Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

CHARLES W. and LORETTA GILBERT,
)




)



Petitioners,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 00-1282 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On May 5, 2000, Loretta Gilbert (Gilbert) filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state tax, local tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty against her and her husband Charles W. Gilbert.  On July 17, 2000, the Director filed a motion for summary determination of the petition.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Gilbert does not dispute and (b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  Section 536.073.3;
 ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).


The Director cites the request for admissions that he served on Gilbert on June 14, 2000.  Under Supreme Court Rule 59.01, the failure to answer a request for admissions establishes the matters in the request conclusively.  The party making the request is entitled to rely upon the 

facts asserted in the request, and no further proof is required.  Killian Constr. Co. v. Tri-City Constr. Co., 693 S.W.2d 819, 827 (Mo. App., W.D. 1985).  Such a deemed admission can establish any fact or any application of law to fact.  Linde v. Kilbourne, 543 S.W.2d 543, 545-46 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1976).  That rule applies to all parties, including those acting pro se.  Research Hosp. v. Williams, 651 S.W.2d 667, 669 (Mo. App., W.D. 1983).  Section 536.073 and our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.420(1) apply that rule to this case.


We gave the Gilberts until August 8, 2000, to file a response to the motion, but they did not respond.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed.

Findings of Fact

1. On July 26, 1999, the Gilberts purchased a 1990 Chrysler, Vehicle Identification No. 1C3XJ453LG438679.  On that date, the Gilberts’ address was 507 S. Winfield Ave., Joplin, Missouri, 64801.

2. The Gilberts have not paid tax on that purchase, and did not have good cause for failing to pay tax within 30 days of the purchase.  

3. The Gilberts owe $234.49 in state tax, $151.24 in local tax, and a $100 title penalty.  On April 6, 2000, the Director assessed those amounts against the Gilberts.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Gilbert’s petition.  Section 621.050.1, RSMo 1994.  We do not review the Director’s decision, but find the facts and make the decision by applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  We must do what the law requires the Director to do.  Id. at 20-21.


Gilbert has the burden of proof on the petition.  Section 621.050.2, RSMo 1994.  As the defending party, the Director shows his right to a favorable decision on Gilbert’s claim by 

establishing facts that negate any element of that claim.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp., 854 S.W.2d at 381.


The Director argues that the Gilberts owe tax under section 144.070.1, which provides:


At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local tax: 


All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Section 301.190.5 provides a penalty of $25 per 30 days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”


Gilbert’s admissions require us to impose the tax and penalty.  Gilbert asks that if they are found liable for the tax, they be allowed to pay over time.  We have no power to decide how the Director collects any amount due.  However, we are confident that the Director will negotiate a payment plan that is not unduly burdensome on the Gilberts.  


Therefore, we grant the Director’s motion.  We enter our decision in the Director’s favor.  We conclude that the Gilberts owe $234.49 in state tax, $151.24 in local tax, and a $100 title penalty.


SO ORDERED on August 18, 2000.




________________________________




WILLARD C. REINE




Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1999 Supplement to the  Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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