Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SENIOR
)

SERVICES,
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)




)


vs.

)

No. 09-1709 DH



)

NANCY GLASS,

)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION


Nancy Glass is subject to discipline because she inflicted physical discipline on a child and violated the terms of her family child care home license by caring for more children under two years of age than allowed by the terms of her license. 
Procedure


On December 31, 2009, the Department of Health and Senior Services (“the Department”) filed a complaint seeking to discipline Glass.  On January 9, 2010, we served Glass with a copy of the complaint and our notice of complaint/notice of hearing by certified mail.  On June 29, 2010, we held a hearing on the complaint.  Joi N. Cunningham represented the Department.  Philip Dennis represented Glass.  The matter became ready for our decision on August 20, 2010, when both parties filed their proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law.
Findings of Fact

1. Glass is licensed to operate a family child care home at 3250 N. Waterford Drive, Florissant, Missouri.  She operated under the name “Huggs and Kisses Accredited Family Child Care.”  She was licensed to care for up to 10 children between the ages of birth through 12 years old.
2. Glass’ license put additional limits on the number of children she could care for:
· with an assistant, no more than four children under age two;

· without an assistant, no more than two children under age two or, if up to six children were present, no more than three children under age two; and
· with one adult caregiver, all children may be under age two if only four children are present.

3. On September 11, 2008, after a child (referred to at the hearing and in the Department’s findings of fact and conclusions of law as Child A) was acting in an inappropriate, sexual manner towards another child (identified as Child B), Glass struck
 Child A with a ruler.
4. Glass also put Child A in “time out” for her actions towards Child B.

5. On April 30, 2009, Glass and another adult caregiver were caring for eight children, six of whom were under age two.
6. On May 14, 2009, Glass and another adult caregiver were caring for seven children, five of whom were under age two.
7. On September 3, 2009, the Department notified Glass that it was revoking her license for the incidents set out above.
8. On October 2, 2009, Glass requested a hearing on the revocation, within the 30-day time limit of § 210.245.2.

9. Glass’s license expired on March 31, 2010. 
Conclusions of Law 


The Department filed this complaint pursuant to § 210.245.2, which states:

If the department of health proposes to deny, suspend, place on probation or revoke a license, the department of health shall serve upon the applicant or licensee written notice of the proposed action to be taken.  The notice shall contain a statement of the type of action proposed, the basis for it, the date the action will become effective, and a statement that the applicant or licensee shall have thirty days to request in writing a hearing before the administrative hearing commission and that such request shall be made to the department of health.  If no written request for a hearing is received by the department of health within thirty days of the delivery or mailing by certified mail of the notice to the applicant or licensee, the proposed discipline shall take effect on the thirty-first day after such delivery or mailing of the notice to the applicant or licensee.  If the applicant or licensee makes a written request for a hearing, the department of health shall file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission within ninety days of receipt of the request for a hearing.

This statute gives us jurisdiction to hear this case.  The Department has the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence.
  


Section 210.221.1 states in relevant part:

The department of health shall have the following powers and duties:
*   *   *
(2) To inspect the conditions of the homes and other places in which the applicant operates a child-care facility, inspect their books and records, premises and children being served, examine their officers and agents, deny, suspend, place on probation or revoke the license of such persons as fail to obey the provisions of sections 210.201 to 210.245 or the rules and regulations made by the department of health.  The director may also revoke or suspend a license when the licensee fails to renew or surrenders the license;

(3) To promulgate and issue rules and regulations the department deems necessary or proper in order to establish standards of service and care to be rendered by such licensees to children.  
Count I- Failure to Use Age-appropriate Discipline


The Department argues that Glass is subject to discipline under § 210.221.1(2) for violating the following regulations: 
· 19 CSR 30-61.175(1)(C)3, which states in relevant part:  “Only constructive, age-appropriate methods of discipline shall be used[.]”
· 19 CSR 30-61.175(1)(C)5, which states:  “Brief, supervised separation from the group may be used based on a guideline of one (1) minute of separation for each year of the child’s age.”
· 19 CSR 30-61.175(1)(C)7, which states:  “Physical punishment including, but not limited to, spanking, slapping, shaking, biting or pulling hair shall be prohibited.”
Glass admitted, both in an interview with an out-of-home investigator and at the hearing, that she struck Child A.  Furthermore, she acknowledged that such an action was “prohibited,”
 which we interpret as an admission that she violated the regulation.  She justified her action by Child A’s refusal to stop her inappropriate behavior, despite Glass’ asking her several times to stop.  However, neither the regulation nor the statute enabling the Department to promulgate the regulation creates an exception for specific situations, such as where a child refuses to obey a caregiver’s order.  Duly promulgated regulations have the force and effect of law.
 As an administrative tribunal, this Commission may only apply the law as written, and we do not have jurisdiction to enforce or propound principles of equity.
  The Department presented evidence, including photographs of Child A’s right leg, of the extent of visible injury to Child A.  Glass raised issues regarding whether the bruising was caused by Glass’ action, noting among other 
things that the photographs were taken five days after the incident, and that no one asked Child A’s parent whether she had struck the child in the interim.  However, because Glass admitted striking the child and because the regulation proscribes physical discipline without regard to the degree thereof, we need not consider the extent of the injury done.

Glass also argues that, although in-home day care centers may not impose physical discipline, public schools and child care facilities operated by a religious organization may do so; therefore, the violation did not rise to the level that would justify revocation of her license.  This Commission only determines whether there is cause for discipline and the issue of whether discipline is authorized under the applicable regulations, and we cannot accept Glass’ invitation to consider her policy argument.  In any case, we do not decide whether Glass’ license will be revoked, as the Department will hold a hearing to hear evidence and argument about the level of discipline to impose.
  We further conclude that Glass’ physical discipline was neither constructive nor age-appropriate.  Glass is therefore subject to discipline for violations of 
19 CSR 30-61.175(1)(C)3 and 19 CSR 30-61.175(1)(C)7.  She is not subject to discipline for 
a violation of 19 CSR 30-61.175(1)(C)5 because she put Child A in “time out,” as the 
Department presented no evidence that the duration of the “time out” violated 19 CSR 30-61.175(1)(C)5.
Count II – Failure to Maintain License Limitations


The Department argues that Glass violated Regulation 19 CSR 30-61.045(3)(V), which states:
All day care provided on the premises of a licensed family day care home shall be in compliance with the licensing rules and the conditions specified on the license.
Glass’ license specifies that she could care for children under age two under the following circumstances: 

· with an assistant, no more than four children under age two;

· without an assistant, no more than two children under age two or, if up to six children were present, no more than three children under age two; and
· with one adult caregiver, all children may be under age two if only four children are present.

On April 30, 2009, Glass and another adult caregiver were caring for eight children, six of whom were under age two; and on May 14, 2009, Glass and another adult caregiver were caring for seven children, five of whom were under age two. 


Glass admitted that the presence of that many under-two children constituted a regulatory violation because it exceeded the number of such children she could care for under her license. She justified their presence by arguing that students were accepted in the morning and afternoon and that, depending on when parents dropped them off, some parents were late, and therefore there would be times when the number would be exceeded.  She asserted that one child was a relative of another, and cites 19 CSR 30-61.025(2)(B) as an exception for “related” children, but by its terms, that regulation applies only to children related to “the provider,” which she does not claim.  She also asserted that she tried to rectify the problem by trying to reduce the number of children enrolled at the facility and by increasing the number of children that her license would allow her to take care of.  While we appreciate Glass’ efforts to conform to the regulations or otherwise come into compliance by altering the terms of her license, she admitted violating the regulation and is therefore subject to discipline.
Summary


Glass is subject to discipline under § 210.221.1(2).


SO ORDERED on December 17, 2010.


________________________________



KAREN A. WINN


Commissioner

�Glass consistently, and the Department occasionally, referred to the strike as a “tap,” yet the parties also differed substantially on the visible injury caused by the incident and whether Glass’ actions caused such injury.


�Statutory references are to RSMo 2000.


�Missouri Real Estate Comm’n v. Berger, 764 S.W.2d 706, 711 (Mo. App., E.D. 1989).  


�Tr. 92.


�� HYPERLINK "http://web2.westlaw.com/find/default.wl?tf=-1&rs=WLW10.08&referencepositiontype=S&serialnum=2010854152&fn=_top&sv=Split&referenceposition=302&pbc=E684163D&tc=-1&ordoc=2022799337&findtype=Y&db=4644&vr=2.0&rp=%2ffind%2fdefault.wl&mt=Westlaw" \t "_top" �Dilts v. Director of Revenue, 208 S.W.3d 299, 302 (Mo. App., W.D. 2006)�.


�Soars v. Soars-Lovelace, Inc., 142 S.W.2d 866, 871 (Mo. 1940).


�Section 621.110, RSMo Supp. 2009.
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