Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri




HODGES-BETTS MD HOMECARE,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 11-2273 SP



)

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES,
)

MO HEALTHNET DIVISION,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION

We grant the Department of Social Services, Mo HealthNet Division’s (“the Department”) motion to dismiss the complaint of Hodges-Betts MD Homecare (“Hodges-Betts”).
Procedure

On November 18, 2011, Hodges-Betts filed a complaint stating that it was adversely affected by a final decision of the Department assessing an overpayment.   On December 23, 2011, the Department filed a motion to dismiss the complaint as untimely (“the motion”), accompanied by affidavits of Department personnel.  We gave Hodges-Betts until January 10, 2012 to file a response to the motion, but it did not respond. 
We may grant a motion to dismiss if we lack jurisdiction.
  Because the Department included matters outside the pleadings with the motion, we apply our standard for summary decision.
  Under that standard, the Department prevails if it establishes facts that entitle it to a favorable decision and Hodges-Betts raises no genuine dispute as to such facts. 
  
Findings of Fact

1.
On October 14, 2011, the Department mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested, a final decision assessing a $5,301.87 overpayment to Hodges-Betts (the “overpayment letter”).
2.  The overpayment letter contains the following language:
This is a final decision regarding administration of the medical assistance program in Missouri.  Missouri Statute, Section 208.156, RSMo (2000) provides for an appeal of this decision.

If you were adversely affected by this decision, you may appeal this decision to the Administrative Hearing Commission.  To appeal, you must file a petition with the Administrative Hearing Commission within 30 days from the date of mailing or delivery of this decision, whichever is earlier; except that claims of less than $500 may be accumulated until such claims total that sum and, at 
which time, you have 90 days to file the petition.  If any such petition is sent by registered or certified mail, the petition will be deemed filed on the date it is mailed.  If any such petition is sent by any method other than registered or certified mail, it will be deemed filed on the date it is received by the Commission.
3.
On November 22, 2011, this Commission received the complaint from Hodges-Betts.  The complaint was sent by certified mail on November 18, 2011.
Conclusions of Law

We have jurisdiction of appeals from the Department's determinations denying reimbursement for Medicaid services.
  But the legislature has restricted our jurisdiction to those appeals filed within the time limits set forth in § 208.156.8.  “The failure to comply with the statutory time limitations for appeal from an administrative agency decision, whether to another 
administrative body or to a circuit court, results in the lapse of subject matter jurisdiction and the loss of right of appeal.”
  We may order involuntary dismissal of a complaint for lack of jurisdiction
 and based on a preponderance of the evidence.  

Section 208.156.8 provides:

Any person authorized under section 208.153 to provide services for which benefit payments are authorized under section 208.152 and who is entitled to a hearing as provided for in the preceding sections shall have thirty days from the date of mailing or delivery of a decision of the department of social services or its designated division in which to file his petition for review with the administrative hearing commission except that claims of less than five hundred dollars may be accumulated until they total that sum and at which time the provider shall have ninety days to file his  petition.
The Department has established by affidavit that it sent a notice of overpayment to Hodges-Betts by certified mail on October 14, 2011.  It has also established that its notice included statutory language required by § 621.055.3.
  Therefore, any appeal from the overpayment letter is subject to the 30-day filing deadline.  Because the Department sent the denial letter by certified mail, the time to appeal started on October 14, 2011, with that mailing,
 and ended on November 14, 2011.
  
Hodges-Betts did not file the petition until November 18, 2011.  The petition was untimely, and we lack jurisdiction to hear it.
Summary

We grant the motion to dismiss Hodges-Betts’ complaint.  

SO ORDERED on January 13, 2012.


________________________________



KAREN A. WINN


Commissioner
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