Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

KATHLYN FITZGERALD,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)

vs.


)
No. 06-0591 RG



)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 

We dismiss Kathlyn Fitzgerald’s appeal because it was not timely filed.  

Procedure

We received Fitzgerald’s complaint on May 1, 2006.  On May 15, 2006, the Director of Revenue (“the Director”) filed a motion to dismiss for untimely filing.  We allowed Fitzgerald until June 6, 2006, to respond to the motion, but she did not respond.  

Findings of Fact


1.  On April 27, 2005, the Director sent Fitzgerald a letter stating:  

The Department received information that indicates you purchased cigarettes from Esmokes.com for the periods of January 2000 thru March 2005. 
Missouri law, Section 149.015 RSMo, imposes a cigarette tax of $1.70 per carton.  Consumers are liable for the tax on any purchases of cigarettes if the tax was not paid by the supplier or 
seller.  Therefore, as the seller did not collect the tax, you are responsible for the tax on 77 carton(s) of cigarettes.
Failure to remit cigarette tax in the amount of $130.90 within 10 days could result in additional penalty and interest being assessed. . . .

2.  The Director issued an assessment of delinquent cigarette tax dated June 28, 2005, assessing Fitzgerald $130.90 in tax, $6.55 in penalty, and $1.51 in interest, totaling $138.95, for January 2000 through March 2005.  The assessment advised Fitzgerald of the procedure for appealing to this Commission.  Fitzgerald received the assessment no later than June 30, 2005.  

3.  Fitzgerald sent her complaint by regular mail in an envelope addressed to the Division of Taxation and Collection at the address stated on the top of the assessment.  The envelope was postmarked August 5, 2005.  


4.  We received Fitzgerald’s complaint on May 1, 2006, with an attached memo from the Department of Revenue stating:  

This letter was received in our office August 8, 2005.  It was placed in an envelope and given to the mailroom to be delivered.  We received it back in our office this week with a note that it had been found in one of our field offices.  We are therefore forwarding it to your office.  
Conclusions of Law


Section 621.050.1
 provides:  

Except as otherwise provided by law, any person or entity shall have the right to appeal to the administrative hearing commission from any finding, order, decision, assessment or additional assessment made by the director of revenue.  Any person or entity who is a part to such a dispute shall be entitled to a hearing before the administrative hearing commission by the filing of a petition with the administrative hearing commission within thirty days after the decision of the director is placed in the United States mail or within thirty days after the decision is delivered, whichever is earlier.  

Section 621.205.1 provides:  
For the purpose of determining whether documents are filed within the time allowed by law, documents transmitted to the administrative hearing commission by registered mail or certified mail shall be deemed filed with the administrative hearing commission as of the date shown on the United State post office records of such registration or certification and mailing.  If the document is sent by any method other than registered mail or certified mail, the administrative hearing commission shall deem it to be filed on the date the administrative hearing commission receives it.  


The Director attached certified mailing records to her motion.  Though there is a mailing log showing that something was sent to Fitzgerald by certified mail, there is no date on the mailing log showing when the mailing occurred.  The Director also included a copy of the certified mail return receipt, showing that Fitzgerald received the mail, but the date received is cut off.  The date is “JUN 30 20__”  We infer that this is a return mail receipt for the assessment dated June 28, 2005.  


Because Fitzgerald sent her complaint by regular mail, it is deemed filed when we received it.  Section 621.205.  We did not receive it until May 1, 2006.  Fitzgerald mistakenly sent the complaint to the address at the top of the assessment, and she did not mail the complaint until August 5, 2005.  Even though the Director’s certified mailing records are not clear, the complaint was not filed within thirty days after the assessment was mailed.  The complaint was not even mailed within thirty days after the date that Fitzgerald received the assessment.  We have no jurisdiction to hear a complaint filed out of time.  Community Fed. Sav. & Loan Assoc. v. Director of Revenue, 752 S.W.2d 794, 799 (Mo. banc), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 893 (1988).  Therefore, we grant the motion and dismiss the complaint.  

SO ORDERED on June 20, 2006.



____________________________



JOHN J. KOPP 


Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.  
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