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)
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DECISION


First Class Auto & Marine, LLC, (“First Class”) is subject to discipline for attempted insurance fraud, but not for failure to endorse certificates of title.  
Procedure


The Director of Revenue (“Director”) filed the complaint on March 22, 2007.  We served First Class with notice of this case, a copy of the complaint and notice of hearing.  On 
November 19, 2007, we convened a hearing on the complaint.  Senior Counsel David Bechtold represented the Director.  Johnny K. Richardson with Brydon, Swearengen & England, P.C., represented First Class.  First Class moved to dismiss the complaint at the close of the Director’s evidence, we reserved our ruling, and we now deny the motion to dismiss.  The last brief was due on May 9, 2008.  

Findings of Fact

1. First Class is a Missouri limited liability company doing business at 14501 East Highway 40, Kansas City, Missouri.  In 2004, 2005, and 2006, First Class applied for, and received from the Director, a dealer license under the name of First Class Auto & Marine, Inc. First Class Auto & Marine, Inc., is the name of a corporation that dissolved in 1997.  
A.  Insurance Fraud

2. On October 4, 2005, First Class employed Christine Morris for various administrative functions.  On that date, at 7:02 a.m., Morris was driving a 1997 Chevrolet Lumina (the “Lumina”) with First Class dealer plates when a wreck resulted in $5,041 damage to the Lumina.  
3. Also on October 4, 2005, First Class and Morris signed a bill of sale purporting to memorialize First Class selling the Lumina to Morris. 
4. According to Kelly’s Blue Book, the estimated wholesale value on October 14, 2005, for a 1997 Lumina was $2,711.  The bill of sale listed the Lumina’s purchase price at $12,795 and “fees” of $200, with a trade-in credit of $2,500, for a balance due of $10,295.  The bill of sale further recited financing by First Class at 15% annual interest, with 27 monthly payments at $375 each and final payment of $370.  If correctly calculated, these financing terms would actually yield 28 monthly payments of $440.
5. The purported sale price of $12,700 on the date of October 4, 2005, was an inflated price at least $5,000 to $7,000 over the vehicle’s retail market value. 
6. The parties listed First Class as the lien-holder, which gave it an interest in any insurance proceeds.  
7. Morris and First Class filed an insurance claim for damages to the Lumina.
8. The Lumina’s sale to Morris was not listed on the sales report filed by First Class with the Director, even though Morris’ duties as an employee of First Class included making such reports.   
9. During the insurer’s questioning of Morris at a claim examination under oath about her failure to list the Lumina’s sale on the sales report, Morris abruptly refused to answer any additional questions and ended the deposition.

B.  Title Statute

10. On July 19, 2006, First Class possessed thirteen certificates of title for motor vehicles.  On each such certificate, the person to whom the Director issued the certificate had endorsed an assignment as the seller, but no one had signed the assignment as the buyer.  

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the Director’s complaint.
  The burden of proving facts for which the law allows discipline is on the Director.
  The Director may meet his burden by substantial evidence of probative value, or by inferences reasonably drawn from such evidence,
  that support the elements described in the cited statutes.
A.  Insurance Fraud

The complaint cites the provision of § 301.562.2 allowing discipline for:
(5) Obtaining or attempting to obtain any money . . . by fraud, deception, or misrepresentation[.]
Fraud is an intentional perversion of truth to induce another to act in reliance upon it.
  Fraud may be accomplished through misrepresentation, which is a falsehood or untruth made with the 
intent of deceit rather than inadvertent mistake.
  Such conduct shows dishonesty, which is a lack of integrity, a disposition to defraud or deceive.
  Dishonesty includes actions that reflect adversely on trustworthiness.
  We may infer deceitful intent from the facts and circumstances of the case.
  Deception contemplates an act designed to deceive, to cheat someone inducing their reliance on a clever contrivance.


The facts and circumstances show that First Class tried to defraud the insurer out of money by contriving to create a bill of sale, attributing a high purchase price to the transaction to create an inflated value for the vehicle, and then filing a claim for insurance proceeds as a lien-holder on the wrecked Lumina.  First Class argues that the Director has shown nothing more than an ordinary retail transaction.  We disagree with First Class.

The facts and circumstances proven by the Director are wholly inconsistent with a conclusion that this was an ordinary or honest business transaction.  An automobile dealer’s own employee would not purchase a vehicle at approximately twice the estimated value of the vehicle before 7:00 a.m., wreck the automobile minutes later on the same day, file an insurance claim for a total loss, but never report her own purchase on the dealer’s sales report to the Director.  The bill of sale’s financing errors show that First Class and Morris hastily concocted the transaction sometime after the wreck to support a claim for insurance proceeds to which they were not entitled.  The inference also finds support in Morris’ unceremonious departure from her deposition by the insurer after being confronted with her failure to list the Lumina’s sale on the sales report.  First Class attempted fraud, deception, and misrepresentation.  First Class is subject to discipline under § 301.562.2(5).

B.  Violation of Title Statutes
The complaint cites the provision of § 301.562.2 allowing discipline for:

(6) Violation of, or assisting or enabling any person to violate any provisions of this chapter[.] 

The Director cites subsections 1 and 4 of § 301.210,
 the latter requiring assignment of a certificate of ownership:

It shall be unlawful for any person to buy or sell in this state any motor vehicle or trailer registered under the laws of this state, unless, at the time of the delivery thereof, there shall pass between the parties such certificates of ownership with an assignment thereof, as provided in this section, and the sale of any motor vehicle or trailer registered under the laws of this state, without the assignment of such certificate of ownership, shall be fraudulent and void[;
 ] 

and the former describing such assignment: 
In the event of a sale or transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle or trailer for which a certificate of ownership has been issued, the holder of such certificate shall endorse on the same an assignment thereof, with warranty of title in form printed thereon, and prescribed by the director of revenue, with a statement of all liens or encumbrances on such motor vehicle or trailer, and deliver the same to the buyer at the time of the delivery to him of such motor vehicle or trailer; provided that, when the transfer of a motor vehicle, trailer, boat or outboard motor occurs within a corporation which holds a license to operate as a motor vehicle or boat dealer pursuant to sections 301.550 to 301.575*, the provisions of subdivision (3) of subsection 6 of section 144.070, RSMo, shall not apply.[
]
Those provisions require the seller to make an assignment on the certificate of title when there is a sale or other transfer of ownership.  The provisions make it unlawful for both the seller and buyer to participate in that transaction without delivery of a certificate of ownership and the seller’s assignment.  It does not require a buyer to endorse the certificate of ownership until a 
subsequent sale or transfer.  No sale or other transfer of ownership by First Class appears in the record for any of the thirteen vehicles.  Nothing in subsection 1 or 4 of § 301.210 required First Class to endorse the title.  The Director offers no authority or argument otherwise.  The Director has not shown that First Class violated subsections 1 and 4 of § 301.210, so the Director has not shown that First Class is subject to discipline under § 301.562.2(6).
Summary


First Class is subject to discipline under § 301.562(5), but not under § 301.562.2(6).


SO ORDERED on June 26, 2008.


________________________________



DOUGLAS M. OMMEN


Commissioner
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