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MISSOURI ETHICS COMMISSION,
)




)
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)

DECISION


Barbara L. Graham-Alexander is liable for a fee of $340 for the late filing of her personal financial disclosure statement (“statement”).   

Procedure


The Missouri Ethics Commission (“the MEC”) assessed a fee against Graham-Alexander for the late filing of her statement.  Graham-Alexander appealed the assessment.  We held a hearing on October 23, 2007.  Neither Graham-Alexander nor any representative appeared on her behalf.  Assistant Attorneys General Jessica Sleater and Earl D. Kraus represented the MEC.  The case became ready for our decision when Graham-Alexander’s written argument was due on January 28, 2008.
Findings of Fact


1.
Graham-Alexander is a board member of the charter school Lift for Life Academy (“the Academy”) located in St. Louis, Missouri.

2.
On October 27, 2006, the Academy submitted a list of individuals who are required to file a statement with the MEC.  Graham-Alexander is named on the list as a board member for 2006.  Graham-Alexander’s address is shown as “919 Gervas, St. Louis, MO  63021.”

3.
In January 2007,
 the MEC mailed a form letter, dated January 5, 2007, to Graham-Alexander at 919 Gervas, St. Louis, MO  63021.  The letter contains notifications that the recipient of the letter was obliged to file a statement (a blank copy of which was included with the letter) and of the deadline for filing and penalties for late filing. 

4.
In February 2007, the MEC sent a form postcard, dated February 7, 2007, to Graham-Alexander at the same address, which contains reminder notifications about the obligation to file a statement.  In April 2007, the MEC sent a final reminder, dated April 12, 2007, to Graham-Alexander at the same address.  By letters dated May 10, 2007, and May 22, 2007, sent to the same address, the MEC notified Graham-Alexander that it had not received her statement.  The May 10 letter was sent by certified mail and was returned to the MEC as unclaimed.  The unsigned certified mail receipt lists a different address, 801 Garonne Dr., Ballwin, MO  63021.

5.
On June 4, 2007, the MEC received Graham-Alexander’s statement, which lists her address as 801 Garonne Dr., St. Louis, MO  63021.

6.
On June 11, 2007, the MEC sent a letter to Graham-Alexander via certified mail, return receipt requested, notifying her of the MEC’s assessment of a late filing fee of $340 (“assessment notice”).  The assessment notice is addressed to the same address, 919 Gervas.  Graham-Alexander signed the certified mail receipt, indicating that she had received this assessment notice.
Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Graham-Alexander’s complaint.
  Our duty is to decide the issues that were before the MEC.
  Those issues are whether Graham-Alexander is liable for a late fee and, if so, the amount due.  In deciding those issues, we must follow the same law that the MEC must follow.
  The MEC has the burden of proof.


Section 105.483, RSMo 2000, requires certain officials to file a statement.  That statute does not list members of governing boards of charter schools among those required to file.  Instead, § 160.400.12 applies the filing requirements of §§ 105.483, 105.485, 105.487, and 105.489 to such board members: 

All members of the governing board of the charter school shall be considered decision-making public servants as defined in section 105.450, RSMo, for the purposes of the financial disclosure requirements contained in sections 105.483, 105.485, 105.487, and 105.489, RSMo.
Section 105.487, RSMo 2000, provides:
The financial interest statements shall be filed at the following times, but no person is required to file more than one financial interest statement in any calendar year:
*   *   *


(3) Every other person required by sections 105.483 to 105.492 to file a financial interest statement shall file the statement annually not later than the first day of May and the statement shall cover the calendar year ending the immediately preceding December thirty-first . . . ;


(4) The deadline for filing any statement required by sections 105.483 to 105.492 shall be 5:00 p.m. of the last day designated for filing the statement.  When the last day of filing falls on a Saturday or Sunday or on an official state holiday, the deadline for filing is extended to 5:00 p.m. on the next day which 
is not a Saturday or Sunday or official holiday.  Any statement required within a specific time shall be deemed to be timely filed if it is postmarked not later than midnight of the day previous to the last day designated for filing the statement.

Section 105.963.3 states:

The executive director shall assess every person required to file a financial interest statement pursuant to sections 105.483 to 105.492 failing to file such a financial interest statement with [the MEC] a late filing fee of ten dollars for each day after such statement is due to [the MEC].  The executive director shall mail a notice, by certified mail, to any person who fails to file such statement informing the individual required to file of such failure and the fees provided by this section.  If the person persists in such failure for a period in excess of thirty days beyond receipt of such notice, the amount of the late filing fee shall increase to one hundred dollars for each day thereafter that the statement is late, provided that the total amount of such fees assessed pursuant to this subsection per statement shall not exceed six thousand dollars.

There is no dispute that Graham-Alexander filed her statement 34 days late.  Because Graham-Alexander did not come to the hearing or file a written argument afterwards, we must determine the grounds for her appeal from her complaint.  In her complaint, Graham-Alexander states that she did not receive a statement to fill out and only received one of the MEC’s letters.  She states that she lived at 919 Gervas Drive when she filled out her 2006 statement, but moved in early 2007, and that the Academy had her new address on file.  She states:  “The fact that the Ethics Commission mistakenly mailed the Personal Financial Disclosure form to the wrong address should not make me liable for penalties.”

Contrary to Graham-Alexander’s argument, the law does not condition her duty to timely file on whether she receives a notice before the filing.  Proof of receipt of the assessment notice is only necessary to subject Graham-Alexander to the $100-per-day fee provisions, which the MEC is not attempting to do.  The MEC assessed Graham-Alexander only $10 per day for the 34 days she was late.  The MEC has met its burden of proving that Graham-Alexander is liable for a $340 late filing fee.
Summary


Graham-Alexander is liable for a $10 assessment for each day she was late filing her statement.  She filed 34 days late.  Graham-Alexander is liable for a $340 late filing fee.  

SO ORDERED on February 27, 2008.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY     


Commissioner

	�The evidence does not reveal the date on which the letter and postcard were sent.  The MEC’s witness testified that correspondence was usually mailed the same day it was prepared or soon afterwards.  


	�Section 105.963.4.  Statutory references are to RSMo Supp. 2007, unless otherwise noted.


	�Geriatric Nursing Facility v. Department of Social Services, 693 S.W.2d 206 (Mo. App., W.D. 1985).


	�J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  


	�Heidebur v. Parker, 505 S.W.2d 440, 444 (Mo. App., St.L.D. 1974).
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