6, 2002, Jackson filed a response to the motion.  The following facts are not disputed.

Findings of Fact

1. On December 15, 2001, Jackson mailed all pertinent documents for the renewal of her motor vehicle registration to the Department of Revenue.

2. By January 9, 2002, Jackson had received no response from the Department, so she contacted her local license bureau in West Plains, Missouri.  The local license bureau checked with the Department by computer and found that Jackson’s registration had not yet been renewed.  The local license bureau provided a telephone number for Jackson to further check with the Department to determine if the application had been received.  Jackson contacted the Department by telephone and was told that her application was not located.  Jackson verified with her bank that her check for the renewal fee had not been cashed.

3. Jackson made a photocopy of her vehicle inspection slip and property tax receipt.  She renewed her license at the local license bureau.  She paid a total of $60.50 (motor vehicle registration fee of $51.50, renewal penalty of $5.00, and agent fee of $4.00).

4. After Jackson renewed her license at the local license bureau, she received another renewal from the Department in response to her original application.  Thereafter, Jackson requested a refund of the amount paid to the local license bureau.

5. On February 6, 2002, the Department refunded to Jackson the $51.50 motor vehicle registration fee. 

6. On March 21, 2002, the Department refunded to Jackson the $5.00 late penalty fee.

7. The Department did not refund the $4.00 in agent fees because that amount was paid to the West Plains license bureau.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the petition.  Section 621.050.1.
  Jackson has the burden to show that she is entitled to a refund.  Section 621.050.2.  


Jackson argues that she is entitled to a $4.00 refund of the agent fee because the Department caused the situation that resulted in the payment of the fee.  She further argues that 

the statutes should be amended so that the Department is responsible if it causes taxpayers to make such payments.


The Director asserts that he cannot refund the agent fee because it was paid to the West Plains fee agent under section 136.055.1, which provides:

Any person who is selected or appointed by the state director of revenue to act as an agent of the department of revenue, whose duties shall be the sale of motor vehicle licenses and the collection of motor vehicle sales and use taxes under the provisions of section 144.440, RSMo, and who receives no salary from the department of revenue, shall be authorized to collect from the party requiring such services additional fees as compensation in full and for all services rendered[.] 

Thus, the agent fee was not paid to the Department.  In addition, the general refund statute provides only for refunds of “any overpayment or erroneous payment of any tax which the state is authorized to collect.”  Section 136.035.1.  Refund statutes, as statutes waiving the State’s sovereign immunity, are strictly construed.  Community Federal Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. Director of Revenue, 752 S.W.2d 794, 796-97 (Mo. banc 1988).  The $4.00 Jackson seeks to recover is not a tax and was not collected by the State.  There is no statutory provision for a refund of fees paid to fee agents.


We sympathize with Jackson, who spent more time and money than was necessary to renew her motor vehicle registration.  Her frustration and desire to obtain a refund of the $4.00 fee is understandable.  However, the law does not provide an exception for the refund of the agent fee, nor does it provide any authority for us to make an exception.  Neither the Director nor 

this Commission has any power to change the law.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).  Therefore, we grant the Director’s motion and dismiss the petition.


SO ORDERED on May 31, 2002.



________________________________



KAREN A. WINN



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.
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