Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

GRASS PAD, INC.,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 06-1606 RS



)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


Grass Pad, Inc. (“Grass Pad”) is not required to remit Missouri sales tax on a quarter monthly basis (four times per month), and is not subject to a penalty for failure to remit sales tax on a quarter monthly basis for July 2006.  
Procedure


Grass Pad filed a complaint on November 13, 2006, challenging the Director of Revenue’s (“the Director”) final decision assessing a penalty for failing to remit sales tax on a quarter monthly basis.  

This Commission convened a hearing on the complaint on April 19, 2007.  Barry D. Martin, with Speer & Holliday, represented Grass Pad.  Senior Counsel Ronald C. Clements represented the Director.  Grass Pad filed the last written argument on August 8, 2006.   

Findings of Fact

1. Grass Pad operates three stores in Missouri that sell grass seed, sod, lawn chemicals, fertilizer, landscaping materials, and soil amendments.
  Grass Pad also does business in Kansas.  Grass Pad has been in business since 1976.  
2. Grass Pad has two primary selling seasons:  spring and fall.  Rainy or snowy days, even during the primary selling seasons, can drastically reduce sales.  
3. Grass Pad always paid sales tax monthly in Missouri and Kansas until July 2001, when the Director switched Grass Pad to quarter monthly payments  The Director switched Grass Pad back and forth between monthly payments and quarter monthly payments at various times from July 2001 through June 2006.  
4. During July, August, November and December 2003, and January and February 2004, Grass Pad overpaid a total of $49,821.50 in quarter monthly sales tax payments.  Grass Pad obtained a refund of that amount.  The Director then switched Grass Pad back to monthly sales tax remittance.    
5. From June 2005 through June 2006, Grass Pad remitted state sales tax as follows:
 

June 2005
$16,513.84


July 2005
$10,066.50


August 2005
$10,744.24


September 2005
$34,331.57


October 2005
$25,562.02


November 2005
$9,613.64


December 2005
$2,991.52


January 2006
$1,816.77


February 2006
$5,772.31


March 2006
$28,216.37


April 2006
$51,796.50


May 2006
$41,661.06


June 2006
$19,211.56

6. On June 21, 2006, Grass Pad wrote a letter to the Director in response to a notice that it would be required to pay sales tax on a quarter monthly basis.  
7. On June 26, 2006, the Director sent a letter to Grass Pad stating: 

A review of your account indicates that your business exceeds fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) during at least six of the twelve previous months, must file [sic] and remit Missouri state sales tax on a quarter monthly period pursuant to Section 144.081, RSMo.  Therefore, we are unable to drop you from quarter monthly because you qualify as one [sic]. 
We understand, where you are a seasonal business there are months that are lower in sales.  During those months you may want to concert [sic] filing actual state sales. 
Please begin remitting the amount $4290.00 for your quarter-monthly payment of sales tax beginning July 1, 2006.[
]  


8.
Quarter monthly payments create a hardship for Grass Pad because it is a seasonal business and has borrowed money to operate in months when business is slow.  It is administratively difficult for Grass Pad to gather financial information from its three Missouri locations and timely remit payments four times per month, in addition to filing the monthly sales tax return and seeking refunds of sales tax amounts that have been overpaid.  Even if Grass Pad were allowed to remit quarter monthly payments on the basis of actual sales rather than estimated sales, it would be cumbersome for Grass Pad to accumulate the sales figures and make quarter monthly payments on time.  

9.
On October 13, 2006, the Director issued an assessment to Grass Pad for July 2006 as follows: 

Total Tax Due 
$16,907.22


Quarter Monthly Penalty 
$414.45


Total Amount Due 
$17,321.67


Total Amount Paid 
$16,956.53


Balance Due 
$365.14

The “Quarterly Monthly Penalty” was for failing to remit sales tax on a quarter monthly basis.  Grass Pad’s sales tax for the period was overpaid, but the assessment of the quarter monthly penalty resulted in the balance due.   


10.
On November 13, 2006, Grass Pad filed its complaint with this Commission, stating that it wished to appeal (1) the sales tax assessment for July 2006 and (2) the quarter monthly filing requirement.  The complaint also states that another point of contention was the requirement to remit funds electronically.  The Director imposes this requirement on quarter monthly payors, but not on monthly payors.  Grass Pad pays all debts by check and does not remit any funds electronically.  

11.
In post-hearing briefing, the Director withdrew the assessment for July 2006.
 

Conclusions of Law


This Commission has jurisdiction over appeals from the Director’s final decisions.
  Grass Pad has the burden of proof.
  Our duty in a tax case is not merely to review the Director’s decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer’s lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.
  
I.  Jurisdiction 

In her brief, the Director states that she withdraws the assessment for July 2006.  Section 144.081.7(3), RSMo Supp. 2006, provides that the penalty shall not be imposed for the first two months the seller is required to make quarter monthly remittance of state sales tax.  The Director assessed the penalty for July 2006, the first month that Grass Pad was required to make quarter 
monthly remittance of state sales tax.  Because the Director has withdrawn the assessment, the Director questions whether this Commission has any further jurisdiction over the appeal.  Section 621.050.1 provides: 

Except as otherwise provided by law, any person or entity shall have the right to appeal to the administrative hearing commission from any finding, order, decision, assessment or additional assessment made by the director of revenue.  


The Director did not withdraw the assessment until after hearing and after Grass Pad had already filed its initial brief.  Because the Director admits that she has withdrawn that assessment, the appeal as to that assessment is moot, and we no longer have jurisdiction as to that assessment.  The quarter monthly filing requirement, stated in a decision dated June 26, 2006, was ongoing for July 2006 and subsequent tax periods.  Grass Pad’s complaint clearly states two issues for appeal: (1) the assessment and (2) the quarter monthly payment requirement.  Therefore, we retain jurisdiction over Grass Pad’s appeal as to the quarter monthly payment requirement.  This Commission “stands in the shoes” of the Director and may make any decision that the Director was entitled to make.
  The Director argues:

On a daily basis, the Director is required to instruct taxpayers to file returns as required by the statutes.  This includes the taxpayer being required to remit sales tax quarter-monthly, monthly or annually and to file returns accordingly.  Even if the Commission wished to assume this procedural area of the Director’s tax administration, the Commission would not have sufficient time or staff to review each directive made by the Director changing a taxpayer’s filing status.  The state legislature surely intended for the “finding, order, decision, assessment or additional assessment” in section 621.050, RSMo, to be something other than the procedural directive on when or how the taxpayer is to remit the sales tax.  


This Commission does not wish to “assume” any “procedural area of the Director’s tax administration.”  We do not have the authority to superintend an agency’s procedures.
  We are given statutory authority to hear all appeals from the Director’s decisions,
 and this case is within that statutory purview.  
II.  Quarter Monthly Payment Requirement

Section 144.081, RSMo Supp. 2006, provides: 

1.  The director of revenue, by regulation, may require a seller to timely remit unpaid state sales tax for each quarter-monthly period, only if the seller’s aggregate state sales tax was ten thousand dollars or more in each of at least six months during the prior twelve months. . . .

2.  The director may increase the monthly requirement to more than ten thousand dollars or otherwise narrow the application of the quarter-monthly remittance system authorized by this section.  The director may not require the remittance of state sales taxes more often than monthly unless authorized by this section.  

3.  A remittance shall be timely if mailed as provided in section 143.851, RSMo, within three banking days after the end of the quarter-monthly period or if received by the director or deposited in a depository designated by the director within four banking days after the end of the quarter-monthly period. 
*   *   *


5.  For purposes of this section, “quarter-monthly period” means:

(1) The first seven days of a calendar month;

(2) The eighth to fifteenth day of a calendar month;

(3) The sixteenth to twenty-second day of a calendar month; and

(4) The portion following the twenty-second of a calendar month.  

6.  (1) In the case of an underpayment of any amount required to be paid pursuant to this section, a seller shall be liable for a penalty in lieu of all other penalties, interest or additions to tax imposed by this chapter for violating this section.  The penalty shall be five percent of the amount of the underpayment determined under subdivision (2) of this subsection. 

(2) The amount of the underpayment shall be the excess of:

(a) Ninety percent of the unpaid amount at the end of a quarter-monthly period, over

(b) The amount, if any, of the timely remittance for the quarter-monthly period. 
*   *   *


9.  The director of revenue may prescribe the use of an electronic funds payment system for the payment of sales and use taxes by any seller subject to the requirement of quarter-monthly remittance as provided in this section. 

(Emphasis added).  The Director’s Regulation 12 CSR 10-104.030(3)(H) provides: 

The department may require a taxpayer to remit state tax on a quarter-monthly basis if the taxpayer’s state tax is fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) or more per month in each of at least six (6) months of the prior twelve (12) months.  A quarter-monthly taxpayer must remit the tax within three (3) banking days after the end of each quarter-monthly period.  The postmark date or registration date of the remittance will determine timeliness of the quarter-monthly payment.  A quarter-monthly taxpayer must file a monthly return and remit any unpaid amounts.  

(Emphasis added). 


The parties do not dispute that Grass Pad’s state sales tax was $15,000 or more per month in each of at least six months of the prior 12 months before the Director imposed the quarter monthly payment requirement.
  


The Missouri Court of Appeals has considered the meaning of the word “may”:

The word “may”, when considered in its plain and ordinary meaning, does not mandate the action which follows it.  Rather, it “implies alternate possibilities and that the conferee of the power, in this case the court, has discretion in the exercise of the power.”
“Where discretion is to be exercised, there are factual considerations to be taken into account.”
  


Grass Pad presented evidence that quarter monthly payments create a hardship for Grass Pad because it is a seasonal business and must borrow money to operate in months when business is slow.  Even in peak seasons, sales may decline if the weather is bad.  We have found that it is administratively difficult for Grass Pad to gather financial information from its three Missouri locations and timely remit payments four times per month, in addition to filing the monthly sales tax return and seeking refunds of sales tax amounts that are overpaid.  Quarter monthly payments work better for businesses that have a steadier flow of income.  

The Director argues that her letter of June 26, 2006, allowed Grass Pad to remit payment based on actual sales rather than estimated sales during slow seasons.  However, that would not relieve Grass Pad from the burden of remitting four payments per month rather than one, even if business is slow, in addition to filing the monthly returns.  In addition, the Director seeks to require Grass Pad to remit payments electronically when it does not do so for any other purposes.  

We exercise our discretion in favor of allowing Grass Pad to continue to make monthly sales tax payments rather than quarter monthly payments.  Because Grass Pad is not required to make quarter monthly sales tax payments, it is not required to remit sales tax electronically.  

Grass Pad also argues that § 144.081 is unconstitutional, but does not cite any particular constitutional provision.  This Commission does not have the authority to declare a statute unconstitutional.
   

Summary


The Director has withdrawn the sales tax assessment against Grass Pad for July 2006.  Therefore, Grass Pad is not liable for any deficiency for July 2006. 

Grass Pad is not required to make quarter monthly sales tax payments.  


SO ORDERED on November 8, 2007.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP  



Commissioner

	�Soil amendments amend the soil to percolate water better or to hold fertilizer better. 


	�Computed at a rate of 4.225%.  Section 144.020; Mo. Const. art. IV, § 43; Mo. Const. art. IV, § 47.  Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.  


	�Ex. 2.


	�The Director also imposed assessments of the quarter monthly penalty for November 2006 and January 2007 and issued underpay notices for December 2006 and February 2007 as a result of the quarter monthly penalty.  Ex. 5.  Grass Pad has not appealed those assessments, and they are not at issue in this case.  


	�Section 621.050.1.  


	�Sections 136.300.1 and 621.050.2.


	�J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).  


	�J.C. Nichols Co., 796 S.W.2d at 20-21.


	�Resp. Brief at 19-20.  


	�Missouri Health Facilities Review Committee v. Administrative Hearing Comm'n, 700 S.W.2d 445, 450 (Mo. banc 1985).


	�Section 621.050.1; State ex rel. Missouri Director of Revenue v. Deutsch, 751 S.W.2d 132 (Mo. App., W.D. 1988).  


	�The Director argues that the relevant period is from July 2005 through June 2006 because the Director imposed the quarter monthly filing requirement to be effective July 1, 2006.  The Director would not have had Grass Pad’s sales figures for June 2006 available at the time the Director issued the letter imposing the quarter monthly filing requirement in June 2006.  Even if we examine the figures from June 2005 through May 2006, Grass Pad’s state sales tax exceeded $15,000 for at least six out of the twelve months.  


	�S.J.V. by Blank v. Voshage, 860 S.W.2d 802, 804 (Mo. App., E.D. 1993) (citation omitted).  


	�Pfefer v. Board of Police Commissioners, 654 S.W.2d 124, 128 (Mo. App., W.D. 1983).   


	�State Tax Comm'n v. Administrative Hearing Comm'n, 641 S.W.2d 69, 75 (Mo. banc 1982).  
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