Before the
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State of Missouri
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)
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)




)


vs.

)

No.00-1079 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW


On April 20, 2000, Juliana M. and Nelson L. Hays filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state tax, local tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  On July 26, 2000, we convened a hearing on the petition.  The Hays presented their case.  The Director’s Legal Counsel Nikki Loethen represented the Director.  The matter became ready for our decision on November 20, 2000, when the last brief was filed.

Findings of Fact

1. On July 21, 1999, the Hays lived in Cabool, Missouri, 65807.  On that date, they signed a retail sales agreement with Reliable Chevrolet, Inc. (Reliable) in Springfield, Missouri, for a new 1999 Chevrolet Geo Tracker, Vehicle Identification No. 2CNBJ2X6924298 (the Tracker).  They received an assignment of the certificate of origin, and possession of the Tracker.  

2. The agreement stated that the Hays traded in their 1988 Ford Mustang on the Tracker and that they promised to pay Reliable $18,517.50 in 60 monthly installments of $472.72 per month starting on September 2, 1999.  

3. The Hays made no payments on the Tracker, did not apply for a title from the Director, and paid no sales tax on the transaction.  On September 10, 1999, the Hays returned the Tracker to Reliable.  Reliable gave the Hays some money, but refused to rescind the sale.  

4. By assessment dated April 6, 2000, the Director assessed $768.32 in state sales tax, $272.78 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty against the Hays.  

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the Hays’ petition.  Section 621.050.1, RSMo 1994.
  We do not review the Director’s decision, but find the facts and make the decision by applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  We must do what the law requires the Director to do.  Id. at 20-21.  The Hays have the burden of proof.  Section 136.300.1, RSMo Supp. 1999.    

A.


A car buyer must apply for title 30 days after buying the car under section 301.190.1:

Application shall be made within thirty days after the applicant acquires the motor vehicle or trailer upon a blank form furnished by the director of revenue . . . .

The buyers cannot have their own title until they pay sales tax on the purchase under section 144.070.1:  


At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of 

revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of 

the automobile . . . , he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local tax: 


All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Section 301.190.5 provides a penalty of $25 per 30 days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”  


The Hays argue that they did not buy the Tracker.  However, the agreement they signed states that they did buy the Tracker.  The sale of a new motor vehicle – that is, one for which a certificate of title has never been issued – occurs upon the transfer of property from one person to another for valuable consideration.  The Hays’ promise to pay Reliable was sufficient consideration to support a transfer of ownership in the Tracker to them.  Public Finance Corp. of Kansas City, Mo., No. 1 v. Shemwell, 345 S.W.2d 494, 497 (Mo. App., K.C. 1961).  Neither the application for, nor the issuance of, a certificate of title in the Hays’ name is necessary to complete their purchase of the Tracker.  Jones v. Director of Revenue, 832 S.W.2d 516, 517 (Mo. banc 1992).  Further, they received an assignment of the certificate of origin.  Whether or not that assignment is necessary for a sale to occur, it is sufficient to prove that there was a sale.  


Therefore, we conclude that the Hays bought the Tracker. 

B.


The Hays also argue that when financing did not materialize, they rescinded the agreement under section 144.071.1, RSMo 1994:  


In all cases where the purchaser of a motor vehicle . . . rescinds the sale of that motor vehicle . . . and receives a refund of the purchase price and returns the motor vehicle . . . to the seller within sixty calendar days from the date of the sale, the sales or use tax paid to the department of revenue shall be refunded to the purchaser upon proper application to the director of revenue.

(Emphasis added.)  The agreement does not recite that any financing is a condition precedent to the sale.  


Further, section 144.071.1, RSMo Supp. 1994, only provides a refund of taxes paid when the Hays have paid the tax, the sale is rescinded, and the Hays have filed a claim for refund.  They have done none of those things.  The Hays did not apply for a title and pay tax as required under sections 144.070.1 and 301.190.  The sale was not rescinded for two reasons.  First, because the Hays did not pay the tax and apply for title, they did not have a certificate of title of their own – as distinguished from the certificate of origin
 – by which to transfer title to Reliable, as required for the rescission of a car sale.  See Herbert v. Harl, 757 S.W.2d 585, 590 (Mo. banc 1988).  Second, Reliable did not to agree to a rescission of the contract.  Both the buyer and the seller must agree to a rescission for a rescission to occur.  Associated Dry Goods Corp. v. Wittels, 449 S.W.2d 878, 880 (Mo. App., St.L. 1970).       


We conclude that the purchase of the Tracker was not rescinded.  

C.


The Hays have not carried their burden of proof.  We conclude that they owe $768.32 in state sales tax, $272.78 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.  


SO ORDERED on January 2, 2001.




________________________________




WILLARD C. REINE




Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1999 Supplement to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.


�The certificate of origin cannot be reassigned from a purchaser to anyone else, only from a dealer to another dealer.  
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